Stienbouer chips.. Do they over fuel?

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:28
ThreadID: 98833 Views:13884 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
Hello, I just purchased at stienbouger chip for my 2006. TD 100 series. The guys selling them said they are great no over fuel and last a million klm.

The chip does make a unbelievable sufferance. But at what cost? I know it plugs into the spill valve solenoid to control fuel. My mates tell me who are mechanics that I am washing the oil of the bore with the extra fuel, so shorten engine life.

How many klm have people done with the chip or chips? Thinking if doing exhaust and remove chip. Stienbouer say the exhaust is not needed. As exhaust gives 8% gain. Where chip gives 20%.

At the end of the day I have moved up from a 1hz to this. The chip is not really needed.

Thank you

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:50

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:50
Mick,
there was a thread recently (and I can't remember where) about a fella with a D-max that had one fitted by the Isuzu dealer while the vehicle was under warranty,

One of the pistons had melted and Isuzu said no warranty. Fella said but your dealer fitted it. Isuzu came back and said yes you will have to take it up with them as we only warrant our product as we supplied it.

When the engine was inspected there was signs that the bores were being washed.

Mick I reckon that if you ring more horsepower out of an engine at some stage you or the next owner will pay for it. My thoughts only.

RA.

AnswerID: 497827

Follow Up By: mick78 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:57

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:57
Thanks mate, I must of missed that topic. Another story to add to the negative side. What brand chip? I know some are worse than others and give any chip a bad name.

Tha k you
FollowupID: 773689

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:05

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:05
If only one piston melted and had signs of extreme heat I would say one of the injectors was leaking, if it was the chip that caused it you would expect to see all pistons showing signs of heat stess.

Too many people jump to the first conclusion especially vehicle manufactures.
FollowupID: 773692

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 09:10

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 09:10
Mick it was a steinbauer chip and I can't remember what forum it was on.

Olcoolone I have come to no conclusions but I have printed what I read.
The first thing the manufacturer will say is the chip has placed extra strain on the injector and that is why it failed. Then they are going to say, we did not design the engine to be modified.
There is also the fact that he bores showered signs of being washed and the end result was no warranty be the vehicle manufacturer. If he gets it repaired by either the dealer or steinbauer then good on him. Now there are 3 in the equation so I wish him luck.

About 6 months ago my sons boss who develops and markets chips Australia and worldwide pushed his TD 100 landcruiser a tad to far on his dyno when doing R&D. End result a total engine rebuild. Guess that shortened it's life. The sons BT 50 was used for R&D and goes like the clappers. I said to him it will only do that for so long if you use that power.

No one will no if it will fail in the future as he sold it yesterday.

If someone chips a vehicle it doesn't worry me but the harsh realities are as above.

RA.
FollowupID: 773700

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 09:21

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 09:21
Mick I found that thread so you can read for yourself.

Thread id. 98058

RA.
FollowupID: 773701

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 16:38

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 16:38
Funny you mention about vehicle manufacturers..... Toyota Europe through their TRD division sell a plug and play chip for the D4D that gives about 20% power increase and 35% torque increase and it's still warranted.

Modern diesel engine are not that highly strung when considering a 2lt european turbo diesel can put out more than the 2.5lt and up Jap diesels.

Like most things in life there are safe limits and not so safe limits.... you have to remember these power increaser are only in use for very short times.... if you had a chip fitted and you drove all the time at 100% load then reliability may be an issue.... the same goes for non chipped engines, if you had two identical diesel engine and one was driven normally and the other driven flat chat under full load all the time would the both be as reliable as each other... no.
FollowupID: 773810

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:53

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 07:53
I have wanted to buy a chip for my 200 but keep seeing posts similar to what you refer to, albeit with a different engine. Lots of black smoke, trouble lights. While the Steinbouer seems to be one of the better ones, there always seems to be some issues with some users. Others of course are happy but maybe they haven't seen an issue yet... I have never been able to pin it down.

