Tyre Advice for Outback Trip

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 20:20
ThreadID: 100690 Views:2591 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Hi there,

We're going to be doing a three week trip in April out to outback western queensland. We'll see a fair bit of red dirt road I expect.

Working out what to do about tyres is doing my head in, as I know I have to renew at least the spare on the 4wd and the spare on the camper trailer, and working out the smartest thing to do (budget and practicality).

Only read on if you are interested in tyre technical stuff.

We have a 100 series full-time 4wd landcruiser with a camper trailer.

The 100 series currently has 4 "Jinyu" (Chinese) tyres on it that the previous owner put on to sell the car (brand new 2 years ago). They are ATs and would have 80-90% tread. They are 265/75/R16. The spare is the original factory spare so needs to be replaced (2004 model Land Cruiser).

The camper has 2 AT tyres with about 50-60% tread. I expect these are about 5 years old. They are 275/70R16. The spare on the camper needs replacement.

The (newer) tyres on the 4wd are slightly taller (bigger diameter) than the tyres on the camper. I'd rather start standardising to this bigger diameter, but they are a bit skinny.

Do I:
1. Just replace the spares with new tyres at the larger diameter and keep them as spares?
2. Replace the spares with new tyres at the larger diameter, put them on the trailer and move the trailer wheels and tyres to be the trailer and 4wd spares?
2. Replace all four on the 4wd with new tyres, and have the tyre shop swap the 4 tyres on the four wheel drive to the trailer and spare wheels? (I have alloys on the 4wd and steel on the camper).
3. Some other option?

Advice/thoughts appreciated.
Thanks!

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:04

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:04
Why not leave things as they are. Nothing wrong with Chinese tyres .

AnswerID: 505259

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:29

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:29
I tend to agree! Change your Cruiser spare, 10 years is very old but driving to the road conditions and lowering pressures and speeds will get you further than ignoring the conditions and buying new tyres! Michael.

FollowupID: 782208

Follow Up By: Paul F2 - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:30

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:30
Hi Muzbry,
I do need to replace at least the spare on the 4wd and the spare on the camper, as they are both showing signs of perishing.

If I replace just those, maybe put them on the trailer (both of the current spares are steel rims), and use the steel wheels/tyres off the trailer to be the spare for the 4wd and the spare for the trailer...
FollowupID: 782209

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:58

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:58
Gday Paul
You now have the rite idea. Fancy new tyres don't get any farther than the ones you have. What Michael said.

FollowupID: 782212

Follow Up By: Paul F2 - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 22:30

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 22:30
Thanks guys!
FollowupID: 782218

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:31

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:31
There is nothing wrong with the tyres as you describe, however when it is necessary to buy some new I would be choosing a size that will become my standard O/D, then stick to that when replacing tyres later.
Not what you asked, but I would be replacing the alloy wheels for good quality steel ones.
Steel can be hammered back to shape when dented, but an alloy won`t dent, it will break instead.

Just my opinion speaking from experience with rock damage to wheels.

Safe travels,

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 505261

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:59

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 21:59
Gday Scrubby
Hows it all going?

FollowupID: 782213

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 22:21

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 22:21
G`day muz,

Going great mate thanks.

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 782216

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 06:53

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 06:53
Scrubby, what are you doing up so late? persons of our age should be in bed getting our beauty sleep.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 782223

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 23:04

Thursday, Feb 21, 2013 at 23:04
265/75R16 are the better size to use.
So I'd do this option:
"Replace all four on the 4wd with new tyres, and have the tyre shop swap the 4 tyres on the four wheel drive to the trailer and spare wheels? (I have alloys on the 4wd and steel on the camper)."

That way you're also got identical sized tyres and tyres can be swapped between vehicle and trailer if the worst were to happen.
Its nice to go away to remote places and not be worried about your tyres.
AnswerID: 505264

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 00:03

Friday, Feb 22, 2013 at 00:03
Persoannly Id be replacing the 4 on the tow vehicle with new "and they all rollover and one fell out."

If ya tight for cash or just tight.

put 2 new tyres on the front of the tow vehicle and roll the two worst onto the spares.

There will be no problem running slightly odd tyres on the camper if you get a flat.

Don't be concerned about tyres being narrow...wide is not the advantage some people think it is and 10mm is neither here nor there.

If the tyres on the camper are 5 years old especially if they sit in one place for a long time, they may be getting a bit long in the tooth too

Don't forget you could ebay the surpluss tyres........somebody hard up or looking for tyres for their dump trailer will give you good $$$ for them if they have better than 50% tread on them

AnswerID: 505270