FYI...New road rules for NSW re Mobile Phone use whilst driving.
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:10
Fred G NSW

New Mobile Phone/driving Laws for NSW
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:20
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:20
Good - I agree with this 100%. Bring it to WA please.
Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 03:06
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 03:06
Hi David,
The laws regarding the use of mobile telephones has been in place since 2001 and subsequently amended to remove the
grey area of phone use
As listed here
There are a large number of WA drivers who think (in their tiny minds) that they can drive
well and text or drive
well and talk on their phones.
At an
intersection in Maddington this afternoon, six vehicles passed through the
intersection, four of those drivers were using mobile phones???? Go figure.
As I recall, at the time of introduction of the legislation, the government spent over three hundred thousand dollars telling people that it is illegal to use a mobile phone without a hands free kit.
It is a pity that the police seem to be very inactive in policing this.
Wayne & Sally.
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 04:26
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 04:26
I agree also, but make the fine 1 months pay, before tax.
Dole bludgers, loose vehicle for 3 months
Everybody, 2nd offence loss of lisence and vehicle for 6 months.
Follow Up By: sweetwill - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 08:27
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 08:27
Bucky.
How can I tell a dole bludger, from a person who is unenployed, this has always worryed me cheers Bill.
Follow Up By: Wayne's 60 - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 09:16
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 09:16
Maybe the rules need to be formulated along the same lines as the state's - WA - "hoon laws"
Loose your mobile for a month for a first offence or have it crushed on a second offence.
Maybe the police could employ a "phone VS metal object" stress test.
Take the offender's phone and "gently" belt a suitable metal object ie bull bar... hammer ... light post .... fire hydrant and see what comes out unscathed ....... almost lining up for a "Friday Funny" lol
Wayne & Sally.
Reply By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:39
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:39
Should have been in place years ago- BUT still will not stop people using them. I work with
young people that send between 100-200 texts per day like their life depends on the phone
Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:41
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:41
Good Heavens, if they apply similar rules to UHF radios some people will find it impossible to drive off-road! LOL
Follow Up By: Lex M - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:47
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:47
Don't panic.
From Qld road rules:-
"mobile phone does not include a CB radio or any other
two-way radio."
I expect other states are similar.
Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:41
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:41
+1. Expect to see a lot of drivers wearing 'hearing aids' and still not focusing.
Reply By: Lex M - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:44
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 19:44
Been like that in Qld since at least 2009.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 20:18
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 20:18
Good call for NSW Govt! Michael
Reply By: howesy - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 20:52
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 20:52
should mail it out to every second Police officer they are the main offenders
Follow Up By: Lex M - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:05
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:05
They're allowed, in Qld at least.
"Use of mobile phones
(1) The driver of a vehicle (except an emergency vehicle or police
vehicle) must not use a mobile phone that the driver is holding
in the driver’s hand while the vehicle is moving, or is
stationary but not parked.
Maximum penalty—20 penalty units."
Follow Up By: howesy - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:26
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:26
It would seem under the current handbook and the proposed changes NSW Police may only use electronic data devices for jobs and checks in course of their duties not to display a blatant do as I say and not as I do exercise. I am older and was brought up in an era where Police had great respect and now they complain about the lack of respect,,,,, Perhaps if they got back to old fashioned Policing and leading by example it might be a start. U turns over unbroken lines when not attending jobs,
parking in no stopping zones to buy morning tea, speeding because they can,,, the list goes on. When I was growing up and first driving you could always trust that the police officer was doing the right thing.
Reply By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:13
Thursday, Oct 25, 2012 at 21:13
In the states it is possible to purchase a unit that plugs into a power point that blocks reception. Maybe a product like this should be installed in cars? It's not only the driver that should be careful with phones. Passengers will also shove the things in front of the driver because they recieved a funny picture that needs to be seen now.
Pedestrians need to stop texting while walking across roads as
well
Reply By: Danna - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 09:45
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 09:45
And there should be more policing what people doing in their cars.
Drivers having a breakfast, putting on make-ups, reading anything from documents to newspapers and magazines.
And my personal pet-hate, passengers having their feet stuck on dashboard, out of windows and on top of front seats.
