old members

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 09:49
ThreadID: 98480 Views:3697 Replies:26 FollowUps:69
i wonder who is still learning in here from the beginning of time lol

i noticed a post from John lol who else is lurking ???

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 10:51

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 10:51
I occasionally visit still - yes, pretty much since the beginning of EO time.

is it 7 years??????

Rick
AnswerID: 496447

Follow Up By: Eric - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 11:51

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 11:51
I do remember you Rick , i believe we also met at Robe on EO gathering ?

i was in TUF 80 at the time
FollowupID: 772143

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 13:59

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 13:59
Must be longer than 7 years, I got heaps of help & advice here prior to our first Outback trip in 2004.

FollowupID: 772151

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 14:12

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 14:12
Try 12 years
FollowupID: 772152

Follow Up By: Cruiser . - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:38

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:38
Gramps and Shaker, now there are 2 names from the past.

I have also been lurking in one form or another since EO started, both as a member and now a non member.

Does anyome ever hear from Truckster anymore.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 772155

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:43

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:43
Oh yeah, Truckster and the 'shoelace' post.... lol

MJ
FollowupID: 772156

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:38

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:38
Truckster is on another forum under a different name.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 772170

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:28

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:28
Michael,

Can you elaborate on the "shoelace" post, or maybe not LOL

Would have missed that as I didn't get on here much for a couple of years after we came to town,

FollowupID: 772224

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 11:51

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 11:51
Hi Bob,

The "shoelace" post that came to mind was 29481..a bit of good hearted banter/nonsense.

Things have become a little more staid since those days....good or bad, depends on your outlook. Would certainly be off topic today..lol

Rgds
Michael
FollowupID: 772239

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 10:57

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 10:57
Thanks Michael,

Certainly a lot of frivolity there. Suspect there might be a bit of humour there that relates to previous member gatherings too???

My Oldies used to call it "sense of the ridiculous"

FollowupID: 772300

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 19:31

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 19:31
A heap of humour Bob,

I can even laugh -a little bit- when LUCY (who has not had a mention yet) turned up really late at a gathering and just 'had to' test his air horns;)))

Yep we all move on for various reasons but forums can become a tad 'clinically' clean..

Having said that, the number of really intersting posts here seem to have slowed down a tad of late...wonder why.

Michael
FollowupID: 772323

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:19

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:19
Michael, I can still remember wetting the bed when Lucy blasted his air horns, I thought it was The Overland coming through the campsite.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 772329

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:21

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:21
Michael, I can still remember wetting the bed when Lucy blasted his air horns, I thought it was The Overland coming through the campsite.

FollowupID: 772330

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:48

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:48
G'day Dave,

I guess that is what we would call the 'good old days' lol

No doubt about it times change, and we move on but it is nice to reminisce now and then.

Take care,

Michael
FollowupID: 772333

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:23

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:23
Lucy is still around guys, with the initials DD. Still modifying his Troopy. Talked with him about 10 days ago and last saw him at Sheepyard Flat a few short months ago. Crazie too.
FollowupID: 772382

Reply By: Skulldug - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:42

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:42
Eric,

Excellent question which I hope David or Michelle will answer. I have been using the forum since 2006 but I note post number 2 was submitted on 29 September 2000.

It would also be interesting to know what topics have been the most read.

Skull
AnswerID: 496461

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:56

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 15:56
Would that be the Eric we met on the track to Virilya Point up the cape back in 2004?

Often wondered what happened to old cactus juice Willem et al.
I see a few of the old hands like Bonze are still lurking around. What about Deslexic and Truckster .. now there was a stirring old bastard.
AnswerID: 496462

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:29

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:29
Rosco
It was fermented south african peach juice , and he is still out there in the wild of south australia

FollowupID: 772159

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:28

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:28
Rosco? Are you the Rosco we met up with at Mansfield a few years back with the Blue Landie?
FollowupID: 772244

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:46

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:46
One and the same Jimbo old son, one and the same. How the bloody hell are you? I've been following your exploits with your fit-out business. Just sold the Landy and about to take delivery of a Tojo .. gone over to the dark side ;o))
FollowupID: 772247

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:14

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:14
We're going great. Life's changed a bit, we get over to Asia twice a year for two weeks and do another 4 to 6 individual weeks closer to home. Jenny's knees and back aren't up to camping these days.

