Buying an Ex-hire Pop-top

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 12:40
ThreadID: 9738 Views:4519 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
G'day All
I know this is obviously a risk - we've all seen hire vehicles being abused - but I'm considering buying an Ex-hire camper-converted troopie (pop-top not high-top).

What are your honest opinions on the risks of buying such a vehicle ex-hire? If you have bought such a vehicle - any positive/negative stories about the purchase?

Thanks a bunch everyone!

Troopie

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:21

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:21
gday troopie
the perants had a dual cab hilux ex rental for about 4 years it never cauced them any problems, they now have a ford transit camper ex brits hire ahd it now for about 3 years agian with no major problems so iguess to them the stories are just that
regards bruce
AnswerID: 42950

Follow Up By: Troopie - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:31

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:31
G'day Bruce
Thanks for that - it's much appreciated! Strikes me that if you can find one that hasn't been "abused" - then the km's they do are reletively painless (i.e. mostly long trips between cities from what I have found out so far).

Thanks again!
FollowupID: 305239

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:54

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 15:54
I guess if you have a mate that is a competent Mechanic to give you an honest opinion , and you can get one at the right price . . . why not.

The problem as I see it is, they ARE abused, no question of it. There's only so much an "inspection" can pick up without pulling the thing apart.

I mean, you are talking about a vehicle that is designed to be flogged to a certain extent anyway. If everything else falls into place . . . . your money, your choice.
AnswerID: 42955

Follow Up By: Troopie - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:09

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:09
G'day Flappan
Pretty much my opinion also - but good to hear others with the same thoughts. Didn't want to be leading myself up the garden path......

Thanks for the thoughts.

FollowupID: 305248

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:48
Having seen how these things are treated from NEW, personally I wouldnt go near one.

Thrashed from new, not treated with any care really from people hiring them, they are handing them back in a week or so...

there was a thread on this ages ago, could be worth digging up.
AnswerID: 42971

Follow Up By: Troopie - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:54

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 16:54
Thanks Truckster
Had a hunt through the archives - but nothing lept out, will have another hunt.

The sort of treatment you refer to is what I'm afraid of - the long term implications of such treatment are unknowns and obviously worrying. Then again - many 2nd hand Troopies are ex-government and often have the some problems to some extent.

Hmmmm

FollowupID: 305259

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:03
Its a shame, I like Troopys, except if they had a wider wheel track, they look so narrow!!!!

Anyway good luck, it would be 12mths or more old the thread, it was titled something like Britz, or the like,.
FollowupID: 305287

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:26

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:26
Agreed - but I wider set of tyres and flares makes a huge difference to the handling..

Troopie
FollowupID: 305524

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 21:15

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 21:15
Yea Ive only driven one with cheeze cutters on, would like to have driven mates 2000 mod, with 36x13.5x16inch swampers on, that would have handled!
FollowupID: 305580

Reply By: chapo - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 19:37

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 19:37
Troopie,
I camped next to a retired couple in Broome in August who bought one. They were very happy with it.I had a good look through it and it was a great set-up.I dont think it had too many miles on it either so I reckon they are definately worth a look.
AnswerID: 42997

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:22

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:22
G'day Chapo
Thanks for that - and yep - the trucks I'm looking at have all travelled about 100k.

Troopie
FollowupID: 305522

Reply By: gordon g - Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:18

Wednesday, Jan 14, 2004 at 21:18
Hi TROOPY
I think buying an ex hire troopy is exactly the same as buying any second hand vehicle.Once it appears to be looked after getb it checked and if o.k. I think you have to be unlucky to have big problems. Remember that all these vehicles have long kms. on mostly bitumen which does not hurt a diesel.
Iam presentley selling one for my friend who is returning to Switzerland which has just retuned from a trip to Darwin with no problems at all ( 1 puncture). It is a 98 model and comes complete with all camping gear including engel fridge--$22000 o.n.o.
If interested call Gordon in Perth on (08)94011595
AnswerID: 43015

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:29

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 16:29
G'day Gordon
Thanks for the thoughts and offer. Probably not though as my current truck is a 78 series and if a buy a camper converted troopy I'm keen on replacing it with a 78. Still - how many kms has the one you have for sale done?

Troopie
FollowupID: 305556

Reply By: joshinthecity - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 17:19

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 17:19
Personally, my worry would be all the people that have driven it, who would never have driven a diesel before. As you well know, they are not designed to be reved like a petrol, and I'd have my doubts weather that is explained to people before they head off. No doubt revving it to 4k at every gear change like they do with their Daewoo at home.

Just a thought.

Josh.
AnswerID: 43142

Follow Up By: Troopie - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:25

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 09:25
Good point!

Hopefully a thorough mechanical inspection and compression test will help to unearth any major problems here.... Hmmmm

Troopie
FollowupID: 305523

Reply By: Ann & Steve - Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 19:21

Friday, Jan 16, 2004 at 19:21
Troopie
We have bought an ex Britz Troup carrier high top & couldn't be happier with it. Apparently they are serviced within an inch of their lives whilst with Britz & if the hirer doesn't have them serviced at stated places along their route every so many kms, they lose their deposit (which is quite substantial- I checked the Britz site). They are also very restricted as th which 4WD tracks they can use- We think the one we bought had maybe seen a few dirt roads & that's all, it's in such good condition. They are also not allowed to tow anything (hence no towing attachments). Most of them are hired by European tourists who think that a couple of dirt roads is 'off road'.
AnswerID: 43267