Long range/Auxilliary fuel tanks

Hi all

I'm a newbie here (please be gentle!) and after some advice. We are in the process of upgrading our NW Diesel Pajero for a big trip up north (WA) later in the year.
Have been researching auxilliary fuel tanks (longranger, LRA, Brown Davis) and they all come it and a similar price and have similar capacity. Have also found some info on the Strongarm tanks (made in WA) -they have the biggest capacity and are well priced. Can't find much feedback on them online. Just wondering if anyone has a Strongarm tank fitted - what do you thik of it, have you had any problems etc. Any comments and feedback welcome.
Cheers
Lian
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 14:44

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 14:44
I previously had an Opposite Lock long range (160ltr) tank fitted to my Navara and it lasted just 3 years before the insides rusted and gunk was clogging the filter. I shopped around and took advice from a number of 4WD mechanics (not just the guys who sell tanks) and the common advice I got was to ensure that any replacement tank be made of aluminised steel. I believe that Longranger is but don't know about Brown Davis. LRA is aluminised steel and this is the one I ended up getting for my ute as it was the largest one made.
AnswerID: 506104

Reply By: NTVRX - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 16:06

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 16:06
I have a 60 ltr LRA tank fitted & very happy with it. Have a look on the Pajero Club of Victoria website. Like this forum you will find some very helpful people there. I own a 2009 Pajero VR-X because it has twin a/cond systems a 60 ltr is the max that can be fitted. The crew at LRA are very professional...I am not affiliated.blah...blah....
AnswerID: 506108

Reply By: patsproule - Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 17:04

Tuesday, Mar 05, 2013 at 17:04
THe LRA tank on my current NP has been fitted to three vehicles now. It's the best mod to a Pajero in my opinion.
AnswerID: 506110