Our travels around Australia these days are more around driving somewhere not too far away and plonking in some form of hired accommodation for a week; lots of eating, drinking and generally playing up like a second hand lawn mower (to quote a crazy old bastard I know).

Are you near the Gold Coast? We get up there once or twice a year to visit my parents and could catch up for a drink.
FollowupID: 772250

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:49

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:49
Yep. Just up the road in Brisneyland. Let me know when you're planning a trip and we'll do our best to catch up.
ross@nicollengineers.com.au
FollowupID: 772254

Reply By: Cruiser . - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:04

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:04
Willem lurks on another forum.

Other stirrers, apart from myself at times. in no particular order are Goldie, Stefan, Sir Darkie, Dave B, the Danns (not sure of their screen names) and Queenslander Jo to name just a few (my memory is fading so thats all I can remember at this stage)
AnswerID: 496465

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:42

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:42
The Danns (Gob and Denny then the Geratric Gypsies),
Lyn and Al,
Roachie,
Des Lexic is still on here,
Ross H
Trevor (the King Toad)
Kiwi and the Grenade (Laura),
Dave B is still here,
IsuzuMu (Bruce)

FollowupID: 772160

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:43

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:43
Richard Kovac ;)

FollowupID: 772161

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:23

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:23
I've been around since 2006 and still visit regularly.Not a big poster though-only when something of interest turns up
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 772162

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:33

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:33
Yes gang, been a full member since Feb 2003, get long service leave next year hahahahaha.
FollowupID: 772163

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:46

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:46
Goldie it still stiring the pot elsewhere. Ill post this on FB the whole lot of them are together. Ive been around since 06
FollowupID: 772165

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:00

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:00
Hey brucy hows the new runabout
FollowupID: 772167

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:40

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:40
Queenslander Jo says
"Dave B asked about the Queensland Flag? She's safe and sound in the cupboard :)"
FollowupID: 772172

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:42

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:42
Stefan and 10 times Dakar winner says hi from the Naughty corner :)
FollowupID: 772174

Follow Up By: Member -Toonfish - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 20:46

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 20:46
ahuh yep im (we ) are still here
actually a lifetime member now !
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

FollowupID: 772188

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:30

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:30
Hi Sharon, the new D.Max is great thanks, did you get rid of the 70 and get a 200?
FollowupID: 772221

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:31

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:31
Yes Bruce we did. The 70 was getting a few ks so it was time. First we were heading for a new GXL 70 then the dcab was coming and thought that woud be great. I went for a drive in the 200. Did a list of reasons why the 70 wagon/dcab would be better than the 200 for us. You see before you the end result. Love it. Its unreal with the van in tow. Cheers
Sharon.
FollowupID: 772231

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:16

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:16
Heading for 9 years as a member and was here a couple of years before that.

Time flies when your having fun I guess :))

AnswerID: 496466

Follow Up By: Eric C3 - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 08:58

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 08:58
whats been going on Bud , been a while , a coffee is well overdue i think
FollowupID: 772355

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:03

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:03
Yeah mate for sure.
Be good to catch up.

FollowupID: 772380

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:20

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:20
G'day Eric,

I have been lurking ( member ) since 2003.

Only post occasionally when I can assist someone or need some info, but I usually log on every day to see what is happening. There is always something interesting happening.
Rob M

AnswerID: 496467

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:39

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:39
Whatever happened to that Qld. Flag?

AnswerID: 496469

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:41

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:41
Jo said its safe and sound
FollowupID: 772211

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:55

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:55
Thanks for that Old Girl, I seem to remember that flag has done a lot more kms than many on the forum.

