Thermal Cookers

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 04, 2012 at 17:54
ThreadID: 97827 Views:2984 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All - I'm new to this, so sorry if I'm going over old ground.

I am looking at buying a thermal cooker and don't know which way to turn - there's so many on offer. What have people purchased previously, what is recommended?

Any adivce would be greatly accepted.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2012 at 19:15

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2012 at 19:15
Hi Aneta

Although we chose not to get a thermal cooker, we did investigate them. I don't know where you live, but if you have an Aldi near you, watch the specials. I know someone who purchased on - around $60 odd i recall, and on testing it against one of the big brand names, it held the required heat for longer.

Motherhen
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 494245

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2012 at 07:59

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2012 at 07:59
We have an EcoPot which has been excellent. I was a reluctant convert after my pressure cooker died and now find it is excellent. Apart from delicious soups and stews it does corned beef to perfection.
The Aldi model seems to have disappeared - I haven't seen them for a year or so. Friends bought one and it seems to work fine and they are happy but it did not come with a good recipe book and the pots seemed a bit light weight compared to others. The EcoPot pots have a good heavy base so there is no problem browning meat etc if you wish and they make good extra saucepans. The insulated carry bag is also a good idea.
They all seem to work well - haven't met an unhappy owner of any of them yet! Lynne
AnswerID: 494280

Reply By: toffytrailertrash - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2012 at 09:35

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2012 at 09:35