4WD Trip Planning

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 16, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 971 Views:2686 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
My wife and I are planning a 6 month 4WD trip around Australia from July 2003. Being in London doesn't make this task too easy, and I am trying to find a decent reference book on both 4WD technique (I am new to this world) and also to assist us with planning routes and things to see.

Reading the trip notes on this site, one book is pretty much always used - Discover Australia 4WD by Ron and Viv Moon. Is this the same book as the Hema Maps Discover Australia by 4WD edited by Ron and Viv Moon?

I am also looking to take a rod and reel with me, but have only been surf fishing before down at Gippsland so need some barra advice. What is the basic difference between the 4WD and FISHING version of the Discover Australia books? Would getting both of them be over-kill?

Also, I seem to remember that when my brother did a similar trip 17 years ago (in a Toyota Crown no less!) he used the Explore Australia book. Is this still considered one of the leading books in this area? Or are there other books I should be looking for?

Thanks in advance, and I'm sure that this won't be the last time I use your collective knowledge (I haven't decided on a vehicle yet -but that's another turbo diesel Prado vs Jackaroo vs Pajero problem!).

Rohan.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: FISH N TRACK OUTBACK - TAG TOURS - Wednesday, Apr 17, 2002 at 00:00

Wednesday, Apr 17, 2002 at 00:00
Hi Rohan,
As for your fishing equipment l would like to suggest a baitcaster, approx $200.00 should get you a rod and reel that you will do all you want and take plenty of lures.
This will allow you to fish most locations except the beach and you already have that rod and reel.
As for books, pick the best one that suits you as you don`t want to double up as it all weighs and room is a premium.
AnswerID: 2878

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Apr 17, 2002 at 00:00