4x4 storage drawers

hi all, would appreciate some feedback on quality and best value for money drawer systems for my 150 series prado.
anyone had any experience with Drifta ? they look like they would do the job and not nearly as expensive as some other brands, but do you get what you pay for?
thanks pandora

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 05:56

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 05:56
Good morning, have you had a look at Jim Best's drawers, great product and a member here. No affiliation etc.

AnswerID: 505139

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 12:23

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 12:23
thanks so much John, will check it out.
I am a new member and have just purchased 2102 prado. looking at options to set it up....storage, dual battery system.etc.
pandora
FollowupID: 782096

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 13:01

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 13:01
I will second best off road draws. Have just fitted a set to my vehicle and are very happy with them. He ships anywhere in the country and mine were delivered to Mackay from Melbourne.

Here is a photo. The draws are 1700 long with removable dividers.

RA.
FollowupID: 782098

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 14:51

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 14:51
thanks rockape. thanks for photo too.
good feedback. I looked at the site and impressed.
also impressed with burdikin pic..awesome
FollowupID: 782110

Follow Up By: Wotacroc - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 09:10

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 09:10
Pandora. I see you are from Queensland. If you live in Brisbane and need a towbar for your Prado, you will do no better than having it supplied and fitted by Wynnum Towbars. No bumper cutting, done by people who have been manufacturing bars for thirdy odd years.Mine was done for $600 fitted.

Wotacroc
FollowupID: 782174

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 11:39

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 11:39
thanks for the tip wotacroc,
I live in a rural area ( se qld, granite belt ) not easy to access all this stuff here, have to rely on internet searches, phone.
just purchased a new prado so the job is ahead, dual battery, storage, bull bar, tow bar etc. so have to source out competent 4x4 auto fitters elswhere and all their gear seems very exxy,so will keep wynnum towbars in mind, pandora
FollowupID: 782181

Follow Up By: Wotacroc - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 09:42

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 09:42
Pandora

Wynnum Towbars also do a dual battery fit. I am very happy with the job they did on my Parado.
FollowupID: 782227

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 21:07

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 21:07
thanks again wotacroc.
can you tell me what dual battery systen you have fitted to your prado. I want to get this sorted soner rather than later mainly so I can get the frig up and running.
pandora
FollowupID: 782281

Follow Up By: Wotacroc - Saturday, Feb 23, 2013 at 09:33

Saturday, Feb 23, 2013 at 09:33
Pandora. I also live in rural Queensland (Hervey Bay) I picked my Prado up new in Brisbane and drove it straight around to Leo, at Wynnum Towbars, then took it home. I then drove back down to get the dual battery and the fitting of an Anderson plug done. Can't tell you exactly what make of battery holder was used, but it is the same size as the factory fitted one. The fitout certainly looked professional and it works well.

I have no affiliation with the company, but you will certainly find plenty of recommendations from people on Pradopoint, particularly on his towbar quality. Leo can be contacted on 3893 0411.
FollowupID: 782306

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Saturday, Feb 23, 2013 at 18:00

Saturday, Feb 23, 2013 at 18:00
thanks for that wotacroc. worth following up, sounds like a reliable and professional operator.good excuse for another trip ti brisvegas,
like you I bought the prado in brisbane and drove home, not nearly as far as beautiful HB. though
FollowupID: 782334

Follow Up By: Member - G.T. - Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 13:57

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 13:57
I purchased from Jim as well. Just another satisfied customer. Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 782531

Reply By: Trevor G - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 12:47

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 12:47
Hi, i have just ordered some drawers from Drifta. I visited the factory as I live fairly close. They look well made. I have to wait nearly 2 months to get mine made (custom) so if supply and demand say anything they are good. I did a fair bit of research and I like the simplicity.

Im sure there are lots of people who have had them installed. Give the factory a call

My thoughts
AnswerID: 505165

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 15:01

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 15:01
thanks for the feedback Trevor, good idea to phone and discuss.
happy camping .
FollowupID: 782113

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 13:28

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 13:28
As you can see in the photo posted by Rockape, our drawers run a rail and roller bearing system. This ensures smooth running and ease of use even when fully loaded.

