Sun Protection Clothing

Submitted: Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 16:41
ThreadID: 99586 Views:4056 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Due to walking 4-5 hours in the sun every second day or so (training) I have developed a sun/sunblock/heat/sweat reaction that is covering my body with nasty red welts/rashes - legs, arms, chest, face. I have used my Australian made sunblock for 4 years and so not sure why I am suddenly developing a reaction to it. One thing I know has changed, is that these walks are long, in 26 to 41 degree C heat and there is a lot of sweat. But the rash is only occurring in places where I put sun cream and where I have been exposed to excessive sun over a life time.

So, the question is: I may have to cover up completely in cloth should I be unable to continue using sun cream. I know the Aussies have some pretty good UV protection clothes, but I don't know any brand names. I need the cloth to be a natural material preferably as my body reacts to man made fibres used in many sports wick-away clothes, particularly nylon. Any pointers?

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 16:59

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 16:59
I saw a program on TV a few weeks ago that many more people are dying from Melenoma who are using sun screen than people who have a little less exposure to the sun and do not use sunscreens. Apparently there is plenty of information on the net to comfirm this! Best thing according to the program is to cover up more and drop the sunscreen. Do a search on this subject to get the facts. I note the Cancer Council is still pushing the Sunscreen angle on paid adds on TV. Michael

AnswerID: 500818

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 17:33

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 17:33
OPPpps Melanoma i mean (spelling)!! I should watch what I type! Michael

FollowupID: 776861

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 17:54

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 17:54
If I remember correctly, close weave cotton come up pretty good in the sun protection stakes.

There's a bit of reading here:

UV Protection of fabrics
AnswerID: 500820

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 08:23

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 08:23
Thanks Notso. There is a lot of info in this PDF. Educating my self slowly through it. Thank you.
FollowupID: 776894

Reply By: Bazooka - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:19

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:19
Columbia makes some good looking and practical cotton outdoor shirts for men and women Gaynor. They have something called omni-shade in some models but I don't know how much UV it blocks. You can find a few Columbia items in outdoor shops but there are more options and lower prices to be found on Amazon, and sometimes Graysonline or Ebay.

Columbia omin-shade women

Amazon
AnswerID: 500822

Follow Up By: Member - Terra'Mer - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:42

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 22:42
Yes, Columbia have a great sun protection range of shirts, trousers, hats. Not sure if they're in SA but you can try ordering through the distribution contact via the main website. Not sure who it is. I use the distributers in Australia.

Here's the ink to their technologies page Columbia fabric technologies

Another good brand who make very comfortable and durable sun smart clothing is Exofficio who also use a bitey bug proof fabric.

Have you checked if you are having a chemical reaction between your body wash, fabric detergent and the sunblock?

Try walking the same distances without the heat and see if it does the same. I get rashes and welts inside my socks from heat.

I have tried many different types of sunscreen. 95% of them have a really bad smell I can't tolerate. I tried vegan animal friendly ones but they smelt the worst and were not very sweat resistant. Now I use face and moisturising Nivea sunscreen. It is a bit more expensive but I don't use much of it to cover exposed skin and only need to apply it 2 or 3 times a day.

(I have been meaning to get back to you about other stuff but life is very hectic with barely enough time to scratch my bum. I'll chat in more depth about walking after silly season)
Have you seen my marbles?

FollowupID: 776886

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 03:45

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 03:45
Hi Bazooka

Columbia is in South Africa. I will visit their stores this weekend and see what they are importing. They have a good name but their fabrics are synthetic. I personally think I am going to have to go natural. I used to be sponsored by a top South African sports wear brand and although I loved the majority of their products, I could not wear the shirts due to a reaction to the nylon.

Some good news today.

Learned that the New Zealand brand Icebreaker has just landed on our shores and will be on the shelves in the New Year. This is good news for me. I literally bought a shirt off a fireman from NZ who was at a paragliding competition in Australia. He said that he cannot wear synthetics as they are quick to burn ( bad in his line of work) and when traveling to paragliding competitions he only takes two shirts for the week because of weight restrictions. He swore that he could wear a single Merino wool shirt for a whole week before needing to wash it. Yeah right. Dirty bugger, I thought. Then I smelled him and touched the fabric I could not believe the product was wool (and my nostrils not offended). The material was smooth and finely spun like fine silk. So thin and light and comfortable to wear. I had to put it to the test. On my first CSR trip I wore the shirt for 4 days straight and did not smell or look like something nasty. And I am sensitive to odors. The Icebreaker website does not say anything about UV protection (that I can see), but I am hoping.... This product really impressed me.

Chat in the New Year Terra :-) No rush.

Regarding the reaction. I am doing elimination tests now. It did start with my socks walking in a heat wave. This is not good news. Heat on the CSR is a given. I will find a solution even if I have to wear a long sleeved dress as suggested!!! Nobody laughs at the Bedouins. A girl walking in the middle of a desert looks a little bit odd already so I shan't worry about been taken seriously. It is a lost cause :-)

Just as well all of these things are coming up in training.
FollowupID: 776890

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 17:49

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 17:49
Gaynor - don't know where the company is located but my Columbia shirts were made in India and are all cotton apart from some synthetic mesh 'breezways' on a couple I bought. Have another look at the range I'm sure you'll find all cotton for women as well. Most of the protective and/or quick dry/moisture wicking clothes in Oz are synthetic. Okay in some conditions but unfortunate if like many people you are allergic or your body reacts by producing smelly sweat. Good hunting and let us know if you find something different.
FollowupID: 776925

Reply By: Member - John G - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:26

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 18:26
G'day Gaynor

There are likely to be many variables to consider, and I reckon consulting a skin/skin cancer specialist would have to be the first step.

