For Europeans travelling Australia

Submitted: Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 12:58
ThreadID: 100896 Views:3933 Replies:14 FollowUps:20

Explains why European visitors have trouble coming to grips with our distances. And vice-versa.

Val

Back Expand Un-Read 6 Moderator

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 13:58

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 13:58
Hi Val,

I had the vice-versa the first time I visited Tasmania. Unfolded the road map which was about the same physical size as a map of WA, Had a look where the next town was without regard to the scale as marked and settled back for a 2 or 3 hour drive. Got a pleasant surprise when we reached there in about 20 minutes.
Many years ago I was involved with the delivery of a couple of pieces of US made mining equipment. This particular company had their South East Asia head office in Singapore. One of their reps came out to assist with the handover and training. This guy had never been to Australia before and the distances and open spaces without towns or people in the Pilbara really messed with his mind. His eyes really opened wide when this "big hairy Australian" came hopping out of the bush straight into the side of the hire car, bounce off, and hopped back into the bush. A short "comfort" stop was in order after that.

AnswerID: 506034

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:13

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:13
Hi Pop,

Yes have had that same experience in Tasmania. In England though what we thought would be a 15 minute drive, judging by distance, turned out to be nearer one hour because it was all built-up, roundabouts and heavy traffic.

Val

FollowupID: 782944

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:40

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 14:40
G'day Val and John

And there's still enough room left for Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iraq, Iran AND a few more !

Ten years ago I was in the UK staying in the south of England and my sister happened to be in York for a week so I decided to drive up north to visit her. When my Pommie mates foung out I was going to drive the 300 miles (500 k's) in one day they all thought I was nuts ! With a few comfort stops it was a leisurely 8 hour drive using the motorways - they said they would motel it overnight somewhere !
Not sure they would believe me if I told them I drove the 3000 k's from Darwin to Adelaide in 2 1/2 days last year !

Gazz
AnswerID: 506042

Reply By: Rockape - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:15

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:15
Val,
just had a look and it seems our house is in the middle of Belarus.

No wonder no one understands me.

RA.

AnswerID: 506045

Follow Up By: Member - Hunter Gatherer - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:22

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:22
VERY funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 782950

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:01

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:01
Pretty big tractor works in your town then RA. LOL

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 782954

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:27

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:27
Bruce,
thanks for that. Now I know why they frown at me when I use my lamborghini tractor.
FollowupID: 782960

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:31

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:31
Hmmpfh, talk about flaunting your wealth......hehehehe
FollowupID: 782962

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:30

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:30
Pop,
The lady and I were sitting sipping on a Macas Latte at Canelands yesterday when down the track comes on of those red Ferraris.

Now I thinks to myself this bloke must have spent everything to buy that thing, he couldn't even afford to have the bonnet painted as you could see the engine.

Well I said to mumsie. Bet this guy either gets out dripping in gold chains or he resembles the godfather and has the barbie doll hanging of him.

Could have knocked me over with a feather when he gets out complete with old tee shirt, stubbies and a pair of double pluggers. The Barbie doll turned out to be a lovely middle aged lady with matching thongs.
Now you can see why I have a raging bull tractor. Ferrari owners overdress.

Sorry Val,

RA.

FollowupID: 782967

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:39

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:39
Oh OK RA,

Now you're going to parade all your well to do acquaintances.

And I thort use wos wun ov uz comon blokes.

Cheers mate...hehe

FollowupID: 782969

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 18:20

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 18:20
Pop,
I'm hearing yah.

FollowupID: 782971

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 19:31

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 19:31
Hey Rockape

I had mental pictures of you being a bit older and a bit tubbyer !

Or did you photoshop that pic of you out in the paddock ????

Gazz
FollowupID: 782980

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 19:34

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 19:34
Maybe it's just my warped sense of humour but wouldnt you just love to sneak up behind that bloke and give one of his "ears" a gentle tap with a hammer......lol

FollowupID: 782982

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 20:31

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 20:31
You guys,
as Frank Burns would say,

That was me in 1943 listening to the girls gossip. I think I was supposed to be listening for planes but I can't remember.

Thank god for radar, you should try to sleep with those ears on.
FollowupID: 782992

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:17

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 15:17
But that map only has 2/3 of Europe - it does not have Norway, Sweden, Finland, Urkraine, countries like Latvia etc and of course European Russia

Continental Europe is larger than Australia.

By all means compare the size of any particular country with Aust but when you use the term Europe you are talking continents and we are smaller.

Garry
AnswerID: 506046

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:09

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:09
Hi Garry,

John and Val only mentioned Europeans, not all of Europe. A lot of countries were left out but the general idea was well displayed I thought.

Thanks John and Val.
Message received.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 782955

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:15

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:15
Hi Garry,

Maybe using the word "Europeans" a little loosely, but the intention is simply to compare distances in those western European countries to those in Australia. How many Germans, French etc travellers have you met - particularly those riding bikes, who think they can get from Perth to Darwin or Melbourne to Darwin in a couple of days.

Where does continental Europe end BTW?