Can you imagine to have an accident? I don’t have to.
I have had seen one of those accident in Europe. It was a nightmare for me ..…Girls own feed smashed her face beyond recognition.
Hoo Roo Dana
Follow Up By: AlanTH - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 10:16
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 10:16
Just wait for all the air rage incidents resulting from the serial chatters non stop gobbing off from here to every where in the World.
Communications technology is a wonderful thing but allowing discretion in it's use is asking for trouble.
I agree with the above about taking and destroying phones for second offences and if they took the SD card as
well, most of the younger
population would be totally stuffed.
Impossible to educate the uneducable as they're all perfect drivers and can multi task anywhere......
AlanH.
Follow Up By: Danna - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:37
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:37
Yah that is good idea AlanH, and we can go further, they would have to do it by own hand...with shredder, so they can't heard police if we give them use hammer. LOL
Dana
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:12
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:12
G'day Fred, any action to align State rules must be a good result, but none of the current
rules seem to be having any effect on the number using phones while driving. Obviously,
the penalties arent a deterrent, & I imagine no fine would deter those poor souls that
are so addicted to the phone god that it has taken over their lives.
I doubt if the highest number of phone addicts has even reached "driving age" yet..&
I refer to teen girls...so unless attitudes change somewhere this phone/driving thing
still has a long way to go..
Conversely, I wonder how other electronic distractions are not considered safety
factors..& I refer to 2way radios, headphones/boom boxes, & the sat nav stuff, some of
which covers large areas of the windscreen.
On reflection, there are a multitude of driver distractions, arent there..../
maybe the answer is somewhere between education & commonsense.
cheers....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:53
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:53
Hi oldbaz, I agree with you about the other distractions to drivers. Not sure how using a two way can be any less distracting than a mobile.
Another item to add to the banned list is all those
young ladies that insist on wearing them mini skirts when walking down the footpath. Now that's damn distracting (;-)))))
Actually my wife says she doesn't mind me looking at their legs as long as I am not driving.
She reckons my eyes are on their last legs anyway..lol.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 17:32
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 17:32
Now that's funny Pop :-)))))
Fred.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:18
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 11:18
Unfortunately these rules will , by and large, prove to be a waste of time.
The restrictions on P Platers are particularly useless.
Coming up with draconian legislation appeasers the short term thinking, shock jocks and the righteous, but fails to address the base problem which is customer demand driven.
The effective way to reduce issues surrounding phone use in cars is to work harder to work with people and provide better technical solutions.
One day - not to far off - full voice control of such devices will provide seamless phone use from a car - then we will all benefit - if the short term thinkers don't legislate to have compulsory gags applied before the ignition interlock can be disengaged.
Reply By: howesy - Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:14
Friday, Oct 26, 2012 at 22:14
they should make it law that GPS have to be pre-programmed before pulling out from kerb too,,, dont know how many idiots I've seen causing near accidents because they are programming a GPS or making adjustments to it while driving ,,, worse than mobile phones I reckon
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 11:09
Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 11:09
What is the dangerous thing about using mobile phones (talking on them, not texting) while driving?.........Is it driving one handed?...........Or not concentrating on the road?
Follow Up By: Member - Kris E - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 16:27
Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 16:27
Not concentrating on the road is the worst part.
| Kris
Never forget: cars have owners, Defenders have field service personnel. The other car is my crumple zone.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 17:41
Saturday, Oct 27, 2012 at 17:41
So what difference does a hands free make? And how come your allowed to talk to passengers?
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 00:06
Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 00:06
Research suggests hands-free is almost as bad. Some discussion
HERE
Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 15:12
Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 at 15:12
All of this is good stuff, but what amuses me (NOT!!) is how you're supposed to know it by osmosis or something. As far as I can tell there has been no real effort to educate the public about the changes. I get daily newspapers, watch TV news and a bit of commercial TV. I do not recall any ads, promotions, public service announcements etc. Maybe just a once-off snippett on tabloid TV but no concerted effort to tell us all about it - more than once just in case we missed it the first time.
And when you get nabbed they say "Ignorance of the law is no excuse".
But it is a nice revenue-raiser.