Stone Stomper Mid Bar Support Method Of Fixing

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 07, 2013 at 17:15
ThreadID: 100943 Views:8104 Replies:4 FollowUps:8

I came up with this method to fix the mid support bar that some may have needed to incorporate with their Stone Stomper mesh. This avoids bulky "U" bolts and/or the drilling of unecessary holes into the "A Frame

It utilizes the Hayman Reese Weight Distribution chain attachments and offers a secure method of holding the bar in place.

There is a small lip and this sits under the raised rear edge of the WDH and it is firmly fixed with a nut with washer, which simply tightens up against the chain bracket which is already in position.

Robert

Reply By: moamajohn - Thursday, Mar 07, 2013 at 20:54

Thursday, Mar 07, 2013 at 20:54
Mate I have to say your photo sucks! I have no idea as to what you are saying, But clrearly you have a valid point to be made but I need more detail ..
AnswerID: 506280

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Mar 07, 2013 at 20:55

Thursday, Mar 07, 2013 at 20:55
Well you're not going to get more detail by being a rude prick.

FollowupID: 783211

Follow Up By: BrigalowO - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 05:19

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 05:19
Thank you Gone Bush, he obviously doesn't have a Stone Stomper
FollowupID: 783233

Follow Up By: Member - Hunter Gatherer - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 08:10

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 08:10
Great reply Gone Bush, as another's by line says, " cost you nothing to be nice".
FollowupID: 783239

Reply By: BrigalowO - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:09

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:09
For the benefit of those kind souls, who might be more aware of exactly what a Stone Stomper is, and to save me pasting more images, here is a link to a better explanation on LCOOL Forum:

http://www.lcool.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=246731#246731
AnswerID: 506301

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:11

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:11
Unfortunately, you have to be a member to follow that link...........

FollowupID: 783236

Reply By: BrigalowO - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:27

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:27

Here is an image of the bar before attachment:

AnswerID: 506303

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:39

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 06:39
You must have a different mounting system to mine. I have a 2010 van the same as yours. My bar goes over the hitch square section and sits across the rear bumper of the car. There are two brackets on the van front outriggers that the rear part of the trapese attaches to. All of the trapese is under the A frame. (albiet, a bit low under the WDH chains) Maybe they have modified the later ones. Bob.
AnswerID: 506304

Follow Up By: BrigalowO - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 08:12

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 08:12
Bob, no, there is no difference to how it is attached under normal applications, and your method of the trapeze attachment would be no different to mine. There is a slight difference however, with our application, in that we had our draw bar extended when we ordered the van, which meant a longer than normal trapeze.

What I am referring to here, is down to an above average trapeze length due to a longer draw bar, which a lot of vans and campers have, (to accomodate tool boxes and the like)

It is a suggestion by Stone Stomper, and is not something that has to happen. In our case, it was recommended by them, so I was happy to add one and then I got to investigating methods of attachment. This was simply my solution.
FollowupID: 783240

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 08:48

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 08:48
G'day Robert, I ,for one, knew what you were on about, having a
Stone Stomper. Why have you mounted the bar above the A frame ?
I thought this would change the angle of stone deflection maybe, &
result in more mesh contact with your WDH..cheers.....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 783243

Follow Up By: BrigalowO - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 10:47

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 10:47
oldbaz,

I obtained the mid support bar position from Stone Stomper. If you have a closer look at the setup (Stone Stompers You-Tube Gibb River Rd Demo) you will see that the outer edges of the trapeze are held at almost the same height as the top of the draw bar chassis rails (A-Frame)

Because of the fixing positions in where it is fitted to the tow vehicle and the caravan, the outer edges are much higher than the bulk of the mesh which naturally tends to sag at the middle. The mid support bar simply holds up the outer edge only , and allows the bulk of the trapeze to fall naturally, albeit that it is held firmly by the "occy" type cords. Here is an image taken from correspondence with them recently:

FollowupID: 783255

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 10:55

Friday, Mar 08, 2013 at 10:55
No worries Robert. Mine doesnt sag much in the middle, perhaps
due to how the ocos are adjusted..cheers.....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 783258