So, after years of analysing it to death I have decided an exhaust will be better and I have never seen anything other than positive reports about their effect on the engine. Obviously the performance increase is about half of a chip though. Maybe there is the clue right there.

AnswerID: 497828

Follow Up By: mick78 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:04

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:04
Hello,

I hear ya about ya clue. That has been my thoughts all the time. I had a gq patrol td42. Put extractors ant straight through muffler. A little power gain and no dramas for 425000. Whilst mates with turbos had dramas. Turbo overhaul. Overheating etc.

Japan cars are always restrictive exhaust. A 3 inch pipe will let her breath with out any compromise on engine reliability. Most people I read with chips are lease cars and turn them over. Guys who sell the chips update cars also. So never a drama for them.

Thank you
FollowupID: 773691

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:37

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 22:37
We have just had a 3" dump pipe and upgraded Turbo put on our GU 4.2, it has made such a difference to the vehicle, we towed the van up North a few weeks back and it took the hills with ease as before we were struggling snail pace getting up them. Glad we finally took the plunge.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 773757

Reply By: olcoolone - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:00

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:00
Yes chips will over fuel at some point but not really a concern.

Your mates who are mechanics may be living in the dark ages.... washing oil of bores is from over fueling is a bit of a urban myth, any oil left in the bore above the oil ring will be washed or burnt of anyway in any engine.....if oil was left in the bore above the oil ring then the oil ring is worn and may lead to glazed bores.

A chip will give you way more bang for you bucks over an exhaust only, chips change the driving characteristics noticeably throughout the rev range.

Chips in most cases don't make an engine any less reliable, for starters manufacturers will not make an engine that is that close to it's reliability limits and secondly you may only use the maximum total power gain for less than 1% of your driving.... if the engine was under 100% load day in and day out then yes it may shorten your engine life but not by as much as you think.

Like anything to do with performance, maintenance has to be 100%.

Most linehaul B doubles will run maximum engine load around the 50-60% of the time, triple road trains around around 75%.

There are a lot of people who will may say different, sure..... show me the REAL data to back your claim and I'll believe you and don't use the old excuse the more power you have the shorter the engine life....

Your last sentence is a classic... if you don't need/want more power why didn't you buy a 2006 non turbo 100 series, you could of saved heaps of money.
AnswerID: 497829

Follow Up By: mick78 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:18

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:18
Ha ha you crack me up with the last paragraph. You must of miss understood me or I did not explain it correctly. The 100 turbo is better than the 1hz. The power gain is amazing without a chip. With a chip it is even better. No need to save money and buy a non turbo. Bought this at a good price and love it. I mentioned people always want more power.. How many guys have a 200 twin turbo and fit chips and exhaust? From factory they are a beast!

As for dark age mechanics... Nah, past experience from where they work. This is there point of view on the topic. Hence why i have put it on here to hear others point of view. They have seen it before with chips fitted in new cars. As per the d max story.

My question on this topic is the stienbouer is regarded as the better chip. How many klm have people done with it fitted?

Thank you
FollowupID: 773694

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 13:51

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 13:51
Washed bores can be picked up by an oil sample.
FollowupID: 773719

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 16:23

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 16:23
The amount of diesel required to was the bores of all oil would be quite a bit...... you would notice as every thing in you view behind you would be black.

The other thing is the oil in the engine would become diluted and instead of having 7lts in your sump you would have 9lts.

Oil samples would show ring material in the oil as it would show unburnt diesel as well.

Modern electronically controlled engines are good at metering fuel delivery...... look at the older diesel engines fitted with aftermarket turbos..... heaps of them out there with the pumps wound up over fueling when not on boost or low boost....... unless you have a boost compensator fitted.
FollowupID: 773807

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 18:40

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 18:40
Olcoolone,
Yep everything you said is correct but I wasn't there so if Isuzu said there were signs of over fueling then you have to go with what they have said or get an independent lab to say otherwise.

