Water Watch Filter/Detection System

Submitted: Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 00:11
ThreadID: 97874 Views:3981 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
I just came across this water detection unit for diesel engines and was interested in the thoughts of others on here, anyone use one?

I guess I'm a bit like most others who travel remote and worry about the water in diesel implications, so always looking for some form of possible effective protection.

It appears to be a float in a glass filter bowl type system and I already have the Toyota water trap as a standard, these guys claim the Water Watch is far more sensitive than the Toyota unit?

Thoughts and comments appreciated.

They sell the 4wd model for $495- according to the web site, a few other sizes avaliable also.

Water Watch Diesel Protection - Web Site

(The usual no affiliation disclaimer applies)

Reply By: bluefella - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 06:28

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 06:28
g'day John
i have one fitted to my 100S cruiser,they are not cheap but neither are fuel pumps and motors,so i reckon good insurance.
AnswerID: 494386

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 08:37

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 08:37
Hi John

Yes I have one. Same thoughts as you, it is very expensive to repair the damage water can do, so a little bit of care before is probably worth it. Talking to mechanics the most damage done to new common rail diesels is water in the fuel. It usually runs to about $9000.

I ended up putting my water watch under the tray on my ute as I felt it would be better to be further away from the motor and give me some time to stop and turn the engine off should water be detected. Only been fitted for 6months and no incidents but I do regular trips to the outback of WA.

AnswerID: 494392

Reply By: aquaslav - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 17:12

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 17:12
what are the dimensions of this thing and how does it tell you there is water in your system? I have 2 yanmar 18hp diesels on my boat and this would be a great idea.
AnswerID: 494425

Follow Up By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 19:33

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 19:33
I have fitted the simple version of these to my Patrol....and already it has picked up some water. Only a small amount which would have ended up in the water trap in the filter. IMO.it is better to stop that sorta stuff from even getting to the filter in the first place.
Well worth it I reckon.

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

FollowupID: 770113

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 21:13

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 21:13
Aquaslav if you click on the link in my original post it will take you to the web site with all the prices, dimensions for the various units and explanations on how it works.
They have a small unit that would probably be suitable for your Yanmar's

FollowupID: 770123

Reply By: aquaslav - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 21:04

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 21:04
what are the dimensions of this thing and how does it tell you there is water in your system? I have 2 yanmar 18hp diesels on my boat and this would be a great idea.
AnswerID: 494450

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 22:12

Friday, Sep 07, 2012 at 22:12
Hi John. Been looking at this issue for my common rail Prado and have developed a pre-filter kit to overcome the problem of the water effect on injectors and pumps. I have a 150 micron caterpillar filter and their quality elbow barbs with water trap and alarm etc. etc that might be of interest. Happy for you to have a look if you are over this way. Will have the Prado diesel kits available in a few weeks for those looking for a solution. Cheers.
AnswerID: 494460

Follow Up By: Member - Markthemilko - Tuesday, Sep 11, 2012 at 23:11

Tuesday, Sep 11, 2012 at 23:11
I fitted a Stanadyne 2 micron filter with primer pump to my 2007 Landcruiser VDJ79, 4.5lt V8. It has a 'flag' to indicate when filter change is necessary. An optional bowl which replaces the drain plug on the base is also available. I fitted it under the tray. I carry a spare filter. Cost me just under $480, including spare filter.

(I'm a DIY guy and have no affiliation with Stanadyne). I bought mine in Perth.
Happy 4WDriving

VKS 737 mobile 0401

FollowupID: 770373

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2012 at 11:07

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2012 at 11:07
How does it catch water and tell you you have water in your system?
FollowupID: 770398

Follow Up By: Member - Markthemilko - Wednesday, Sep 12, 2012 at 23:21

Wednesday, Sep 12, 2012 at 23:21
I presume that the flag will pop up when the filter is close to 'clogged' capacity. I will fit the optional bowl to the base so I can monitor any water & dirt.
Seehttp://www.dieselcare.com.au/fuel-manager-filter

mine is the FM 100 series. the primer pump is optional and not shown in the illustration.

Happy 4WDriving

VKS 737 mobile 0401

FollowupID: 770444

Reply By: dan25 - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 23:17

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 23:17
I'll give this water detection unit a try.
AnswerID: 495207

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 23:28

Tuesday, Sep 18, 2012 at 23:28
Detecting is not the same as catching Dan.
They don't appear to be quite suitable or our type of use at first glance.

FollowupID: 770875