FollowupID: 772228

Reply By: sweetwill - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:49

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 16:49
Yes I must admit that I miss the input from Willem and also from mark Luther Mick O is a little quiet of late well I must finish packing im off to do the darling river run tomorrow for 10 days there is a chop in the engle and there will be beer on the table cheers Billy
AnswerID: 496471

Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 21:12

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 21:12
Yes I miss Willem's contributions. I wish he would come back...
FollowupID: 772191

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:16
Mick O has been on holidays overseas.
He's back in Aus and will appear here again soon I'm sure.

FollowupID: 772199

Reply By: Member - John G - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:23

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:23
Yeah well,

I'm an old member. I just turned 70.

Sadly though, a newbie as far as EO goes.

Keep smiling
AnswerID: 496472

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:44

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:44
That means you have heaps to share.
FollowupID: 772212

Reply By: Lionel A - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:45

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:45
Giday All,
Pop in now and then and have a little looksee.
Let my membership lapse a couple or so years ago, about the time the forum went through some major changes.

Remember some very entertaining and indepth discussions with a variety of loveable rogues.

In fact, just the other day FOOTLOOSE came into my thoughts for no particular reason.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 496475

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 21:19

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 21:19
Hi Lionel, where are you now?, long time no see.
FollowupID: 772193

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:10

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:10
RIP Footoose old mate.
FollowupID: 772196

Follow Up By: Lionel A - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:14

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:14
Giday Al, how's Sally.
Paula says hi.
Still in Northam, Just back from the Kimberley. GRR and old leaf suspension not a good mix but a fun trip.

Still got yer Ph No somewhere, Ill dig it up.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 772198

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:41

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:41
Give us a ring, we are still in Gidge, no change.

If you cant find the phone we can meet at the Noble Falls tavern as it has reopenned again.

Say hello to paula.
FollowupID: 772202

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:55

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 17:55
The most colourful & controversial would have to have been Imusty!
Also who remembers Mike Harding?

AnswerID: 496476

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:40

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:40
Mike Harding,

DIO as well

FollowupID: 772227

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:29

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:29
I had lunch with Mike (that is not his real name) and Kim McFarland aka Kim and Damn Dog a few years back. Two really good blokes.
FollowupID: 772252

Follow Up By: madfisher - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:35

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:35
Mike was always pushing the limits, I remember when he wanted to canoe the Snowy river, which would have been a disaster in waiting.
FollowupID: 772253

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:50

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:50
He certainly did that. He was a very intelligent, articulate chap with an egalitarian outlook on life who was not afraid to have his say. A few of the rabid right wingers clashed with him and it always made great reading. Mike could certainly put forward a structured argument that went over a lot of heads.

Sadly he chose not to adhere to the resetting of the rules a few years ago. His contributions are missed but in the end he left David and Michelle with no option. As did quite a few others.
FollowupID: 772255

Reply By: Member - John L (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:05

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:05
First heard about Exploroz when it was an I.T. idea that Michelle & David shared with us when we met over a Nullarbor blow hole.
Don't post much but look every day - one member gave it the great name of the Grey Nomads Facebook - it's certainly as addictive.
AnswerID: 496478

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:17

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:17
A member since 2009 and before that a member 2004- 8 think I slipped a year somewhere. But I do agree with Lionel A things have changed and i dont post often, nor log in as often, seems that the caravaners are slowly taking over (with respect) lots of questions about van problems, which one to purchase and free camp spots, questions which i have no interest in. I liked it when EO was a dedicated 4WD site. Maybe Michelle and David should think about splitting the site into 2 distinct groups 1. 4WDers. 2. Caravaners

regards..................Jeff

AnswerID: 496481

Follow Up By: Member - kym111 - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 21:02

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 21:02
I've been lurking for a few years as a visitor member, finally paid up full membership last month.
In all fairness to caravanners and 4wders, I'm both! We just acquired a new Sunland with plans for many off the beaten track trips, but also like to leave it behind for a spot of beach driving and day trips when out bush. I find this site is excellent for catering to everyone and would hate to see it split.
FollowupID: 772275

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:58

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 18:58
My Membership card says member since May 2007, and the oldest of my posts that I can find is also May 2007.