We of course do a unit for the 150.
AnswerID: 505172

Reply By: Member - karlgil - Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 15:32

Wednesday, Feb 20, 2013 at 15:32
Just installed a set of "Drifta" drawers with side infill wings, pull out table and fridge slide.
Excellent workmanship, easy to install (instructions + required screws, nuts, bolts, extra tie-downs & brackets supplied). No wasted spaces with draw slides as drawers slide out on nylon runners under the drawer AND work beautifully, even with a heavy load!! Much cheaper than all the other big name systems too.
Drifta staff are very helpful with recommendations on which set-up to choose and don't "push" you to choose extras - just give you advise on choices without the hard sell. I was considering using a set of Drifta drawers on my van's A frame until Beechy from Drifta simply said to me:- "Na Mate - won't work, won't last". He was referring to using their marine ply drawers and recommended I go with a metal toolbox type system instead. Now how many manufacturers will tell you that!!!
Drifta is an excellent choice!
AnswerID: 505185

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 07:45

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 07:45
Am also very happy with our Drifta drawers which where fitted by them, the main reason I went for Drifta was they use teflon slides instead of ball bearing slides. Quality is 110% and price is great as well. Oh and the table is brillant, do not need to take the old table with the C/T any more.
FollowupID: 782597

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 21:34

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 21:34
We are happy with out Outback set through ARB. It is a dual side by side set with the drop down fridge slide on the top and a bed extension, also from Outback, that reaches the rear of the front row of seats. This give us a good 6' bed area beside the fridge when travelling solo. There is enough storage area under the bed extension for all the camping gear also. Leaving the area above it for soft things like bedding and clothes.

The photos used in the collage below were taken before the drop down fridge slide was installed. I think that you will get the idea though.

AnswerID: 505345

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 22:14

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 22:14
many thanks Phil, I like that setup. sleeping in the wagon looks pretty cosy.that is certainly an option. not that keen on putting a tent up all the time,
just a bit unclear ::do you leave the engel outside the car on the drop down slide at night when you sleep in the wagon
pandora
FollowupID: 782288

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 22:34

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 22:34
Hi Pandora

The fridge goes inside. That's why there is only room for one. And with the tailgate and an awning on the side of the car it takes about 5 minutes to pack up and go. Longer if you want to make the bed up.

We also have a roof top tent that is used when we both go. A second small 21 litre fridge (freezer only) and a port potty go on the bed extension in front of the 40ltr Engel that you see in the photo. They balance the car quite nicely because the heavy tools, oils and spares go in the left hand drawer and the spare tyre carrier is also on the left hand side at the back.

We can travel for a month easily without resupply.

I hope this helps.

Morning in the Simpson.

FollowupID: 782290

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 23:49

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 23:49
Phil, yes, a very well organised rig.
thanks for your ideas.
pandora
FollowupID: 782293

Reply By: Member - Derek Y1 - Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 23:17

Tuesday, Feb 26, 2013 at 23:17
G'day, Just had a set of Black Widow drawers and barrier fitted to our LC200 and are very happy with quality but haven't used them seriously yet. Just a note we found out in our deliberations - the ARB Outback drawers seem to have slight differences to Outback drawers. We thought the Black Widow were better built (and dearer) than Outback ones but it is all about what works best for you. Regards, Derek
AnswerID: 505657

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 00:43

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 00:43
thanks Derek,
that's good to know, I had a quote from tjm for the black widow side by side drawers, look very sturdy.
also getting good feedback for drifta and jims drawers.
think Im now leaning towards 2 drawers , one on top of the other with the frig beside them.
have to make a decision soon, and get moving on it.
cheers pandora

FollowupID: 782591

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 14:34

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 14:34
Two drawers on top of each other and the slide beside is a bad idea for more reasons than I've got time to type. We build them, but I talk 98% of people out of them. Feel free to call for a no obligation chat 03 9706 6527.

FollowupID: 782624

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 15:39

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 15:39
thanks for the feedback.
looking at options, moving from a hilux where there was plenty of space to a prado which is squishy and a bit of a jigsaw puzzle, trying to find a good set up getting everything in its place.
pandora
FollowupID: 782626

Follow Up By: Member - Derek Y1 - Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 22:32

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013 at 22:32
Pandora,

We started out looking at a 2 high stack and the fridge beside them but ended up going for side by side drawers and a drop slide for the fridge. This seems to work better but have only just had them fitted so time will tell.

Derek
FollowupID: 782658

Follow Up By: Member - pandora - Thursday, Feb 28, 2013 at 01:15

Thursday, Feb 28, 2013 at 01:15
thanks derek
looks like I might have to rethink the stackers.
happy travels
pandora
FollowupID: 782665