LC70 76 series landcruiser... Who's done a lot of Ks?

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 08:37
ThreadID: 98478 Views:5933 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Hello again! I've heard more stories about my new beast to be... One of our contractor's mates has had a 70 series throw a rod at 140 thou. Now as a mechanic I can safely say this is something you don't want to happen to your engine, especially after a 70 thousand buck purchase price.... Now I don't know what year, but please tell me someone's done a few hundred thousand ks in theres! I'm wondering if maybe his was an older one with that oil problem and he ran it a bit low (hoping is more the word)....

Mat
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 09:00

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 09:00
Hi Mat,
My nephew works for a Toyota dealership in a northern state and he informs me that they are still having issues with some Landcruisers.

However, he also said that Toyota Japan have said that any major issues with a motor, swap it out with a new one and send the damaged unit gack to Japan for testing. They are beind their product 100%. Balance that against some of the grenades stories out there and it should make you sleep easy.

Nephew said that they have been advised to tell their customers to just bring their vehicles in for service at the appointed intervals. He said he has seen many a dip stick without oil showing on it. Not to worry as provided you have adheered to the Toyota servicing regieme they are behind you 100%.

Not all units are showing problems but you can rest assured that Toyota will eventually get to the bottom of it.

As a bloke in exactly the same position as you, about to take delivery of his new LC76, said to me in 07 when I asked him whether or not he was worried, he said "Nope, it's a Toyota and it is under warranty".

Nuff said.

Cheers, Bruce.

At home and at ease on a track that I know not and