But a couple of really significant things happened to me in early 2007 and I can remember being on EO as a Member before these things.

Maybe 2007 is when I took out Lifetime Membership. Maybe I was a lurker before then. Maybe Oldtimers is getting to me.

Beats me.

AnswerID: 496486

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 19:07

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 19:07
I have been a member since September 2003 and on the site for a few years before that.. There wasnt too many people on the site back then. I have learnt a lot in that time, especially in the early years with my first brand new 1999 Nissan Patrol and I hope that I have passed on some good advice and knowledge since then. regards Michael

AnswerID: 496488

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 21:00

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 21:00
Was a member back in April 2003 under my own name before changing it. Haven't been a member for a few years 'cos I have been slack. Don't post a lot , I guess I feel guilty about not joining up again. Look at the forum most days.

Who could forget the solar guru Ozexplorer I think it was or the persistance of Bill S and the flogging he got.

Don't forget Pesty in the mix of old timers.
AnswerID: 496500

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:14

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:14
Pesty is still around on FB
FollowupID: 772197

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 23:01

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 23:01
wasn't the solar guru davidau or similar?

Billls was a masochist
FollowupID: 772203

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 23:54

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 23:54
Wasn't Mainey the solar guru?
FollowupID: 772205

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:49

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:49
Pesty gets a flogging else where, Stef,Hairs and Goldie see to that.
FollowupID: 772213

Follow Up By: Outnabout.. - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:58

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 07:58
Found post 3130 where Oziexplorer spat the dummy but can't find any of his other posts but there were many an some very informative.
I think he was booted off eventually maybe David and Michelle removed his posts at the same time. He also named in that post a few old timer sparring partners.
FollowupID: 772215

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:01

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:01
Ive been on here 9 years now
AnswerID: 496505

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:38

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:38
Remember Johnno1!

That was an entertaining time.
FollowupID: 772201

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 23:05

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 23:05
yep this thread made me think of that
FollowupID: 772204

Reply By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:29

Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:29
Robin Miller would have to be a long timer wouldnt he ???..................
AnswerID: 496507

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:21

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:21
12 years Kimba from 2000 - but my details got lost and had to re-jion in 2006 - my account is still a bit funny in that it always says I have member messages ,even when I don't .

How many years for you ?

FollowupID: 772218

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 14:41

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 14:41
Mate would have to be around the same I reckon maybe a tad less ?? but then I didn't renew my membership so have just been a visitor now for a fair while......possibly half/half I'd say......Not sure how I can find out ?? Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 772258

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:07

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:07
I joined in '05. Lurker since '03 :)
AnswerID: 496521

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:28

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:28
Only in 2005 MrBitchi? Was that the year we met you at the Gathering at Birdsville or was that 2006? I joined November 2003
FollowupID: 772383

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 20:25

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 20:25
Yes John. That was our first meeting. Brisbane to Birdsville via Innisfail cause of the floods. My profile pic was taken that year, on top of Big Red. You can see the floods in the background.
FollowupID: 772725

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:25

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:25
Willem & Judith called in and had smoko with us one afternoon, maybe 2 years ago. They were on their way home, and were camped at Long Waterhole for a night or two. "Jeddah" had to wait in the Nissan!

Been a member since March, '03. Not sure how long before that I was lurking. Didn't get on the forum much after we first came to town, too busy, but it's now an addiction again.

Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) called in to see us when we were still on the station. Went opal noodling, and poor Jen nearly got cooked, it was pretty hot.

Lot of good banter back in those days. That ozexplorer might have been a bit of a guru, but he had a pretty abrasive attitude.

