Snorkle Pre cleaners

Submitted: Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:35
ThreadID: 9981 Views:1493 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
Have just had a snorkle fitted to my Pajero NM TDI . What is the best Pre cleaner to fit on top .
1 A Donaldson centrifigul cleaner
2 An oiled foam rubber sock
Many thanks in advance Stan

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:44

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:44
With Turbos, the socks are not recommended, Go with a Ram Head, your car is turbo, and needs Air....

I had a Donaldson on my Turbo GQ, hated it....

here we go with more debate on this..
AnswerID: 44150

Follow Up By: Rowler - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 23:04

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 23:04
Hi Truckster, I have a 4.2td gu patrol with a uni filter fitted, should I worry about the air flow thingy getting stuffed?

Cheers Rowler (dave)
FollowupID: 306399

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 23:12

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 23:12
Well the more i read, and people I talk to about these $1000+ air flow sensors, I wouldnt do anything to worry them. 1 piece of wire that is so critical, if it gets covered in bleep , your car is fubar..

Personally, I'd run the stocky (I do in the GQ), they arent that expensive... I actually have either Uni or Finer Filter in the shed, tried it once out Woods Point, didnt like it...

Fair enough only tried it once. Got a night run on soon, may try it then...
FollowupID: 306403

Follow Up By: Geoff - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 08:00

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 08:00
Do the 4.2td GU's have an air flow thingy??????????
News to me if they do...........

FollowupID: 306411

Reply By: RayMc - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:45

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:45
Out of interest Stan, is your Pajero the 3.2L or the 2.8L diesel version?
Ray
AnswerID: 44151

Follow Up By: STAN - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:50

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:50
Ray Mine is the 2.8 Stan
FollowupID: 306387

Follow Up By: RayMc - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:01

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:01
Thanks Stan.
Can you let me know the make of the snorkel and your supplier. Also, what pre-filter does the supplier suggest?
Ray
FollowupID: 306389

Follow Up By: STAN - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:17

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:17
Ray It is a safari and was fitted by ARB at Kilsyth. They actually recomended 2 layers of Panty hose on a reversed rams head in dusty conditions. Seems a bit rough to me. Besides I would have to try and get the missus out of them first STAN
FollowupID: 306392

Reply By: Mark - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:52

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 21:52
Watch out using oiled air filters on any vehicle with an air flow sensor. Apparently the oil can affect the air meter, probably by covering it with traces of oil.

AnswerID: 44152

Reply By: Rusty bear - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:07

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:07
Stan i cant tell you which one to choose but maybe you could answer a question for me. Did you have a lot of trouble fitting the snorkel and how much did it cost you ? As I have a 3.5 petrol nm pajero.
AnswerID: 44154

Follow Up By: STAN - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:31

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 22:31
Rusty Bear. ARB fitted it for $95 which included relocating my by pass oil filter The snorkel kit cost $359 all prices + tax . Excellent workmanship STAN
FollowupID: 306394

Reply By: Foss - Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 23:42

Friday, Jan 23, 2004 at 23:42
G'Day Stan

Talk to Donaldson. I spoke to them about fitting a cyclone filter to a 3ltr td patrol and they told me that it wasn't recommended as it restricted the air flow to much.

Foss
AnswerID: 44170

Reply By: Member - Peter- Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 09:02

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 09:02
I've always fitted a Donaldson ram to every vehicle I've had with a snorkle (troopies), makes a noticeable difference over about 80 k's and especially so when you come down a hill into a cool gully, the old diesel loves cool dense air.
I've never had a problem with getting too much rubbish/water down it even in torrential rain at speed, the design of the genuine Donaldson ram separates the water and bleeds it back out the slots at the base of the ram. Mind you I usually lead the outback trips so don't cop the dust as much.
AnswerID: 44187

Reply By: colin - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 13:25

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 13:25
Hi Stan, i have a ram head for bitumen driving and when off road in dusty conditions i fit the donaldson centrifugal head and i run finer filters. The donaldson is not recommended over 80 ks as the swirling motion picks up the dust in the bowl and into the filters. Easy system to keep clean as you can see the dust. Cheapset place to buy one is through a truck accesory place like truck line $20-$30 cheaper than a 4by shop. Col
AnswerID: 44199

Follow Up By: STAN - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 14:29

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 14:29
Hi Colin What size Donaldson are you using . Big or small one. and what forbie is it working on. Thanks Stan
FollowupID: 306432

Reply By: colin - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 15:18

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 15:18
Stan, its a small one, and its on a 92 GQ 4.2 diesal with a super charger. Col
AnswerID: 44207

Follow Up By: Rusty bear - Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 18:12

Saturday, Jan 24, 2004 at 18:12
thanks for the info Stan
FollowupID: 306444

Reply By: howesy - Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 18:28

Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 18:28
Been runniong a donaldson type for a couple a years and honestly can't tell the difference in performance. If they don't breath as well then I'm stuffed if I can tell. All I know is that the amount of bleep that I collect up top that don't even make it to the filter is incredible and it also collects the water better keeping the filter drier in extremely heavy rain.
Personal preference dude, try one for a few weeks and see what yo reckon. I'm sure you could find someone that has one in the shed that they bought and decided they liked the cobra look better.
AnswerID: 44286

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 23:29

Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 23:29
Hey Stan,
I had a Donaldson fitted to my old GQ 4.2 diesel, defiantely felt an increas in performance on the NON turbo engine. Sold the GQ now and removed it incase i wanted to use it on my new purchased GQ 4.2 TD, havent fitted it yet, But will do soon, cant be any worse that what is there now, although the best thing is seeing all that stuff it collects in the bowl. Really does well collecting heaps of rubbish that would have normally stopped at my oval filter.

Reason why i havent fitted it yet is because i thought being a turbo on my new GQ, I was worried it would be too small and was considering getting the bigger diameter one. But after reading the replies, I think ill chuck it on and see how it goes.I love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 44314

Follow Up By: ianmc - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 00:38

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 00:38
Replaced my Triton TD paper element as a new one is about $67 , with a uni filter. Found it goes well with this but the oil sure attracts the dirt & it can clog quickly affecting performance & economy.
Maybe I use too much oil, but I have a second outer sleeve for it & just peel off the dirty one when I need to & clean it at my leisure.
FollowupID: 306542