I have followed quite a number of crd vehicles that been covering my old clunker with soot. Late model Navara the other day had a James Bond smoke screen behind him every time he gave it a bit.

As you said modern diesels do deliver fuel very well and that is why the extended oil change period so if the metering is played with on a plug and drive system you may have problems.

Many people get in vehicles with chips or no chips fitted and don't know what they are actually doing to the engine regarding load, revs and heat.

Some would freak if they saw the temps of their gearbox, diffs and engine internals.

If the manufacturer approves a chip I would have no problem fitting one but went something goes wrong and they haven't, I know who is going to pay the piper.

RA.
FollowupID: 773827

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:06

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:06
I have 160k on my Hilux D4D, 80k of that with a chip. My mechanic has 300k on his Rodeo, 200k of it with a chip. Both vehicles well maintained with oil changes evey 5k and no problems or issues
AnswerID: 497830

Follow Up By: Hunter Gatherer - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 11:12

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 11:12
What brand of chip?
FollowupID: 773711

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 13:38

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 13:38
I have the Chipit chip on the Hilux, not 100% sure but I think my mechanic has the DP chip

The vehicles are driven like diesel 4WD 's not race cars, which I think is an important thing to remember as well
FollowupID: 773717

Reply By: Racey - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:54

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 08:54
I had a Steinbauer fitted to a Ssangyong Rexton and had no issues with it. The SB units don't increase fuel rail pressure like some chips. They operate by altering the timing of the injection. What I liked it, it was (is) the only unit on the market which monitored the throttle position and it has a time limit on Max power to. Sure, if you crank the adjustment to max then you can get black smoke on acceleration and heavy load. There was a comparison test and write up in 4X4 magazine about 4 years ago and whilst the SB didn't give the greatest increase, it did get the nod for the best overall performer.

A friend of mine had one fitted to a Prado. He thought the power wasn't coming on down low enough; spoke to the SB guys at one of the Melbourne caravan shows and the drag the laptop into the carpark and readjusted the setting - bingo one very happy customer.

Racey
AnswerID: 497833

Reply By: quincy - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 09:51

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 09:51
hi mick , have a stienbouger fitted to my jeep commander (crd meredes motor) and is impressed that much that i will be fitting one to my new grand jeep when i recieve it next month. maybe some of the threads that bag it out, maybe the motors arent ready for extra power. ??
i tow a 3 tonne van and it goes everywhere and these nothing better when u need it the power is sitting there ready for you especially when you get into the sand dunes.
i have now done 70,000 km and i did not change my exhaust and dont need too.
tah chris
AnswerID: 497837

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 10:52

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 10:52
Mick,

"an unbelievable sufference"??? I thought that was actually the missus when she found out you'd bought it lol ;-)

I have written up the results on my 79 series ute after fitting a chip and adding a 3" exhaust 18 months ago, and they are outstanding. Having said that I did not opt for a straight "plug and play" fuel rail or fuel pulse type chip of which the steinbauer is one. Rather mine is integtrated into the fuel and tuning system of the vehicle and they spend a good amount of time on the dyno getting the settings right to ensure that you don't melt a hole through the piston of your valuable investement.

To my mind, the simple equation is this. Chip = more fuel. More fuel means greater heat in the motor and greater amount of exhaust gasses to be evacuated. If you go for a chip, you would also benefit from fitting a larger exhaust to assist in removing gas buildup. Having run the chip in my previous 3Lt/D Patrol, I would also consider fitting an EGT gauge at the same time. I'm pretty sure a lot of people don't realise just how much extra heat can be generated in the engine durng times of peak load and particularly when towing. It doesn't take long in the death zone to slag out the top of a piston!

The write up and power/torque increases achieved are near the bottom of the blog page below;

Creating the dream offroader

AnswerID: 497838

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 10:57

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 10:57
P.S. There was a great write-up and then comparo of the various performance chips on the market and their results in the 4X4 Action Mag about 20 months or so back. The Steinbauer was one of the chips tested and was named the best performer narrowly over the Rapid chip I believe. I'll go back into the archives and see if I can identify the issue number.

