When someone borrows your vehicle.?

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 16:50
ThreadID: 100206 Views:3715 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
How agitated do you get when someone else is using your vehicle?, B/inlaw took mine to-day and i was like a cat on a hot tin roof!, although he is a very capable 4by driver, i had all sorts of things going through my mind.....If it had been the son in/law

complete panic would have set in lol, as he goes through vehicles at a incredible rate ,hence unless its a emergency he has no hope of getting in it.

Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 16:54

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 16:54
My car loaning problem is presolved, no one borrows it! Except the wife!
AnswerID: 503438

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:01

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:01
Wise Man!...........
FollowupID: 780113

Follow Up By: futch - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:28

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:28
Never lend your guns cars or wife .not necessarily in that order.
FollowupID: 780115

Follow Up By: feathery - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 19:15

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 19:15
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 780132

Follow Up By: Life Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 07:53

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 07:53
feathery

How true....how true.

FollowupID: 780143

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:37

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:37
Axle ! I just contacted your brother in Law and conveyed your worries to him, He said " Tell him to take a pill and have a lay down.. Sorry Axle, His words, not mine..

P.S. Sorry Axle, I cant say what he really said!!! LOL!!!! Michael.

AnswerID: 503440

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:57

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:57
Hahaha!, Your a funny bugger!!

Yeah!, i know what he would say..lol.

Axle.
FollowupID: 780118

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:47

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:47
Axle,
met a bloke from Victoria at Jabiru with a 54 FJ holden in mint condition. It was his first car.

He said he told his son when he is old enough he can have a drive. Then he says to me. He is 48 now and I still haven't let him drive it.

RA.

AnswerID: 503441

Follow Up By: Axle - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:59

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 17:59
Lol RA, thought i was bad,,!

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 780120

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 18:34

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 18:34
Worse still, the first thing I said to him was. You are going to have trouble with that vehicle in this country with all those electronics. He just burst out laughing.

RA.

FollowupID: 780125

Reply By: member-PradoMad - Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 22:43

Saturday, Jan 26, 2013 at 22:43
my neighbour lent me his Patrol fully set up back in 2006 when I sold my business and he insisted that I take his 4X4 to explore the incredible beauty of this country.

Hired an off road c/t and made it past Nyngan when the engine went up in smoke........
it was the most difficult phone call I ever had to make!
..he then felt bad; thinking he spoiled my holidays; what a great person!!!
..long story short; we are still friends and have traveled many thousand's km together.
JS.
AnswerID: 503448

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 10:12

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 10:12
Thats what you call a good neighbour mate..lol, ..Buts thats why i hate borrowing anything at all, .....if it breaks???.

Axle.
FollowupID: 780145

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 11:03

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 11:03
Those 3 litre Nissans. Keep away.

bill
Bill B

FollowupID: 780151

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 08:11

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 08:11
No way. No how. No one. Not even to our sons. Besides they have their own and I wouldn't borrow anyone else's.

No lending at all. We both drive it because both cars are ours. In fact I would trust both cars in my wife's hands a long time before everyone else. She is an excellent off road, and on road, driver having been a rally driver and a life time member of the Mini Rally Club of Aust.

AnswerID: 503450

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 09:13

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 09:13
If you don't lend it you won't have the worry. It's a no-brainer. Don't even know why it was on here.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 503454

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 10:17

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 10:17
It can be a difficult decision when some members of the family are involved, Jack.!

FollowupID: 780146

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 10:24

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 10:24
You read it and you responded Jack.
That's what the site's about.

FollowupID: 780148

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 22:31

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 22:31
Mate I've seen your car. I wouldn't want to drive it. It's missing a grommet!!!!

;-)

FollowupID: 780184

Reply By: Sigmund - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 11:18

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 11:18
My insurance policy is cheaper with nominated drivers.

If I want to add one it costs big bikkies.

That's one reason I don't lend vehicles.
AnswerID: 503458

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 14:31

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 14:31
Hi Axle

I wont even lend anyone my work vehicle, noone looks after it as good as you. I know its only a vehicle but a bit of pride in the state of it goes a long way and if you look after it ,It ll look after you.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 503468

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 16:08

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 16:08
Very True Wilko,....You getting the rain out there?

FollowupID: 780163

Follow Up By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 21:06

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 21:06
Yeah We got 100 points Burrendong got 400.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 780182

Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 22:40

Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 at 22:40
Axle, I'm always nervous when I think of the Pocket Rocket trying to negotiate the Coles car park in the mighty Tuck Truck. At a good metre longer than a normal ute and with a turning circle that would make the QE2 blush, it's like trying to thread the proverbial needle. As for the Crown Prince (soon to be newly minted 'Probationary' hell-driver!), until he can stop using the mirrors as a personal grooming tool, he's got as much chance as a one legged frog in a pit full of pythons!

When outback, it's even worse. There are few people I trust to have the knowledge, experience and attention span to be a capable off track pilot. When Tyres are better than $500 a shot and you're a thousand kays into the wilds, yeah you get a little nervous when someone else is driving your lifeline!

AnswerID: 503481

Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 10:12

Monday, Jan 28, 2013 at 10:12
You make good sense of it all Mick,

Crown Prince!, ......Ilike that......There a worry alright in anyones vehicle....Lol.

FollowupID: 780198

Reply By: Nargun51 - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 17:35

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 17:35
My definition of a good driver is somebody I can throw the keys to and then curl up in the passenger seat and go to sleep.

Unfortunately, I only know of one, and they're not a family member! (I even stay awake on international flights because I don't trust the pilots)
AnswerID: 503569

Reply By: Nutta - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 19:32

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 19:32
Then there's the loaning something and forgetting who you loaned it to, you only discover that when you go to the shed to get it that you loaned it out but can't quite remember who it was!

Did that make sense?!
AnswerID: 503576

Follow Up By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 21:29

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 21:29
Yep, been there, lost a few things doing it. My 3 sons in law call my shed the "Tool Library" and after forgetting who had what lots of times I hung a notebook in the shed that they had to write down what they had borrowed, sort of works.

As to borrowing cars, I very very grudgingly let two of them use it, the other one can drive it to tassie and back anytime he wants.
And don't you hate it when you have to put the seat, mirrors, stereo etc. back to where it was originally? And even then it don't feel right?
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

FollowupID: 780328

Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 08:02

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 08:02
Well it looks like neither of us can afford one of those flash mercs that has the seat memorys that changes all those things when you get in the car, apparently it picks up the key fob or something, anyway, one day maybe!
AnswerID: 503601