70 Series double cab

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 11, 2012 at 22:47
ThreadID: 98493 Views:11627 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
How do members think the new 70 series DC will go? I reckon it will be a winner.

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 05:52

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 05:52
I am going to order one tomorrow so I am hoping it is going to be a winner.

I think there is a big market for it, a lot of people are driving the medium size dual cabs out of necessity that tow big boats and vans but need 4 seats
AnswerID: 496513

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:12

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:12
They look good.
My brother in law was thinking of buying one and was negotiating a price with a local dealer. He offered a clean swap of his immaculate 2009 Prado (55,000 on the clock) and his 2005 turbo Landcruiser ute. The dealer said yes, but he still wanted some cash, another $1,900. My bother in law told the dealer where to put his offer. $1,900 does not sound like much, but you would think an immaculate Prado and a 2005 ute would be a more then fair swap for the dual cab?
Kevin
AnswerID: 496516

Follow Up By: Member - Justin O (QLD) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:35

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:35
It pays to visit several dealers. My brother in law bought a new 200 series recently with the first 200 series as a trade. Got a quote at a major Toyota dealer in Brisbane and a quote from a smaller regional dealer. The difference? $8000 cheaper at the regional dealer. Go figure.
FollowupID: 772245

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:16

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:16
From what I've read there's fairly limited room in the back (kids only). We're currently awaiting delivery of a cab chassis, but there's only two of us.
AnswerID: 496517

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:22

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 08:22
Hi Justin,

Do you know whether it is an auto? Would love one if it is.

regards,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 496519

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:10

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 09:10
Heather

As with all the 70 series they are only in manual and only in turbo diesel.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 772223

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:03

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:03
It's about time. It must have cost Toyota mightily to not have something in that aspect of the market (apart from the hilux that is).
With all the interest from mining, I can only wonder what the delivery times will blow out to.

Dave, I'm led to believe that they are coming with air and factory diff locks as standard. They even have a clock now! They never did deliver the clock for that gap in the dashboard lol. It's a good place to put the engine saver alarm though.

FollowupID: 772229

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:35

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:35
Hi Mick

Only the GXL have factory diff locks.

The dual cab rear seat and doors look identical to a 76series but just placed on a 79 series chassis.
No space under the bonnet now for a 2nd battery (because of ABS).
Only one fuel tank and the bigger 130 litre fuel tanks looks to hang lower than the previous 90litre.

Definately a bit small in the back but this is the same with most dual cabs. Below is a photo posted on Lcool.

FollowupID: 772232

Follow Up By: Jack - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:47

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:47
Hi Serendipity(WA),

Are you going to credit Phil G's words and Photograph that you copied from the other website? Common courtesy I would have thought?
FollowupID: 772234

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:54

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:54
Yes I should have made it more clear where it came from. I did refer to it coming from Lcool. This photo was posted by Phil G on the Lcool website and it was his information about the details of the new dual cab he found from a visit to the 4wd show.

My apologies to Phil.

refer this web - http://www.lcool.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=21191&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=90

FollowupID: 772236

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 20:48

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 20:48
The back set is not as bad as it looks
I took my wife and teenage son on my second look as cabin space was my biggest concern
My son reckons he has the same or better leg room in the back of the cruiser than in my current shap Hilux D/C. The seat is a bit narrower but you seem to it more upright and higher so less gspace is required.
FollowupID: 772273

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 21:00

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 21:00
Jack, David, all is good!

Alby,
You're right. What David didn't include above was that my son in the photo is 6'8" tall, and that the front seat was fully back. I take him along to see what he'll fit into! I've got no intention of ever squishing him in there.

But I'm a Toyota man through and through, have had many Landcruisers since my first which was a 1976 FJ55. While I'm sure the dual cab will be a great vehicle for family people wanting a rigid axle indestructible 4wd, I don't think it will be for me. It will cost me $50k to changeover because I'll need a new canopy, tray, and have to add cruise control, air cond, etc etc but if I was starting afresh, it would be very tempting.

Just need to convince my son he needs a BT50 or Amarok!!!!

FollowupID: 772274

Follow Up By: Litlbalt - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 22:13

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 22:13
I am 6'3 and the wife is 6' and we both think there is alot more room in the new Hilux's then the 70 double. Definitely can't see how they are supposed to fit 3 grown men in the back on the cruiser
FollowupID: 772280

Follow Up By: Litlbalt - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 22:14

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 22:14
Will also add there is more leg room in the front of a hilux then the cruiser ute also.
FollowupID: 772281

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:17

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:17
This was posted on http://news.toyota.com.au/toyota-launches-landcruiser-workhorse-double-cab

Toyota Launches Landcruiser Workhorse Double Cab

Demand from the booming mining sector and from others requiring a rugged vehicle has prompted Toyota to develop a double-cab version for its venerable 70-Series LandCruiser range.

Australia will be the first market in the world to get the new LC79 double cab, which builds on the vehicle's tough, practical design.

On sale in late September, priced from $63,990*, it will be the fourth body style in the range, joining the single cab-chassis, troop carrier and wagon.

The new variant comes in two grades, Workmate and GXL, both with 130-litre fuel-tank capacity, 4.5-litre turbo-diesel V8 engine, five-speed manual transmission and part-time 4WD with two-speed transfer case.