Val

FollowupID: 782957

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:27

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:27
Maybe so but the map used to reinforce the point is wrong - if the proper map of Europe is laid over Aust then the point trying to be made is less relevant.
FollowupID: 782959

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:30

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:30
Hey Val,

I think some of us got the point that you were trying to make..lol

FollowupID: 782961

Follow Up By: dindy - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:47

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:47
Gee, garrycol you should change your name to glycol and cool down a bit!

Point taken John and Val, I had a friend who thirty years ago did the barry makenzie tour of britain and europe, fell in love with a a cute duch girl so much so he was going to ask her to marry him, brought her and her family out the see the place, travelled around a bit showed them some of the red bits. They were so freaked by the size and distances packed up went home after two weeks never to be heard of again, mate shattered.

Further to the point the yanks have no concept either, most think texas is the biggest pale on earth.
FollowupID: 782964

Follow Up By: dindy - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:49

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 16:49
Oops should be texas is the biggest 'place' on earth
FollowupID: 782965

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 08:18

Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 08:18
Thanks for the laugh guys.

"showed them some of the red bits" no wonder they left!

I think the map shows very well that driving from Victoria to the Kimberley is further than, say, Greece to Ireland.

Its the distances, not the area, that impress.

FollowupID: 783101

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:19

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:19

Maybe not geopolitically correct, but like the above image does help to explain why visitors to Australia have such difficulty in comprehending the vast distances in this country.

No correspondence will be entered into!

AnswerID: 506055

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:34

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:34
Now do those figures include Hawaii and Alaska???

I'm kidding, I'M KIDDING ALREADY

FollowupID: 782968

Reply By: Nargun51 - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:29

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 17:29
It appears to use a Mercator projection, so there will be some inconsistencies.

A few years ago, my mother in laws’ best school friend came out from Hungary and she was wanted to see the Great Ocean Road; we told her we’d be in at 7 am the next Saturday to pick her up.

Morning tea at Torquay, lunch at Apollo Bay, Afternoon Tea around Port Campbell, dinner at Warrnambool, and then home. A constant but easily doable drive with 2 drivers.

She asked how far it would be. I said maybe Budapest to the German border.

We went to see the Penguin Parade instead!
AnswerID: 506056

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 18:02

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 18:02
I sometimes think the O/S travelers get caught out by the 'loose' use of the term Highway in Australia......

I wouldn't describe the Anne Beadell, Connie Sue, Gary, Sandover, or Buchanan as autobahns ...........
AnswerID: 506059

Follow Up By: Member - John - Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 21:23

Monday, Mar 04, 2013 at 21:23
but they are "Highways"...................LOL

FollowupID: 783002

Reply By: Life Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 07:34

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 07:34
Haaa yeh, looks like I will be in for the vice versa in July when go to Germany .
Drive on the other side of the road too, but I had some practice with that 1998 and 2000 in USA.

AnswerID: 506086

Reply By: Jeff D - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 08:15

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 08:15
Back in the mid 80’s I worked at a Mazda dealership in Sydney and one of the guys we had working with us was a mechanic from the assembly plant in Japan - out here getting some work experience.

He come up to me one Friday afternoon and said that he was riding his bike (250cc chook chaser) to Perth. I told him that he couldn’t go to Perth because he had to be back at work on Monday.

His reply was: ‘That okay boss – I go Perth tomorrow and come back next day’

He had absolutely no idea of the vast distances of Australian travel and right up to the day he left to fly back home, he was adamant that he could have ridden across to Perth and back in 2 days.
AnswerID: 506087

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Di T (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 13:41

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 13:41
Europe is 10,938,000 sq km. Australia is 7,692,024 sq km. However we are all one country and even our states are large by world standards.

Di
AnswerID: 506101

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 15:39

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 15:39
Geez John and Val........
Youve really stirred the pot this time!
Apparently a group of Aboriginals have got hold of that map and are now laying claim to half of Europe!! LOL
AnswerID: 506107

Reply By: Meridith D - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 16:50

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 16:50
I remember being in England in 1976 as an 11yo and we did a day trip to Windsor Castle with rellies which was about 1hr's drive away. I was astounded when we had to stop on the side of the road for a "break and a cuppa"........and I could see the castle in the distance!!

This was mind blowing for a child who was used to driving from Carnarvon to Perth only stopping for petrol on the way. (and bad luck if you didn't have a toilet break at the petrol station!)
AnswerID: 506109

Reply By: Smouch - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 21:37

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 21:37
Yes, we are big country but after a recent trip 14,000K trip thru 4 Canadian Provinces/ Territories along with Alaska. Where you can get some big distances between drinks in that neck of the woods. You start to realise wer'e not that big.

Met a few people from Europe on the road, a few are freaked out (usually British) by the distances but most seems to handle it in there stride. Having said that most of the Europeans you meet on the road seem to have done there research.
AnswerID: 506128

Reply By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 14:05

Wednesday, Mar 06, 2013 at 14:05
Yeh but it still does not show the differences in distances.

John A Grotes, the Lands End...is the epic end to end trip in the UK...a trip people do by a number of means, walk, cycle, drive...and they spend months planning it and often weeks doing.....

Thats all fine and beaut....the MRS has walked it....the longest leg between B&Bs is about 35Km.

as the crow flies about the same distance as Brisbane to Townsville.

My nephew used to knock off work work early friday arvo in T'ville to visit his girlfriend in Brisbane over a long week end.

AnswerID: 506178