What to buy? New Nissan 5.6 lt Petrol or 200 series landcruiser.

We are looking at updating our 2004 4.2 TD intercooled patrol, 162000 kms.
I have test driven to new patrol and it's unbelievable with it's power. Nobody can give me an idea of fuel ecomomy when pulling an off road caravan. we do about 14,000 kms a year travelling and average just under 18.0 lts with the patrol.
Friends have a 200 series Landcruiser and tell me they get around 17.0 lts per 100 kms.
has anybody got any thoughts on expected lts / 100 kms.
Another thing is the nissan should run on premium unleaded, when we did the Kimberly last year I didn't check to see if this is readily available throughout the outback of Australia.
Thanks Hugh

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 13:52

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 13:52
There's a thread on LCOOL at the moment about the new Patrol.

LCOOL

You have to join to read it, but that's easy, and free.

They mention fuel economy during an off road 4wd comparison.

Petrol Patrol: 21.3 litres/100

Petrol Cruiser: 18.5 litres/100

Diesel Cruiser: 14 litres/100.

This was not a towing test, but I think a diesel 200 would suit you better than any petrol powered vehicle.

AnswerID: 503957

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 14:19

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 14:19
Yours still has thousands of kilometres life left in it.
For the change over price you can buy at least 15000 litre @ $2/litre for that price.
Now, how far will that take you.

If you buy the new Nissan you have immediately lost that and are beginning a drinking problem.
Sounds like the new Nissan is most suited to towing fuel a large fuel tank. Ultra Unleaded of course.
AnswerID: 503965

Reply By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 14:24

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 14:24
hi hugh
cant believe you are wanting to quit your 4.2 td patrol when its still a pup
the dealer wont have any problem making a big buck on it
but if you want a new one then thats your choice and good luck to you
AnswerID: 503967

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 17:19

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 17:19
You should of never bought this up....... you will get more reasons from people telling you why you should not upgrade and how much of a wrong decision you are making.

We have a 200 series VX diesel and it's OK...... it's not fantastic, just OK.

Ours weighs in at around 3600KG so it's heavy, we get around 17-20lts per 100 empty or towing and city and country doesn't make much difference.

I have heard reports of people getting around 10lts per 100 in the country and I believe this is true....... ad some off road gear and a bit of weight and the fuel consumption gets knocked around badly.

The other thing is don't think you will get all the horsepower and torque all the time, coming out of Adelaide up the freeway loaded we can only pull 65Kph..... our old 2005 Hilux D4D loaded could pull 95Kph all the way up and our New Ranger has no problems sitting at the speed limit in 5th gear (6 speed auto)...... there will be places where your 100 series will out perform the 200 in pulling power.

The advantage of a Diesel is you know you can get fuel anywhere and if needed from tractors or trucks to get you out of trouble.

Toyota have a better dealer network then Nissan and the Nissan is unproven in Australia..... especially off road.

AnswerID: 503990

Follow Up By: BUSH CAMPER - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 17:51

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 17:51
Thanks, for your reply, our nissan is in great condition, may be we should hang onto it for another year or so.
Just thought it may be at a good mileage to change over to get a good price. Would only sell privately. The new nissan was great to drive but as you say, "unproven in Australia"
I said to the dealer that I wanted to try it pulling the off road van, but I don't think that will ever happen.
Will go for a test drive of the 200 series this week and hopefully get some more feed back for this forum.
Thanks Hugh
FollowupID: 780753

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 10:14

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 10:14
Hi OC

As i am considering a GXL 200 for later in the year, i am interested in your comments about not getting all the power an torque all the time. Why is this?

FollowupID: 780820

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 05, 2013 at 00:04

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2013 at 00:04
Hi Olcoolone,

I enjoy your normaly well thought out comments and observations. But I struggle to understand your statement that a D4D Hilux can nearly double the speed of a TTD V8 200 while towing uphill???

The 200 has some 200+ Nm more torque over a wider rev range AND more gears, yet is significantly slower than a loaded hilux (assuming same load). In the words of that famous politician, "please explain?"

FollowupID: 780884

Reply By: Member -Ted (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 17:55

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 17:55
Why would you want to trade an unbreakable vehicle for a unknown, yet to be tested vehicle?
The 200 series is a good vehicle but its longevity is still unknown. Horrific expense if it breaks.
IFS front end in both vehicles. From owning a Nissan (3.0 grenade) would not buy another, particularly a new unknown, unproven vehicle for Oz conditions. Nissan support of their vehicles is not particularly good. Keep the 4.2 and enjoy many years of mostly trouble free motoring. I went from a Nissan to a 100 series TD and have not looked back. IMHO keep the 4.2 and spend the difference on fuel touring this great country.

