Husqvarna or Stihl chainsaw to buy

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:23
ThreadID: 96467 Views:13194 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
Going to buy a new chainsaw in Geraldton tomorrow, between a stihl and husqvarna, which do you recommend? My dad has had a stihl all his life but am leaning towards the husky.
Will be spending around the $400 mark, will be used for occasional firewood cutting, and gp trimming.. Etc would carry it in my 4x4 on trips. As well.
Thinking about the husky 240e. I think that's the model.. Any one had either of the smaller saws? Problems or positive feedback?

Reply By: Member - blackbird1937 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:39

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:39
Hi, I had a Husky 61 for years with an standard bar for firewood and a 24 inch bar for ripping posts. I found it to be a great saw, also have not heard a bad word about Huskys. I went to buy a small Husky just for camping but the dealer did not have 1 in stock so bought a small Stihl instead. I have found it harder to start than I ever did the 61 Husky. I have kicked myself ever since for not getting a Husky. I hope whichever saw you buy it starts easily and does a good job for you.
AnswerID: 489340

Reply By: Member - Anthony W Adelaide - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:50

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:50
We use a Stihl MS250. Had it for about 4-5 yrs now and been very reliable for us. We have had to use it a couple of times in the high country to clear fallen trees, some of which are fairly chunky so we were grateful for the 18 inch bar. Smaller bars would have struggled a bit I reckon and if I had to buy another saw, I would'nt buy anything smaller.

Wooly VKS-737 Mobile 0058

AnswerID: 489341

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:58

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 20:58
I reckon you can't go wrong with either...I have a still Chainsaw and a husky ride on mower.....oranges and apples I know..but the machinery is top quality in both.
AnswerID: 489343

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 21:24

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 21:24
Tanaka Chainsaw
Hi. If you are not in a hurry have a look as this site. I got mine for $162.50. I have a Tanaka whipper Snipper that has run for over ten years now with out even a plug change. Cheers,Bob.
AnswerID: 489345

Reply By: frank f1 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 21:51

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 21:51
I have the Husqvarna lighter than sthil and less vibration. Forestry workers are using them now. Very happy with mine
AnswerID: 489349

Reply By: mountainman - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 22:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 22:19
ive used both on uncles farm, friends saws. husky and stihl
by far the husky always started.
used a new saw off a friend, recently serviced, COULD NOT START IT. stihl

husky all the way.........
always started for me.
i will never buy a stihl from the grief it caused me, had to cut a stump down soo i could stump grind it.
could not get it going, this was 7pm at night.
AnswerID: 489355

Reply By: craigandej - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 22:20

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 22:20
Mate is a small engine mechanic, says Husky only chainsaw thats worth repairing, all others are throwaways. I have had a Model 55 for about 15 yrs, used to cut a load of Yellowbox fortnightly for 5 years. Doesnt get much use these days, only cleaning up small acreage now a few times a year, but it still starts 2nd or 3rd pull.

Craig
AnswerID: 489356

Follow Up By: jacent - Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 23:12

Sunday, Jun 24, 2012 at 23:12
My dad had a small stihl for years, one night a massive pine tree up rooted in a storm and fell down, when I went out to take my hq ute up to the shops I couldn't find where I had parked it, accusing my dad for moving it, we looked around and could see it's white paint in between the branches, the ute was parked at the base of the trunk, it fell onto the bonnet, crushed the roof down and the steering wheel had cut through the bench seat, then the trunk went into the tub, and extended about 40 ft past. So my dad went out and purchased a stihl farm boss, took us a few weeks to cut it level with the tail gate on the ute, as we cut more and more off the ute the suspension started to come back up, tyres didn't even pop. The engine was pushed into the ground a foot, had snapped off the bell housing to the transmission and only had a curve in the tail gate. I will never argue about the strength of the old hq, I was amazed how tough they are! The farm boss is a big saw and good too!
Thanks everyone with your quick replies, I will be getting a husky, they don't seem to be able to be faulted ! This will be my first chain saw and I want it to last! I hope they have one in stock for me tomorrow! Thanks
FollowupID: 764503

Reply By: honest - Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 07:16

Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 07:16
Goodaye Jacent i have had a small Husky now for about 7-8 yrs cut a lot of gidgee firewood out the back country of qld and gidgee is bloody hard but keep the chain sharp and no worries only keep the air fliter clean as well always started easily i would buy another one, another good investment mate is a electric chainsaw sharpener at Bunnings for $49.00 2 yr warranty.
cheers Honest
AnswerID: 489361

Follow Up By: jacent - Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 08:11

Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 08:11
Awesome! Exactly what I was wanting to hear! Thanks mate
FollowupID: 764510

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 09:46

Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 09:46
I would agree totally. I have a small husky that has had a tough life. I have cut trees way bigger than I should have with it. It has never let me down once. As said above keep the chain sharp and it will serve you well. I always kept a spare chain so at the first sign of the chain going dull I would swap it. We carried in the tool box on the drawbar of our camper for 3 yrs travelling oz and it always started easy first time. They are a great saw.

Josh
FollowupID: 764512

Follow Up By: Member - DereelGirl - Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 13:57

Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 13:57
Go the Husky. I've had a small one for nearly 10yrs and used it to cut firewood each yr. I live near Ballarat and so I needed a lot of firewood. Easy to start with the anti-compression button, I could never start my friends Stihl. I also have bought an electric chainsaw sharpener & that makes it easier to keep things in top condition. As above, keep the air filter clean and it will start everytime. Don't overfill the oil and when finished for the day never leave it with too much oil in it as the seals will leak if the temp gets too high, no problems if there is just a little oil left. I always cut wood till it ran out of fuel, cleaned it and put it away empty.

Rob
Dereelgirl

FollowupID: 764522

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 17:03

Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 17:03
Hi Jacent,

I wouldnt buy a Husky. You need to rev the guts out of it to get it to cut. Ive got 3 stihls and theyd stood the test of time.

My 660 cuts 50-60 tonne a year and doesnt miss a beat.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 489387

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 21:04

Monday, Jun 25, 2012 at 21:04
Mmmm 660 magnum. Now there's a mans saw. At least he's not looking at one from Bunnings.
Could only afford the MS391 myself but seems to do the job ;-)

PS: Leave your toy saws at home when coming to the Vic High Country
FollowupID: 764566

Follow Up By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 17:52

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 17:52
Hi Crackles,

My 990 is a mans saw. The 660 is great got a 20" bar with .404 chain It doesnt die.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 764646

Reply By: jacent - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 09:30

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2012 at 09:30
I know sihl big saws are good as my dads farm boss is great! But I'm going to rebel like a good son and i' ve ordered a husky 240e with 16 inch bar and toolless chain tensioner and a hard case for storage! Will let you know what I think! Thanks everyone for your replies!
AnswerID: 489431

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 08:36

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2012 at 08:36
You'll find that the Stihl's are out of China these days. I'd go for a Jonsered.
AnswerID: 489502

Follow Up By: jacent - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2012 at 15:36

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2012 at 15:36
ended up with the husky, used it only once so far and am happy with it!
FollowupID: 766656