For what it's worth.

AnswerID: 500823

Follow Up By: Skippype - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 22:06

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 22:06
Gaynor
Of all the well meaning replies posted here Johns' is by far the most sensible. As someone below stated it could be one of many things and not nessecarily the sun screen. You need to consult an expert and the skin cancer specialist is the only sensible way to go.
All the best.
Skip
FollowupID: 776940

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:23

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:23
I often spend many hours in the sun working......since I went to wearing long sleves and long trousers I have not been burnt except on the face or the back of the hands, in spite of being a strict hat wearer.

Facial sunblock is unavoidable....but remember many womens moisturisers and foundations have high SPF factors.

The secret to living with long sleves and long trousers is light cotton......forget the high priced synthetics, they don't breath like cotton and you will stink in short order........no problem with sun block capacity.

Many government and private employers now require outdoor workers to wear long trousers, long sleves and hats.

The biggest practical hat you will buy is an Acubra Sunbraro......lots of people wear them bashed to look different ( Les Hiddens among)....the next biggest is the Teritory...very popular with cow cockies in the north.

My wife is a serious walker and see gets heat rashes arround the sock line.......yes it is all about circulation,heat, ventlation and airflow.

AnswerID: 500835

Follow Up By: SDG - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 13:48

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 13:48
Work wear often require long sleeves as stated.
My kids go to school which have the no hat no play rule. They sit in an airconditioned room most of the day, so they wear long sleeves/pants, as it's cool. Been known to walk into the room with my bike jacket and glad i've got it on as it's cold.
The teachers will have them changed during the day into shorts, and short sleeve shirt, with a note being sent to me saying it is to hot for long items.
With a hands off policy in the schools, the teachers are not allowed to apply sunscreen either. (Handicap kids)

The teachers look at me stupid when I ask why the kids have burnt arms and legs.
FollowupID: 776913

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 16:52

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 16:52
Unfortunately there is a misconcieved mindset that less clothing is cooller.

yes there are situations where short trousers and short sleves is cooler......but not in the full sun, especialy where there is the slightest breeze.

things to avoid are any sort of synthetics, knitted fabrics like T shirts and dark colours.

Long sleves and especailly long trousers protect you from all sort of scrapes and minor puncture wounds.

In addition to common sense, the best protection against venomous snakes is long trousers and boots.

FollowupID: 776918

Reply By: Searay - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:50

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 21:50
Gaynor, perhaps you are getting the prickly heat rash a lot of people spending time in the sun here in the NT get it when sweating and clothing is rubbing, good luck
AnswerID: 500840

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 08:22

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 08:22
I do think I am. But it is even on places that initially had no clothing like my face and legs above the socks and below my shorts. It is certainly related to heat. I am now next to the sea in Cape Town where it is a lot cooler and the rash is less angry and slowly subsiding. What do Northern Territory people do for prickly heat rash?
FollowupID: 776893

Follow Up By: Searay - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 09:09

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 09:09
Hi again i get it on my arms and legs or sometimes on the back of my neck again these areas are usually not covered by clothing but if we start to get it there is heaps on google but usually but a powder called curash ior lanacane put it on for a few nights and it usually goes away
FollowupID: 776895

Reply By: Member - Terra'Mer - Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 23:00

Friday, Dec 21, 2012 at 23:00
Another thought, have you looked at cotton drill workwear like King Gee cotton drill

For previous long distance walks I have used cotton fishermans pants teh pants and they worked well. Unfortunately I'm a bit bigger and they chafe too quickly so I'm using synthetic fibre pants now.

I did one walk wearing a full length home made cobalt blue Indian cotton kaftan with a light white cotton cheese clothe scarf and woolen tights :) Only needed to put sunscreen on my face and hands. It was the most practical clothing I have ever worn walking. I wore it in +40 degrees celcius and it's insulation worked so well I wouldn't have believed unless I was wearing it. The only reason I won't wear it this time is because I wouldn't be taken seriously, most people have no idea how effective a kaftan is in dry heat.
Have you seen my marbles?

AnswerID: 500848

Reply By: olcoolone - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 10:23

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 10:23
We use Bisley Workwear at work and they are all +50 sun protection, as said above most work wear will have a high sun protection rating.
AnswerID: 500861

Reply By: seejay - Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 17:30

Saturday, Dec 22, 2012 at 17:30
Try this website.http://www.sun2seauvprotection.com.au/index.htm I have purchased these shirts for my husband to play golf in (he has had melanomas removed) and also for myself for walking etc. They are brilliant with 50+ UVP.
AnswerID: 500873

Reply By: sarah s2 - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 01:51

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 01:51
I use clothes from a Canadian company called Sunveil Although it's not made with a natural fibre, it does work wonders to stop the rash I get when exposed to the sun. And even though it is polyester, it has a really loose weave, so the breeze does get through.
AnswerID: 502662

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 07:38

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 07:38
Try a Fishing Store, they will have all sorts of sun protective clothing often at a more reasonable price.
AnswerID: 502667