Address & Contact
94 Adams St
Wentworth NSW 2648
Originally named Hawdon's Ford, it was surveyed in 1858 and named Wentworth
in 1859 after the Australian explorer, journalist and politician William Charles Wentworth
is located at the junction of Australia
's two great rivers - The Murray and The Darling.
Before the Darling River
was opened up, Wentworth
was the hub to which much of the wool clip was brought for shipment to either Echuca
(for transport to Melbourne
) or Morgan
(for transport to Adelaide
Due to the efforts of the early river explorers
in the late 1850's, William Randell (Mary Ann) and Francis Cadell
), the Darling river
was opened-up for trade and Wentworth
became the first river port of the Darling - although its early development can also be attributed to the river trade already being developed along the Murray. By the late 1880's Wentworth
's busiest inland port. In 1895, 485 vessels were recorded as passing through the Customs House (31 in one week alone).
is a large and prosperous township with lots for the traveller to see and experience and is an ideal base to explore some amazing sites in the area.
'Magnificent trees droop like willows to the waters edge with evening's mildest radiance in their foliage, throwing a soft haze over the distance...' Charles Sturt 1844
Text courtesy of Outback NSW Tourism