The new double cab also benefits from production upgrades to the range, including anti-skid brakes on all grades, air-inlet snorkel mounted on the A pillar, improved seats, in-dash multi-function clock and audio/CD system with Bluetooth™# hands-free, audio streaming and voice-recognition phone/audio.

Toyota Australia's executive director sales and marketing Matthew Callachor said mining companies and other regional and rural communities had been keenly waiting for the arrival of the new double cab.

"The 70-Series is so popular for the really tough jobs that customers have been modifying the wagon version to provide the flexibility of a double-cab ute," Mr Callachor said.

"The double cab will carry five adults as well as providing a one-tonne payload for their heavy gear, such as surveying equipment," he said.

"For other customers, including farmers, the large cabin will allow the kids to ride along, while also offering the touring benefits of a dual-cab ute along with the legendary LandCruiser toughness."

The 70-Series range has been available in various guises for several decades. The wagon version and the 4.5-litre turbo-diesel V8 were introduced as part of a major facelift in 2007. All variants adopted driver and front-passenger airbags in 2009.

Customer loyalty is remarkably strong, with the majority of buyers replacing an existing LandCruiser 70-series vehicle due to its capabilities in rough conditions such as heavily corrugated unsealed roads.

In mine pits, the vehicles and their owners have to cope with extreme dust in the dry and thick mud in the wet. Some vehicles are also be fitted with rail arms to travel on train rails.

Double-cab Workmate comes with 16-inch steel split rims, aluminium side steps, vinyl seat facings and floor coverings, black bumpers and the extra-cost option of diff locks.

The GXL version gains 16-inch alloy wheels, over-fender flares, remote central locking, differential locks, fog lamps, power windows, carpet and cloth seats. It is priced from $67,990*.

Seven exterior colours are offered.

All nine LandCruiser 70 Series models share the 32-valve V8 turbo-diesel engine with common-rail direct injection and an intercooler.

The Euro IV-compliant V8 engine delivers 151kW of power at 3400rpm and replaces six-cylinder diesel and turbo-diesel engines.

Peak torque of 430Nm is reached at just 1200rpm and held all the way to 3200rpm - the flattest torque curve among all of Toyota's engines.

PRICES*
LANDCRUISER 70 SERIES

Wagon
Workmate $59,990
GXL $64,290

Troop carrier
Workmate $65,790
GXL $67,990

Single cab
Workmate $58,790
GX $60,790
GXL $62,790

Double cab
Workmate $63,990
GXL $67,990

* Recommended retail prices exclude dealer delivery, government and statutory charges and optional extras.
# The Bluetooth™ word mark is owned by The Bluetooth SIG, Inc. Not all devices will be compatible and functionality will vary depending on the device.

AnswerID: 496534

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:09

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 13:09
hi
how do toyoa think 3 aussie blokes are going to fit in the back seat look at the guy in the picture he would be struggling to close the door look where his knees are and toyota claim its suitable for 3 in the back and is aimed at the mining companies and for work related sales
another toyota bungle-up
i do wish they would do there research in a more thorough way
is that too hard/much to ask for
FollowupID: 772249

Reply By: TandCD - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:50

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:50
I have an enquirey in now with my local Tojo people for a quote.
They are a bit slow in getting back to me with a price.
At $64k plus plus they should sell ok.
A tough reliable rig for the miners , farmers and of course me and my wife ;-).
We hope to do some travelling in the near future with our van. The v8 should do the job nicely.
The apparent lack of leg room on the back wont worry us but when and if we have passengers it will be for short durations only.
The missus will want to put in child seat thingies for the grandies . I hope that Tojo puts in anchor points for the child restraints.
I believe that the seats are a bit better/comfortable that the previous models.

Looking forward to seeing ours in the 'flesh' and reading of other peoples experiences with them.

Good travels,
Terry
AnswerID: 496541

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:52

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 10:52
Sounds a bit under powered. Got a mate with the single cab ute, he reckons it wouldn't pull the skin off a custard?
AnswerID: 496542

Follow Up By: Member - Justin O (QLD) - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:43

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 12:43
Gidday Notso. I've driven about 6 different 70 series single cabs with my work since they appeared . They are hot and cold. 4 had heaps of power, 1 with less and 1 performed as you describe.
FollowupID: 772246

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 18:27

Saturday, Oct 13, 2012 at 18:27
Nissan navara has more power that the land cruiser and torque, in the v6 version, I own the Pathfinder ti 550, it is fuel efficient and powerful enough to tow our 23ft Roadstar with eas.It is also [now that I have learnt the basics of how to drive it lol] a very capable off roader, with very good ride and comfort. Each to his own but to me the landcruiser is a very thirsty uncomfortable vehicle to tour and tow in. I used to be a toyota Fan. I'll do a blog on the Pathfinder after I have owned it for 12 months, and been on different tracks, and know more about the vehicle, at the moment its a good beast.
Broodie H3
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 772317

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 15:17

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 15:17
Yep people will rush out and buy em and then quickly realise they're not what they expected.
AnswerID: 496572

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 20:07

Friday, Oct 12, 2012 at 20:07
It will be like all other Toyota's.

Over rated, over priced and over advertised.

Oh What a feeling
Toyota.

Disco.
AnswerID: 496583