AnswerID: 496523

Reply By: Eric C3 - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:27

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:27
well well well . good to see so many familiar names.

you will remember me as TUF80 then became TUF100 now there is no more tuff cars lol as i now drive a Supercharge RR Vogue lol so the Plate became BYSELL

I am mostly remembered for getting 10 or more cars stuck in robe for over 3 hrs lol
not totalt my fault mind you , they all said , you go first and if you make it , we will follow.
Well John R has never let me live it down .

I bump into Bruce ( Truckster ) now and then. Still waiting for John Vic to take me for a dive lol
John R is still waiting for me to go milk his cows and the list goes on

To those who have joined EO recently , let me tell you , its well worth it, as the friends i have made here, have been great friends
AnswerID: 496525

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:17

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:17
I haven't seen Bruce for a while either. He used to pop into my factory for a yarn and a giggle.
FollowupID: 772251

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 18:51

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 18:51
G'day Eric, I am still around at times. Waiting to see you on our new hills on a quad bike in the wet mate. The cows wouldn't cope with you I think. You are about due to return I reckon.

I chatted with Bruce (Trucky) a little while back. Funny things happen, like when we were in a store at the same time as he was, picking up identical products from ebay purchases. Last time we saw him was when the family all came to lunch when Cam was this way doing motocross training at Allansford.

Have been too busy doing things to get far from home this year. A fortnight was all we have so far managed. Nearly a week over Christmas /New year though.
FollowupID: 772379

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:49

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:49
I have been a member since Feb 2004, but was posting since ~2002. Initially I got a free membership after writing a Trek Notes report, was something done in the early days to get more reports on-line. The forum has certanly changed its "feel" over the years, many members like Roachie, Willem, Truckster etc... have moved on but you still get to see them posting here very occasionally - or more so on other forums.

AnswerID: 496529

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:24

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:24
Whatever happened to Kim and Damn Dog from down there on the shores of Westernport. Kim was always good for a Sat'dy night yarn :-)
AnswerID: 496535

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 17:54

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 17:54

Think he got banned for consistently being unsociable/rude to people who had different opinions to his (same as Willem et al). Think he reappeared as Bluefly (or similar) for a while. In fact I think I was the last person he flung some diatribe at before being given the flick.

Despite the fact that some of these guys are intelligent and knowledgeable it has been illustrated many times that some people have characteristics not suited to carrying out civilised conversation via online forums, basically the sort of talk that would get you in a fight in a bar every single time. I doubt they are so consistently “brave” in the real world. Suspect many regret their actions and change their ways afterwards.

Getting back on the forum after being banned (without hiding behind an alias) is not easy. Some individuals would need a letter or two from a number of psychologists to prove they are reformed based on what I have seen over the years :)

FollowupID: 772313

Follow Up By: Lionel A - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:36

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 20:36
Sorry Greg, I beg to differ.
To my mind there is a huge difference between being 'belligerent' and 'not suffering fools'.
I feel that Willem was guilty of the latter.
Admittedly there was a stage, on this forum, that needed the reins pulled in a little. However, I feel that the pendulum has swung too far in the opposite direction, catering more to the PC brigade and overtly nannified traveller.

The forum could do with a Willem, Kim, Harding and a few others of their ilk to breathe some life back into it, give it a soul once more.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 772331

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 21:51

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 21:51
Hello Lionel

Not sure you are actually disagreeing with me ...seems you are just providing an excuse (i.e. 'not suffering fools') for the rude behaviour of some of those who have been banned.

It is actually possible to comment on a subject/comment you disagree with without being blatantly rude. This is called civilised conversation. Internet is a big place – if you want to get verbally abused by someone who thinks you are a fool ...join another forum.

The fact that some of those banned from the forum maybe nice/interesting people is irrelevant (my guess is a fair percentage are). I personally have no issue with any of those previously mentioned and would happily have a beer with them anytime..after all it’s only a forum.….but if you don’t follow some forum rules ..you will ultimately get banned.

