Oil recommendations V8 Landcruisers

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 14:10
ThreadID: 99011 Views:86411 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
Just wondering what oil others are using in their V8 diesels. Mine is the VDJ78R. Any brand seem better than others?, and no mine doesnt use oil, am now at 90000k's, and time to start self servicing.

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 16:15

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 16:15
Not sure about specific brands Craig. However full synthetic seems to be the go.
AnswerID: 498515

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 16:29

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 16:29
I use castrol edge titanium 5w-30 full synthetic.my vdj79r ute now shows 110,000km

dealer used to use castrol professionalbut i dont know which one specifically
had a service in WA while tripping in august abd they used penrite 5-40
iI think it was a semi synthetic

truck didnt like it and tappets particularly noisey with .ithis oil

i will stickwith castrol edge although at $120 plus each service its not cheap

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 498517

Reply By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 17:55

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 17:55
Firstly start by looking at the specification required in the owners manual....there will be oil spec codes.

You are looking for an oil that meets or exceeds those oil spec codes.....forget the anything else written on the bottle or in the advertising, the oil specification is what matters.

People can argue what is meant by synthectic.....truth is it is very hard to meet the current top specs with out synthetic components

Then go and look at the three to shelf diesel spec oils
Mobil Devlac, Caltex Dello and Shell rimular......these are the top spec oils commonly available in their class.........varified by independent testing and are used in huge volume in the heavy transport industry........they are all mixed fleet, multispec oils, they are intended to work well in both diesel and petrol vehicles.

Pick a brand......they are all good oils and there is very little to seperate them in performance...all 3 are marketed world wide and guaranteed to meet spec.

Then select the particular oil required....they all have slightly different grades to meet specific spec...the upper spec oils meet the lower specs.

so if we talk Caltex Dello

The Dello 400 multigrade 15w40 is a JASO DH1 specfied oil and is right for all but the latest diesels and the very latest funky petrol engines. This is what I use in everything I own, from my diesel hilux to my ride on mower.
It meets spec on many of the newer engines but the Dello LE 15W40 or 10W40, is a JASO DH2 spc oil and better designed better designed for moddern common rail diesels and with diesel particulate filters

The situation is similar in the other brands.

Why run these oils.......because they are heavy duty oils designed and marketed to the heavy transport industry and they are very good oils.

AND they can be baught a hell of a lot chepaer than retail oils that are often inferiour.

none of the 3 are marketed on the basis that they are synthetic.....but they all contain synthetic components, they are marketed on performance to people who have very large sums invested in their engines and do a hell of a lot of Km

AND...they are a hell of a lot cheaper if you buy them in the right place..all of them can be had for arround $100 for 20 liter drum, if you buy in the right place....often a great deal less..simply because they are consumed in such huge volume...AND there is no retail BS involved.

I pay arround $85 for a 20l of dello multigrade, from a caltex fuel depot that mostly only deals with trucks.., stepping up a grade may cost you arround $5 or $10 a drum.

While I am at it...buy ya filters at a diesel spares shop...you will pay less for a better filter.

One of the biggest revalations in my automotive life was changing from overpriced retail oils to top quality diesel spec oils

AnswerID: 498524

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 19:41
the bantam,
unfortunately the delo400 multigrade at either 15w40 or 10w40 does not meet toyota spec of 5w30 viscosity range.

i wish i was back buying RX super in 20 litre drums like 20 years ago but thats the difference between a 2H clunker and and a VDJ79 common rail motor which unfortunately is a "later diesel."

there is a lot of discussion on this on LCOOL site.

Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 774498

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 20:48

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 20:48
Is that a single oil spec of have you looked at the little diagram in the front of your toyota manual......generally there will be a selection of oils for a range of situations.

BTW while RX super is a respectable oil it does not spec up anywhere near the Dello LE or the paralell products from the other two.

and Delo multigrade and Dello LE are different oils.

Any body got the little oil spec diagrame from the front of their manual

there should be an oil spec rosette and a temperature application graph.

FollowupID: 774505

Follow Up By: craigandej - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 10:52

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 10:52
To quote the manual......
"If you use SAE 10W-30 or a higher viscosity engine oil in extremely low temperatures, the engine may become difficult to start, so SAE 5W-30 engine oil is recommended."

This hardly seems relevant to Oz unless in the snowys on a bad day with the mother in law along.

FollowupID: 774536

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 11:43

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 11:43
So often we see oil recommendations bassed on temperatures below freezing....Um not a problem for most of us.

remember 5W30 is only a single viscosity point from 10W40 in each part of the specification.

The other question is..is this oils spec for the benifit of the engine or required to meet some environmental requirement..for example

the 5W may allow the engine to make less emmissions when cold.

BTW...what are the oil spec codes.
is there an API or JASO oil spec code.

So many people get preoccupied with viscosity and fail to look for the spec codes.

In retail, a lost of the discussion is on viscosity, the commercial oils there is mor discussion surrounding other performance factors and compliance to the specs.

After all there may be little of no difference in viscosity between two oils seperated by a single viscosity point

FollowupID: 774537

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 18:28

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 18:28
Any leading brand that meets your Landcruiser specs will be fine...... and you wont know the difference.... if you went for the expensive full synthetic you would notice a difference.... you would have less money to spend on other gear.

Oils are fast becoming like tyres, fridges, driving lights and vehicle make.... every one says their choice is the best.
AnswerID: 498529

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 19:49

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 19:49
Like Howard says,
The manual tells you to use 5W30 oil (although other viscosities can be used). Needs to be CF or above.
The benefit of the 5W30 is that your fuel consumption will be better (less drag) and these thinner oils gets around the motor quicker on startup. What you spend on oil, will be saved on fuel, so don't baulk at the the cost of 5W30 oil.