FollowupID: 773709

Follow Up By: mick78 - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 12:18

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 12:18
Ha ha thanks mate. I phone strikes again. I guess you know it was suppose to be unbelievable difference.
FollowupID: 773713

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 12:23

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 12:23
Yes I suffer from the "all thumbs" disease myself when it comes to mobile devices.

FollowupID: 773714

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 13:48

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 13:48
Mick O,

The test is in the Essential 4WD Handbook No.4 by 4wd monthly.

Chips tested are Tunit, More power, Roo systems, stienbauer, Rapid and Xede.

Stienbauer - Best overall. Roo systems - Most torque. Rapid - Most power and best drivability. Xede - Best fuel economy.

RA.
FollowupID: 773718

Reply By: Member - Minty (SA) - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 11:08

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 11:08
I have heard good stories about the Stienbauer module, However, I have run the cheaper (<$150 fleaBay variety) on several vehicles and had no problems. The trick is to go for a modest output increase with these...no overheating, seat of pants improvement in performance especially acceleration ad turbo lag, not rocket like but very adequate, smoother running and better fuel use. (about 1k/l per Scanguage)
If you want a rocket ship; buy one...or a good exhaust and chip combo.
AnswerID: 497839

Reply By: Ross M - Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 16:55

Saturday, Nov 03, 2012 at 16:55
G'day mick78
Is it a Stienbouer, or a stienbouger chip ? or Steinbauer chip? I'm a bit confused as to what you have as both are stated on your first few lines.
As far as I know Steinbauer chips do not raise/modify fuel pressure and are not connected to or control the rail pressure at any time. They say it doesn't?

Many people have a Steinbauer ( written on the box) chip and apart from a few having small troubles it seems like yours wasn't matched to the engine in the first place.
Generally chips which don't raise fuel rail pressure don't cause too many problems.
If you hold a door open longer or earlier it doesn't stress the door too much. injectors the same. If you have someone pudhing hard on the door before opening then it's a different story, ie higher pressures = shorter life. If it does 100,000km with a higher rail pressure chip before failure. it probably would do 200,000km with normal situation. So life is shorter despite what some argue.

Of course you can be overfuelling with too much quantity, when this is happening it immediately turns to smoke and should be rectified.

Can't see how it can be washing cylinder bores if burning correctly and not overfuelling.
You can't believe more than 10% of mechanics anyway, but which ones are they?

Generally most CRD engines benefit from a larger free flowing exhaust and it is the basis for any further mods. If it is then chipped the full benefit from the chip can be realized. Without the exhaust any mod can't really begin to show full benefit.
You can always eat more, but unless you can poop faster it isn't going to be of any great benefit and a feeling of uneasiness will most likely be felt. Engines have feelings too.

Read posts through and discard the irrelevant stuff.

AnswerID: 497850

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:40

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 00:40
"You can always eat more, but unless you can poop faster it isn't going to be of any great benefit and a feeling of uneasiness will most likely be felt. Engines have feelings too"

Now thats a very good line, must remember that one :))

FollowupID: 773765

Reply By: Member - Rowdy6032 (WA) - Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 13:59

Sunday, Nov 04, 2012 at 13:59

I had the Steinbauer chip and Taipan exhaust put in my 2007 Prado diesel in 2010.

Prior to the purchase I spoke with the Steinbauer rep who advised that the chip does not work when in cruise control.

On several trips between Perth and Kalgoorlie since we noticed a decrease in fuel consumption with and without the van. During those trips the majority of the trip was using cruise control so I put the decrease in fuel consumption down to the exhaust.

I normally turn the cruise control off when going over a group of small hills when I get some surging or on the larger hills when the chip can assist.

We have had no problems to date and a very happy with our setup.

Rowdy
AnswerID: 497898