Mazda CX9 and Jayco Swan outback tow ball weight question

Hi everyone.

I am only new here. I am also new to caravans in general.

We are wanting to buy a swan outback to tow behind our Mazda CX9 as we have three young children and believe it would benefit them to spend some time outdoors experiencing this wonderful country we live in.

I need help understanding the whole tow ball weight thing. Our car can tow 2000kgs but can only have tow ball weight of 150kgs. now the standard swans come in well under this but we want to add an extra water tank, extra gas bottle, outdoor shower, hotwater system and pump, solar panels and battery, 2x jerry can holders and of course we need to load our belongings into this.

As far as i can see it adding these will push us way over the allowed 150kg limit. I also dont understand how much we are allowed to load into the boot of the car in all of this.

It is all very new to me. I have been trying to read as much as i can. just need a little more help to understand.

We were trying to avoid buying a new car until we know for sure that we love it.

alysia
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Jul 26, 2012 at 11:27

Thursday, Jul 26, 2012 at 11:27
Someone will add the technical aspects of this, but when you add stuff to your camper, some weight will go on the tow ball and some on the axle. In your case, the tow ball weight can't be more than 150kgs. The only real way of knowing this is to measure it.
AnswerID: 491698

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Jul 26, 2012 at 12:54

Thursday, Jul 26, 2012 at 12:54
Don't be tempted to add weight at the rear either to achieve a low towball weight as you will then be towing a large pendulum, not good!
Weight should be added to the centre and as low as possible with a slight bias forward.