VEHICLE 4 SALE

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 12:23
ThreadID: 97205 Views:1924 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Looking for some advice. I have had my Jeep Wrangler in the Classifies for a month now. Over 400 hits but not one enquiry. Is it the market or am I doing some wrong.Any hints.....

Reply By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 12:53

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 12:53
hi esarby
sorry to see you have put together every thing you wanted /needed in a vehicle to enjoy the great outdoors and now have to sell due to health reasons
just read the add its a great package with all the near new after market gear and equiptmt thrown in
although its a 2009 model and no warranty the extras the buyer is scoring in the deal together with the very low km's
at that price imho it's still a really good bargain
crikey! what else could one want everything is included
just keep positive and maybe advertise somewhere else as well but you may have already done that
good luck
if i was wanting a wrangler i would'nt hesitate
barry
AnswerID: 492065

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:08

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:08
Barry.
Purchased the Jeep in Feb 2010 so it still has 7 months warrantee and Jeep roadside assistance left on it. I have it on Carguide also. I am sorry to let it go but cannot stand to see it parked, to many great memeries. Steve.b.....

FollowupID: 767720

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:28

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:28
hi steve
your add didnt mention warranty or rd side assis so hence my comment
maybe inclusion of those facts might help
FollowupID: 767721

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 14:33

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 14:33
Thanks mazcan. Fixed. Thanks to the rest for your comments.

FollowupID: 767726

Reply By: madfisher - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:25

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:25
Mate drop the price to $29500, sounds heaps better then $30000. Its very hard at the moment, people do not want to spend money. when I have had vehicles for sale I normally drop the price $500 every fortnight. You will get people watching your add, waiting for a price drop. I have done this also when buying then hit the panic button as I am afraid someone else will jump in and get a bargain ahead of me.
Good luck Pete
AnswerID: 492067

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:31

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 13:31
Thanks madfisher. I dropped the price by $5000 today as I thought I was a bit over the top. The book price for the vehicle is $28900.

FollowupID: 767722

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 18:41

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 18:41
Gee thats good value for that vehicle mate, hope you get a sale quick.
FollowupID: 767744

Reply By: Ray 3 - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 14:13

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 14:13
The market is as tough as teak at the moment, the buyers have their hands firmly in their pockets and are in complete control.
Two options, drop the price or wait...it will sell either way, the difference is a price controls WHEN, patience can be near an eternity.
AnswerID: 492070

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 14:40

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 14:40
hi esarby,

some better photos and something larger than a thumbnail might help sell the vehicle - like what is the set up and kit like up close, what's the general condition like etc..... I know you describe it in the ad, but nothing beats the mark one eyeball when selling things 're
AnswerID: 492073

Reply By: ExplorOz - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 16:30

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 16:30
Yes I would agree with the above - you've paid for a Premium ad but not utilised the most advantageous feature of this ad-type which is the extra photos you can upload (up to 7).

Good luck.
Michelle

ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

AnswerID: 492079

Follow Up By: Life Member - esarby (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 17:19

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 17:19
Thanks all will take it all on.

FollowupID: 767739

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 19:06

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 19:06
Forgive the pun but you need to "pump your tyres up" & "blow your own horn". This is a gerat low KM car so tell everyone how good it is. Diesel Auto are the best of the Wranglers. You have tonnes of assesories so take quality photos of them all & post them up. Jeep owners love gadgets & customizing so list everthing you've down. You haven't even mentioned it's a Sport model with sidesteps, both hard & soft tops plus ugraded stereo & sub!
Plenty of rego, still covered by warrenty, tyres 80%, well maintained, full service history, VG condition, nothing to spend, winch never used..........list every positive feature.
I just sold a 2008 diesel, manual JK with 100,000km, no rego, no winch & without many of the assessories that you have but with some better quality equipment including bars, wheels & suspension for $35,000. It took 3 weeks for the 1st call & 6 weeks to eventually sell on Carsales.com. I find Carsales the best as for $60 you get 15 photo's plus heaps of other featues along with huge coverage.
The car market is certainly flat at the moment although new JK sales are still doing pretty well. Yours is really just run in so aim it at new car buyers. Tell them how much they will save compared to buying all the bits themselves. (It must be close to half price on a car with just 24K on the clock!).
Persdonally I'd seperate all the small items & sell on their own. Many people may look at the car & say "I already have a fridge, compressor & roof top tent so wont buy the whole package. It's also proven that you can get far more selling items on their own rather than all together. (2nd hand assessories in good condition will bring 50 to 60% of new cost)
Looking at Redbook I think you are possibly pricing a little low with so many Jeep upgrades & extra's. The only thing that may not be working in your favour is the color. While yours is a perfect example of a 2nd hand JK, many who buy Jeeps do so purely on looks so a Black, Flame Red or Detonator Yellow may well be more saleable.

You bought a Jeep? Don't hold back! Have fun out there! Sell the dream :-)
Good luck, Craig.....................
AnswerID: 492089

Reply By: mountainman - Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 19:29

Thursday, Aug 02, 2012 at 19:29
tough time buddy.
i have money to blow, alot but aint doing it, we are saving alot now, in general australians.

just the timing i spose, yeah put up some more photos.
sell as empty vehicle no fridge n stuff.

some vehicles have been online for a long time than yourself!

dont stress, in time it will happen they say, they tell me all the time.
AnswerID: 492093