"Water Watch" Diesel Fuel Water Trap filter

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 08:29
ThreadID: 96589 Views:13189 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
I am thinking of fitting a WATER WATCH trap to our 2010 hilux diesel. As we travel in the outback a bit , Gulf, CSR, etc ( in our previous troopy) I am a bit worried about water in the fuel with these new engines, hence the water trap. Has anyone fitted one of these traps? What are your opinions good or otherwise? Thanks dennis.

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 09:32

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 09:32
Best to ask a diesel specialist as some vehicles will not run or be down on performance with an additional filter in the system.
If it is common rail then it may not be possible at all, best to ask a specialist, not the purveyor of the filter system.
AnswerID: 489733

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 10:13

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 10:13
sound advice given
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 764857

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 12:27

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 12:27
This system is just a water trap with an alarm that can shut down the engine(optional).
It doesnt have a fllter that will add a load onto the feed pump.
I think this is a device that won an award from The Inventors TV show?
By all means ask someone independant if you are not 100% sure.

What I would like to see is an invention that detects water in the tank as soon as it enters so I can to service station owner and make the him drain and clean my fuel system.
FollowupID: 764874

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 12:50

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 12:50
The issue is not so much the water watch itself but the size of the pipes that connect it to the fuel system. Some do restrict fuel flow and may cause the cars electronic systems to fault. Just ensure the largest size pipes allowable are used and of course the largest Water Watch suitable for your car (if I recall correctly there are three sizes).

Garry
FollowupID: 764875

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 21:18

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 21:18
Buying one that is the right size hardly needs to be said
FollowupID: 764932

Reply By: Member - John N (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 10:22

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 10:22
G'day Dennis,
We've had one in our CRD Patrol for a couple of years. Like you, we travel a lot in the outback and it gives us a bit more confidence. (I also use a Mr Funnel if I'm really concerned about the fuel source).

I'm no diesel expert, but I have not noticed any difference to performance or consumption. I had it installed prior to the standard Nissan filter as instructed. After reading some of the horror stories of bad fuel experienced by some travelers, it gives us peace of mind at least. Worth the money in my view.

AnswerID: 489738

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 12:47

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 12:47
Have a look over on www.newhilux.net site and you will find a thread on aftermarket filters fitted.
There are quite a few who have fitted them and have not heard of any problems
Toyota dealership at Cairns was fitting a lot of them to new Hiluxes back in 2009 after the flooding as there was a lot of water in fuel getting about. They were fitting them under the tray near the fuel filler so that you could do a regular inspection easily rather than lifting the bonnet, have not seen anyone else mount them that way though
AnswerID: 489751

Reply By: Member - Anthony W Adelaide - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 19:01

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 19:01
Hi Dennis,

Lots of guys on the LCOOL forum have Water Watch setups on their 70 series and they all reckon that there is no problems with them.

I am sure I will fit one to ours as soon as budget permits. I understand that they make kits for several different models.

Good cheap insurance I think.

Wooly VKS-737 Mobile 0058

AnswerID: 489783

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 19:15

Saturday, Jun 30, 2012 at 19:15
garry col.

modern diesel engines run at extreme pressure at the fuel rail, up to 30,000psi.

the filter wont affect it.

it will save you serious money with the hi tech fuel systems the diesel runs these days.

many systems out their.
AnswerID: 489785

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 02:01

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 02:01
Hi Dennis

I have just installed a Water Watch system on my 70 series V8 and then done a 2 week excursion into WA outback some 1500kms.

Yes the new CRD need a good flow rate and these water watch are rated to cope with that by supplying 60l/h which is more than enough for my V8.

No they are not a filter but there is a sediment bowl that will collect water and even sediment. The main part is the smallest water that gets in the bowl will set of a light and noisy alarm warning you before any damage can be done.

Most install theirs under the bonnet but I have limited room and the instructions say anywhere between fuel tank and standard filter.Mine is under the tray on the ute tucked up high above the fuel solenoids so it is protected. I figure if I get some water - say a lot of water - there is a lot of distance before it gets near the filter or engine.

My mechanic friend (senior dealer mechanic) says they get about 2 CRD cars in a week water damage to the common rail system costing about $7000 to $9000 to repair. Each time they have to report it to Automotive trade assoc. (I think that is its name) so a record of fuel issues can be tracked and WA gets the worst results.

Easy to fit.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 489821

Follow Up By: Member DZ- Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 07:51

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 07:51
Thanks for your replies. I will go ahead and install the water watch as I feel it is good insurance given the lack of fuel quality at some outlets. Shame Toyota don't fit something along this line as backup to their filter/alarm system. With some luck it may save me some serious cash should I get bad fuel. thanks, dennis
FollowupID: 764944

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 08:09

Sunday, Jul 01, 2012 at 08:09
Some cars already have them as standard so anyone reading should check their car first. My Jeep Grand CRD 04 model has a bowl on the filter with a warning light on the dash. I don't know what other cars may have similar.
AnswerID: 489826