Towing a caravan and a boat

Submitted: Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 11:28
ThreadID: 98539 Views:3103 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
Been up in the territory for almost a month and loving it.I have caught the Barra bug and want to get a aluminium boat and it got me asking why we cant tow a boat behind a caravan yes its against the law but what's the difference in that and a road train,I am thinking maybe a special licence.What I am probably asking has anyone asked the question or is there a problem with turning or something else.I would think it would be less of a drag than having it on the roof,also I would imagine towing would use less fuel.I do remember a old Guy I worked with in Townsville in the 70s towing a van and a horse float behind a Ford v8 sedan from Ipswich to Townsville and only got pulled up it Townsville.

Reply By: mylestom - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 11:51

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 11:51
They do it in the states, just do a search for Double Towing, lots of comments and photos from various forums.

Trev
AnswerID: 496711

Reply By: Member - bill f (QLD) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 11:52

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 11:52
Definitely illegal. Imagine the major problems would be
(1) braking: would your controller handle both trailers or extra setup for boat.

(2) Tracking: keeping the boat tracking in the same line as the car & van

(3) Licence & Registration: Cost to register tug as a prime mover & then al the bits & pieces for towing. What licence would you need A: HR : Articulated. All can take years to get unless you already have them.

(4) Capability of Tow Hitch & fitting of tow hitch to van

Would be nice to have though. Bill
AnswerID: 496712

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 14:04

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 14:04
Some of you westerners might know but I was told it was legal in WA.

PeterH
FollowupID: 772426

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 17:59

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 17:59
hi peter
i'm a born and bred westerner and that has never been done or allowed in w.a to the best of my knowledge
sounds like a tall tinnie story to me
FollowupID: 772444

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 14:47

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 14:47
Why cant you?
Are you sure you cant?

If you had your vehicle re-engineerd with a stronger chassis, made heavier, brakes up graded, stronger tow hitch, duel wheels and generally strengthened.
You had a HC licence, found an insurance company who would insure you and paid the appropriate rego (whatever that might be).
Had a purpose built caravan with wheels at the back to take the load of the second trailer, a purpose built second trailer with a turn table to enable it to track and suitable brakes fitted to both.......and kept all that within the guideline of the transport authority in your state (or had the guidelines changed)...........you probably could. LOL

AnswerID: 496718

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 15:52

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 15:52
...or you could just settle for a tinnie on roof racks.
FollowupID: 772432

Follow Up By: Member -Carl R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 16:37

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 16:37
Towing a tinnie behind a off road caravan with a good chassis (must caravans have decent chassis) should not be a big problem ,from what i've seen no tinnies have trailer brakes,i am not saying tow a 22' half cabin just a simple 14' tinnie approx
FollowupID: 772434

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 17:48

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 17:48
I agree.......but whats the maximum length of a light vehicle?
Also there would want to be some sort of driving test I would hope.......if you saw some of the grey nomads I see! Damn scary thought I reckon!
FollowupID: 772442

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 16:48

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 16:48
Carl! How about a folding boat? Carry it on roof racks!! Michael

AnswerID: 496720

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 17:45

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 17:45
Folding boat + Crocs = stained undies or worse. LOL
FollowupID: 772441

Follow Up By: Member -Carl R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 10:02

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 10:02
FollowupID: 772482

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 10:52

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 10:52
Wouldnt have a chance
FollowupID: 772488

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 18:10

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 18:10
Why not get a Roadtrain and be done with it.

Mate put a tinnie on the roof.
AnswerID: 496724

Reply By: kev.h - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 20:42
Saw a fifth wheeler at Kakadu towing a boat had a chat to him it was registered as a b-double with the correct hitches etc from memory 27 - 30 foot trailer with 16 - 18 foot boat pulled by light truck
AnswerID: 496737

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 21:18

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 21:18
http://caravanersforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27907

Looks like someones got it sorted, cheers
AnswerID: 496744

Reply By: Member - willawa - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 21:23

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 21:23
Get real Carl R.

just buy a tinnie and put on the roof .
AnswerID: 496745

Follow Up By: Member -Carl R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 09:17

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 09:17
willawa you sound like a person who has a glass half empty
FollowupID: 772476

Follow Up By: Member - willawa - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 21:02

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 21:02
Half Full actually Carl R.
However I am more concerned about your insurance. Have you asked your insurer if you are covered while towing a caravan and a boat?
FollowupID: 772526

Follow Up By: landseka - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 10:52

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 10:52
Glass half empty or glass half full....there is clearly room for more wine.
FollowupID: 773777

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 21:26

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 21:26
Imagine the stuff you could fit in that. With an already over loaded caravan. :)
AnswerID: 496747

Follow Up By: Member -Carl R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 09:59

Tuesday, Oct 16, 2012 at 09:59
Like anything there has to be a weight limit as is with heavy haulage
FollowupID: 772480

Reply By: Dion - Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 22:25

Monday, Oct 15, 2012 at 22:25
Been doing it in SA for quite some time.
Mainly out on the block when cutting firewood. When I put the receiver hitches on the back of the trailers, I also wire in a socket so all following trailers have their lights operating. At one stage had three trailers set up as lead trailers, pulling four around the paddock. On a few occassions where I have been in a situation where I've needed to come back into town with two attached, handling has been quite fine even at the posted 110km/h limit. The second trailer can only follow what the towing vehicle does.
I have had receiver hitches on a:
7x4 single axle (later converted to a tandem)
7x4 tandem axle
7x4 single axle (which got stolen off a Navy base in WA)
Flat bed tandem axle
To be done, an 8x5 tandem axle over this summer.
The first tow vehicle that I pulled three at once was not a 4WD, but a VB Commodore with a sweet little 253 in it. My VS ute also has pulled three trailers, but now my Rodeo's do the towing, and don't even know the additional trailer(s) are attached.
Reversing two tandem trailers is a cinch, reversing two single axle trailers more difficult.
As for towing hitches, only with 50mm ball, and with lights wired through.
Sorry, not being a financial member, I can't post a few photo's I have.
I have noticed other than my own, quite a few trailers around the place with either fixed tounges or receiver hitches attached to the back of them (which does not include mass produced camper trailers with receiver hitches intended for bike racks), so quite a few are doing it.
Dion.
AnswerID: 496753

Reply By: Mark C9 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 15:58

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 15:58
Yeah Carl, why not!!!
Can you give me a call when you intend to do it and I’ll post the video of you on you tube under the appropriate section.

get a grip
AnswerID: 497846