Ted
AnswerID: 503993

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 21:00

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 21:00
Gday Hugh ! Personally i would be keeping the Nissan GU but if you have deep pockets, the 200 series is a good choice. The 200 is a great proven vehicle until something goes wrong, lots of things are really expensive. The new Nissan Petrol is unproven but at 14000 ks a year, fuel cost would not be an issue i would think, a grand extra on fuel for the extra power of the 200 diesel or petrol or the new Nissan. One thing you will get is Comforrrrrt with a new vehicle. If you sell your 4.2, its probably worth close to $40,000 sold privately, so thats half the cost of your new choice! Michael

AnswerID: 504008

Reply By: Burnt Damper - Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 22:43

Sunday, Feb 03, 2013 at 22:43
Buy a Mazda BT50 I get better fuel economy fully loaded towing a bogie axle caravan with boat etc on top of canopy on car than what you people are talking about around town.
I have a 3inch exhaust plus a Roos System chip, gross weight in excess of 5800 kg getting 16lt per 100km going across the Barkly Highway in December last year at 100 kph. I don't think the Nissan or the Cruiser can match that! I know it's a Mazda but I can't fault it yet!
AnswerID: 504025

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 08:26

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 08:26
Thanks to a heads up of a member of another forum, there is a head to head test of the 4.6l petrol 200 against the Patrol and other vehicles coming up in April 4x4 Australia.

On Unleaded, and for a mix of on and off road.
Patrol 21.3 L/100Km
Cruiser 18.5 L/100Km
76 with 33 inch tyres and roofrack accompanying as support 17.2 L/100 Km.
Diesel 200 used about 13-14 L/100 Km over similar test a year ago.

Should be an interesting article.
AnswerID: 504041

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 08:41

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 08:41
Had 2 of them together recently Hugh and I felt the 200 series looked better.

Presume your comparing 2 petrols - the Nissan is clearly the way to go for power and the cost of fuel difference isn't significant enough to sway a descision.

If max power is not your main game then the upmarket versions of new 4.6 cruiser which is now equipped with same 6 speed as the diesel is seriously worth considering.

I was never happy with the 4.7lt V8 petrol cruiser and the diesel version didn't add up.

I'm sticking with the last of the 4800 GU petrols which I think have a number of advantages but the new Nissan is clearly a tour de force for that type of car.

AnswerID: 504043

Reply By: NTVRX - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 18:36

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 18:36
Good luck with the decision making. You asked for comments & here is my 10 cents worth. 1. Is there something wrong with the patrol? At 162 thou it's just short of being run in!! 2. At $90,000 for the ST-L.....with no sat Nav. I'd buy a Pajero auto Diesel. 3. My old Dad use to say, "Never buy the first of a new model...wait till they sort out the teething problems"
AnswerID: 504078

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 19:17

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 19:17
NTVRX, the "new" patrol has been available since Feb 2010 overseas and on it's second variant, so it is a 3yo vehicle. Hopefully Nissan have sorted the teeting problems by now.
FollowupID: 780855

Reply By: NTVRX - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 19:36

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 19:36
I am not concerned with what happens O/S & how vehicles perform. I am concerned as to how the vehicle manages conditions in Australia. We have,after all experienced vehicles here that shone O/S but could not handle the harsh Australian continent.
AnswerID: 504081

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 20:20

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 20:20
Personally i think a new full sized full on 4x4 is out or the reach of most people now. By the time you get an $85,000 Patrol or Cruiser on the road with all the on costs, stamp duty, insurance and add a few things, $100,000 easily! Its easy to see why some older, easy to maintain vehicles are holding their value!! Michael

AnswerID: 504084

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 21:02

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 21:02
I think you need to go back in the past and check what prices some of the 4x4's were new compared to the weekly wage and what house prices were at the time..... the 200 series if anything it is a bit cheaper when in comparison.

Back in 2000 we had a look at a base model 100 series non turbo diesel..... asking price was $53,000 drive away.
FollowupID: 780867

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 21:26

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 21:26
I considered the price of my own first GU 1999 4.2 TD at $55990 and my current 2003 4.2TDi at $59,990, both had since new. But i reckon the cost pressures of all common bills are much higher than in the past. I havent really done the maths but it sounds heavy. You would really need to pay cash, i couldn't imagine the costs involved in paying one off!! Michael.

FollowupID: 780872

Reply By: Member - powernut (SA) - Friday, Feb 08, 2013 at 18:55

Friday, Feb 08, 2013 at 18:55
Interesting question. Ask 10, 4 x 4 owners which brand to buy and you will get at least 11 answers. Petrol or Diesel. I just traded a petrol Disco for a 3.0 diesel and the fuel savings are great, but I forked out a years salary in the change over, so who is saving what these days? When I bought the petrol disco it was ten grand cheaper than a diesel.

I read some interesting comments on the Toyota 200 series diesel here and other places. Some people quote a low of 10.02 litres per 100, but a couple here are saying 17 or even more up to 20 Litres/100. I have a mate with a Toyota tray top with V8 diesel and he cannot get below 17 litres per 100.

AI think Toyota has lost the plot a little with the big V8 diesel. Along side the modern utes and European motors its a dinosaur. Maybe it will live for a long time?. Maybe it wont, particularly if you read some of the oil consumption problems. But its a big gamble given the purchase price.

So go test a few, talk to many, and spend your dollars where you are comfortable.

Good luck with your decision.
I am an apprentice retire. Its looking like my most successful career to date.

AnswerID: 504335