Communications out there

Having had a pilots licence and travelling in remote Australia I am aware on many communications issues from that perspective including the use of VHF and HF and EPIRBs.

However, I now need to think terrestial. I was planning on VHF and EPIRB for comfort. What do others use - checked out HF (mobile) and VKS737 today but initial outlay expensive. UHF compared to VHF?

Understand where it is you intend to go - but I want to have options.

Welcome some guidance.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member -Ted (Vic) - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2013 at 19:21

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2013 at 19:21
Hi Terry

What equipment do you envisage for VHF? All VHF requires a license as far as I know. I am an amateur operator and dont know of any services that are available to the general public. I use the VKS737 network and have a Barrett 950.
UHF is good car to car but fairly useless in a real emegency unless you are within a couple of K's of other travellers. EPIRB is good insurance in these circumstances.
Cheers
Ted
AnswerID: 505100

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Feb 19, 2013 at 20:07

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2013 at 20:07
Hi Terry,

Welcome to the site; hopefully you will find it both helpful and enjoyable.

Re communications, I think you will find that most outback travellers have UHF for convoy work and a combination or all of HF, sat phone and Epirb for long range comms. There are many forum threads on the pros and cons of such the various options. There is also quite a good article under the blue Articles button in the blue bar across the top of the page.

VKS737 is probably the biggest HF "club" and that is what we use with an oldish Codan HF radio. That arrangement has worked very well for us on many outback trips.

Cheers,

Val.
J and V
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 505109