What the dealers use is irrelevant - they like to use a common oil that they get cheap in 200L drums and sell at a premium price and suits many vehicles.
AnswerID: 498535

Follow Up By: Life Member Dick B - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 20:56

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 20:56
Hi Phil

Now you really have gone soft, what oils do you plan on using in the new 200? Are you planning to take it to remote area's? What mods are in the plan?

Dick

FollowupID: 774506

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 21:51
Gday Dick,
Yep, going soft - I feel like a disappointment to the whole Exploroz community! But heck I'll have a new toy to play with!

Oils: Its a small dilemma because the Toyota fixed price servicing is a bargain at $210 per service for the first 3 years. Having done my own servicing since I got my licence in 1974, I'm guessing I might supply the oil and ask them to pour it in. Probably use the Castrol 5W30, same as Howard, as it's Castrol's recommended oil. I'd like to stay sqeaky clean on the warranty - injectors and oil consumption can be an issue as we all know.

Yep, the 200 will be for remote travel too. Probably the usual 2-3 desert trips per year and throw in the odd high country and flinders ranges trips plus we need to revisit the whole of the top end of Australia over the next few years.

I don't want to add too much metalwork (dead weight) to the thing because it's heavy enough already... so planning a set of 17" Toyota wheels and 285/70R17 Bridgestone tyres, I'll weld up a custom platform roofrack that slides in between the two roofrails with a low profile, maybe a single Kaymar alloy rear wheel carrier (can add the HF radio and a few extras to that, and a slide in storage system that retains the 3rd row of seats. Since we tow the Tvan a bit now, there is less need for the vehicle to be loaded to the hilt, so I'll try not to weigh the vehicle down. And I want to keep all the seats in for family stuff.

I'll stick with the standard fuel tanks because aftermarket tanks bugger up the gauges on the 200series and go back to jerries because they are nice and light; for water I'll use the Tvan storage and one or two jerries in the vehicle. A lot of gadgets are already in the 200series, so stuff like reversing cameras, navigation and stereo are already there. For offroad mapping I have an Android Tablet with built-in GPS, so might get Ozi to run on that and find a place to sit it. Should keep me occupied a bit!

I'll keep the standard batteries while it's under warranty and just incorporate a 130Ah AGM and my Ctek D250S into the storage system.

phil
FollowupID: 774513

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 21:56

Wednesday, Nov 14, 2012 at 21:56
Dick,
Just noticed your HDJ78 is for sale too. Amazing list of stuff on yours - will be an absolute bargain for someone - your asking price looks very reasonable. What's next for you?

FollowupID: 774514

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 00:16

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 00:16
Whats with both you blokes selling the best trucks avaliable :(
Bit sad, seeing them go I bet.

FollowupID: 774518

Follow Up By: Life Member Dick B - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 01:36

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 01:36
Gday Phil

I don't think there will be a replacement for the Troopy as I live in SE Asia and only visit Oz in the winter months to do a trip. The rest of the year the Troopy sits in my son's yard in Newcastle. I will be 79 in January so getting a bit beyond remote area travel.

Hope you enjoy the new 200.

Gday John

Yes very sad indeed.

Dick

FollowupID: 774521

Reply By: Member - Markthemilko - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 00:16

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 00:16
Hi Craig,
I have a 2007 VDJ79 V8 and use Castrol Magnatec Diesel 15w-40. This is what was in it, when we bought it s/hand from a Toyota dealer. I buy it in a 10lt drum for $108 (Aug 12). I do all my own servicing.

Happy travelling!

Happy 4WDriving

VKS 737 mobile 0401

AnswerID: 498551

Reply By: Racey - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 08:59

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 08:59
This has been a hot topic on the landcruiser Owners forum.200 series oil .

The Castrol website lists Castrol EDGE 5W-30 A3/B4. Note there are 2 types of EDGE. Only the A3/B4 is recommended.
AnswerID: 498559

Reply By: SuperGrover - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 10:17

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 10:17
My 200 has been serviced by Toyota under the Toyota advantage servicing and they have indicated on the invoice that they use Shell Helix HX5 15W/40 x 9 litres. I have had no noise or oil issues with mine but have only completed 50 000km over 3 years.
AnswerID: 498561

Reply By: craigandej - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 10:49

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 10:49
I cant upload the table, but 20w-50 or 15w-40 would seem more suitable giving that 15w-40 shows temps down to -12 or so. OK so who uses thin oil and who uses the thicker stuff ?(in non tech terms). Think I may have opened a can of worms here!!!

AnswerID: 498564

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 11:41

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 11:41
If you read the manual, then why whould anyone not use 5W30???
Here is page 564 from the 200series manual:
AnswerID: 498566

Follow Up By: Charlie B2 - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:04

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 13:04
Hi Phil,

I think you may have answered your own question with that copy - the last couple of lines probably say it all ! I'd suggest that most touring vehicles may be under "extreme load conditions". :-)

Now, if we could only get hold of a great 0W - 60 with the right specs for less than $5 a litre, I reckon we'd have the whole thing sorted! :-)

Charlie
FollowupID: 774546

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:47

Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 14:47
Gday Charlie,

Depends on what we call "extreme".
If a 200series was pulling a 3.5T van at 110kph in the north of Australia, then maybe you'd want 40 weight oil.
But 99% of these motors are underworked and the 5W30 is recommended.
FollowupID: 774563