No big deal really..more to life than the internet (hang on ..have to check facebook :)

FollowupID: 772338

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 22:03

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 22:03
I doubt that many of the 'old timers' were actually banned. D&M could confirm that one way or another. Of course there were some notable exceptions. Most seem to have found other interests and outlets.
FollowupID: 772339

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 22:17

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 22:17

Yes no doubt some people have moved on voluntarily....also no doubt that some of the high profile old timers got a bit carried away with their own self-importance and had to move on whether they liked it or not.

FollowupID: 772341

Follow Up By: Lionel A - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 08:51

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 08:51
Hi Greg, not having a crack at you.
I know it does sound a little confusing but do agree with you and I dont. lol.
Im sure Willem can speak for himself but I do recall some attacks on him purely because he was Willem. He returned fire in his usual way.

Excuse, maybe, some struggle with change in an ever changing world. Thats life I suppose.

Im hoping the forum will find a natural balance as most things do over time and would love to rejoin when that happens.

Cheers.......Lionel.
FollowupID: 772354

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 09:57

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 09:57
No worries Lionel

I don’t actually know the full story as to why some people have been banned. Keep in mind some of the "evidence" (i.e. the series of words/posts that broke the camel’s back) would have been removed from public view. I get the impression some people don’t realise exactly what was said but my guess it wasn’t, in many cases very nice.

No doubt some of those we are referring to are characters but one way or another they broke the rules (several times - you probably wont get banned forever for one misdemeanour). As mentioned before, some people aren’t suited to co-existing with others on a forum of this type.

No big deal in my opinion - for every one banned person there are several thousand others. It’s the combined knowledge and experience of all people here that is the value - not that of a select few.

FollowupID: 772359

Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:22

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:22
I've been around since 2003. Entered into a mutually successful business arrangement with EO when I became a business member and advertiser five years ago. Business is absolutely booming and our lifestyle has changed a bit.

Whilst I'm not quite semi-retired we do get to take about 8 to 10 weeks a year off. We used to love our camping and caravanning, but tastes change and we holiday a little differently these days. I still plan to do the full trip around Australia in a Motor Home one day, but that is a while off.

Some of those old names mentioned above bring back some memories. Whilst some of them moved on, others were moved on. A few egomaniacs thought this forum would collapse without them, oh how wrong they were.

Jim Best.
AnswerID: 496555

Reply By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 23:20

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 23:20
I dont post much but have learnt a fair bit over the years
Who remembers Wolfie? had a pimped out Honda something AWD ? He was out there seemed like a good character
Willie from Epping
Eric from cape york put me on to this site he had a thing with the Truckster from memory

Cheers Michael
AnswerID: 496592

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 16:46

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 16:46
Yeah, remember Wolfie well, Michael.

Just been looking for him, in the archives, but had no luck. Then found his old nom de plume was Lone Wolf. Plenty of threads from him, buried away, around 2005 or so.

Also mention of Patrolman Pat, Roachie, Numbnut(Member #1, if I recall correctly), Pesty and a few others, whose names I've forgotten already.....bloody old-timers.

FollowupID: 772311

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:20

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 19:20
I last spoke to Willie from Epping last year. I see his posts elsewhere where he uses the same icon picture. He is a BOG member. We had lunch a few years ago with he and Mrs Willie and Gramps too. Friend of the Roachies on Facebook, Brew and Pesty too.
FollowupID: 772381

Reply By: Life Member Tour Boy( Bundy) - Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 17:42

Sunday, Oct 14, 2012 at 17:42
Geez, talk about bringing back memories of people past.
I've been lurking since 2003 and finally joined up in 07 I tried a few times to join early in the game but it wouldn't accept my payment so I gave up trying to join for a few years.

Is it just me or is the variety of topics not as diverse as it was back then?
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 496675

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 17:55

Friday, Oct 19, 2012 at 17:55
Bundy, I agree it's all about caravans and free camping these days.
regards................jeff
FollowupID: 772720