Toyota Hitch

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 11:53
ThreadID: 100850 Views:2302 Replies:9 FollowUps:19
I heard the other day that the Toyota goose neck must be inserted into the receiver with the flat section on the bottom. Sounds like total bull poo to me.

Has anyone else come across this ?

Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 12:48

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 12:48
Hi Rosco.

Have never heard that story, due to the set up we have with our current van, and also previous vans, ours is inverted, and has towed vans in excess of 100 thousand ks, and we have never had a problem.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 505893

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 12:54

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 12:54
My sentiments exactly old mate. I play with this sort of thing every day for a living (structural engineer) and the reasoning behind it (if any) totally escapes me.
FollowupID: 782791

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 13:09

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 13:09
Rosco,
I know you can invert hayman reece tow hitches and I would think that Mr Toyota would either, have the hitch so it can only be installed one way into the receiver or there would be a big warning on the hitch itself.

RA.
AnswerID: 505895

Reply By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 13:28

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 13:28
hi rosco
you've got it in one !
provided the hitch is an engineered one and not made up in someones backyard shed
ive always found with all the hitches i have used both as a farmer of many years with every type of set and adjustable type and towing caravans and trailers
ive nether had any problems using then upwards or downwards
these rumours are invented around a camp fire or at sundowner gathering by people who havent got much of a clue and get sucked in by the fear factor and sometimes by salesmens personel opinions to sell the un-educated/unwary another item that they dont really need
barry
AnswerID: 505896

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 14:38

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 14:38
Rosco,

I seem to recall that we had Toyotas on the station that were fitted with Toyota branded tow bars, which had a tag fitted showing the different ball weights, depending on the way the hitch was inserted into the receiver.

Can't recall though which way gave the greater ball weight now :-)

AnswerID: 505900

Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 20:20

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 20:20
I too recall our 80 series had two different ratings and a diagram on it. It was 3500 k.g. in the lower position, and less in the upper position.
FollowupID: 782819

Follow Up By: Phil V (SA) - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 21:38

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 21:38
Yep, had a 75 series traytop, which had a Toyota hitch, one way up was 2500kg, other way was only 1650kg or close to it. It was a right angled tongue. Was stamped on a tag which was pinned to the right angle.

FollowupID: 782823

Reply By: gke - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 16:41

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 16:41
Hi Rosco, I have a sticker on the Toyota hitch on my Prado.It shows the hitch can be inserted either way, and the ball weight is 250kg either way.
Cheers, Graham
AnswerID: 505910

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 17:07

Saturday, Mar 02, 2013 at 17:07
Thanks Graham

That makes sense to me. Purely co-incidental, but the bloke who made the claim also drives a Prado.
FollowupID: 782805

Reply By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 03, 2013 at 16:20

Sunday, Mar 03, 2013 at 16:20
Rossco
Have 100 series and fitted with Toyota tow bar and the ratings plate shows 3500 kgs both ways , up or down
Mick
Poppa Bear

AnswerID: 505972

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Mar 03, 2013 at 17:36

Sunday, Mar 03, 2013 at 17:36
Yep

As I suspected, the jury has returned with the resounding verdict that it's a crock of horse poo.
AnswerID: 505981

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:19

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:19
What resounding verdict? Three of us have had three different toyotas and can categorically state that the rating was different depending on the orientation of the tongue? The only thing proven so far is that you're shooting from the hip.
FollowupID: 782930

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:22

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:22
I think you'll find that most hitches are reversible, but some are not and I'm pretty sure you'll find it's the 3500 k.g. H.D. splay cut hitches that were the exception to the more common light duty reversible hitches. But it certainly isn't a load of anything.
FollowupID: 782931

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:31

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:31
Take a Bex and a lie down old mate, you're obviously too stressed.

I would have thought from the various responses that it is obvious to a normal person that the hitch may be used in either orientation.
If you care to read my original post, it related to orientation only.
The only thing you're flapping your gums about relates to a variation in rated capacity, which was not included in the original discussion.
FollowupID: 782933

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:41

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 10:41
Are you for real? How else do you reverse a hitch? Try to put it in backwards? Believe me we are talking about the same thing, only one of us thinks he knows more than a Toyota engineer. Might want to actually read what three of us wrote before you go shooting from the hip yet again mate.
FollowupID: 782934

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 11:11

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 11:11
Sigh .... the general consensus is that the hitch may be inserted either way, apart from your comment about a particular one.

Quad Erat Demonstrandum
FollowupID: 782935

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 13:43

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 13:43
Sigh ...... You mean my comment plus two others. All with different vehicles?
I owned one. You're just soliloquising. But if you're going to continue telling people carte Blanche they can invert their Toyota hitches, I'll continue to expose the shortcomings of your and the consensus' argument.
FollowupID: 782943

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:17

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:17
I don't know what you're taking, and I don't recall telling people they can invert their hitches, rather I asked the question and sought their points of view, one of which you're perfectly entitled to hold.

However, kindly desist from your argumentative and abrasive tone.
It was due to crap like this that I called it quits with my membership some years ago. I was hoping the site had matured beyond the kindy club capers.
FollowupID: 782946

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:33

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:33
"Yep

As I suspected, the jury has returned with the resounding verdict that it's a crock of horse poo."

"I would have thought from the various responses that it is obvious to a normal person that the hitch may be used in either orientation"

I'm sorry, I either misunderstood what you wrote, or you can't remember what you wrote.

I'd also recommend you read what you write before accusing others of using an argumentative and abrasive tone old mate. Take a bex and lie down.......

kindy club capers - you're not wrong there.

FollowupID: 782948

Follow Up By: Phil V (SA) - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:42

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:42
Rosco

Refered to my previous vehicle, 75 series, it also had a 2500kg limit on the tow bar. The tow bar and the hitch were Toyota brand. 79 series I have now has a rating of 3500kg on the tow bar and a rating of 350kg downward pressure on the hitch which ever way it's attached. All toyota branded. Only difference between the two hitches is one is at right angles and the other is at 45 degrees.

FollowupID: 782951

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:52

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:52
Thanks Phil

That also confirms that it may be inserted either way, as I suspected.

Not withstanding old mate above's difficulty in grasping that this appears to be the case.
FollowupID: 782953

Follow Up By: Phil V (SA) - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:13

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:13
No worries Rosco

Only limits downward (tow ball weight) on the 75 series. Haven't seen it on any of the newer hitches. Square hole so you should be able to poke it in either way. lol

FollowupID: 782956

Reply By: Member - J&R - Sunday, Mar 03, 2013 at 20:31

Sunday, Mar 03, 2013 at 20:31
Has anyone asked Toyota?
AnswerID: 505997

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 09:24

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 09:24
The original claim was alleged to have come from a Toyota person, though perhaps not very far up the tree.
FollowupID: 782926

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 22:55

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 22:55
Gday Rosco,
Maybe some do and some don't. 200 series can only go in one way, going by the diagram on the bottom RH corner:

AnswerID: 506138

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 23:08

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 23:08
Interesting ... certainly looks like it.

However this one is different. Note the gusset under the bent plate as shown in the diagram (I would say down the centre of the plate).
This gusset is loaded in compression with hitch loaded as shown, with the same gusset being loaded in tension if the hitch were to be inverted.
This would definitely have a significant impact.

Which puts it in a class of its own or with similar, whilst those without the gusset are also similar in a different group of sames.

Make sense ???
FollowupID: 783092

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 11:12

Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 11:12
A picture saves a thousand words !!!
FollowupID: 783116

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 11:31

Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 11:31
Certainly does ... certainly does.
FollowupID: 783117