Hi everyone! Just a couple of basic ones!

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:13
ThreadID: 9775 Views:2226 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I'm new to 4WDriving, just purchased 1989 terrano 2 door, forked out $8000, too much? Altough it's not ultimate 4WD I like it, I only wanted that one. In the future I'm looking at putting on additional equipment on it. Stuff like biger bull bar and roof rack. I'm just wondering how do they fit roof rack since there is no provisions for it on the roof? Currently it is auto transmission so my sister can drive it as well : - ( , I'm getting laughed at wherever I go "4WD with auto : )" but I'm looking at conversion to manual in the future, anyone attempted something like this?Is pathfinder transmision identical to terranos? In addition to that, I would like to find out where in Melbourne I can get acessories for it, like roof console, etc. And of course workshop manual for it. As far as the radios go, I've seen that CB and HF radios are a "must" in 4WD if going on trks of course. Which HF and CB are best for the job (I mean type like AM only, AM+SSB, not the brand). And how to get HF radio licence, because as far as I can remember for HF it is required.
I'm sorry for bunch of questions, but I can't wait to get in to 4WD world, and I find this place is the best to start!

Many thanx!!!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:20

Thursday, Jan 15, 2004 at 16:20
Dragan,

I cannot help you with the Terrano specific questions but for your questions on comms the best answers are in the Communications Topic Search (LHS Menu). You will not need a 27Meg CB anymore - go for a UHF and if you really need it a HF. Have a look on the topic search page for the links to the forum using the preselected keywords - You will find heaps and heaps of posts on HF vs Sat Phone and UHF, HF info.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
--------------------------