diff windup

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 04, 2012 at 20:14
ThreadID: 98383 Views:2848 Replies:3 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to 4x4 caper!! With my free wheel hubs in the free position and just using the h4 and l4 gears can I still get windup. I have a 1993 Triton with limited slip rear diff.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Oct 04, 2012 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 04, 2012 at 20:39
Gday
No

Muzbry
Great place to be Mt Blue Rag 27/12/2012

Lifetime Member
My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 496157

Follow Up By: Zambezi - Friday, Oct 05, 2012 at 00:43

Friday, Oct 05, 2012 at 00:43
Spike J. As MUZBRY stated the answer is NO . All you are doing is engaging the transfer gearbox when you shift from two wheel drive into 4x4 HI or LO. As long as the front hubs are not locked, then no wind is at all possible. I often use Lo range for getting up my very steep driveway in reverse. That way I`m not working the clutch and can reverse at idle engine speed, plus accurately place my vehicle where I want it. I only lock the front hubs on muddy roads or when actually off road, but never drive your vehicle on dry bitumen roads with the front hubs engaged, as in city driving, as that's when transmission wind up can happen. That can be a costly mistake. Happy travels.
FollowupID: 771808

Follow Up By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Friday, Oct 05, 2012 at 08:22

Friday, Oct 05, 2012 at 08:22
I agree. I often engage low 4WD without the hubs engaged - just using the extra gearing to help tow the van over very steep hills

John

FollowupID: 771821

Reply By: Joe G2 - Friday, Oct 05, 2012 at 06:31

Friday, Oct 05, 2012 at 06:31
Hi Zamebezi, I may be wrong on your comment about never have your hubs locked on the black top, as it wasn't that long ago free wheeling hubs were an accessory and a lot of 4x4's did many miles on the tar without them. Does it only cause a problem if 4x4 is engaged?