Prado 120

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 18:31
ThreadID: 101054 Views:1971 Replies:6 FollowUps:10

I'm having trouble sourcing 17" rim for second spare at reasonable cost. Anyone know where I might find one?? Cheers Sav

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 19:29

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 19:29
Which sources have you investigated so far ?
AnswerID: 506665

Follow Up By: ksav - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:26

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:26
HI Darian, The usual suspects online but nothing
FollowupID: 783702

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 19:58

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 19:58
might help to let us know where you are, mate

I got one locally for $70 recently, but that's not much good to you if you live in Broome
AnswerID: 506668

Follow Up By: ksav - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:28

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:28
Steve, Sorry I thought I had a profile on this site. In Mandurah, south of Perth.
FollowupID: 783703

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:31

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:31
sorry for not doing my research mate - must try harder
FollowupID: 783704

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 21:30

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 21:30
http://www.coast4x4wreckers.com.au/

give this mob a go - they are on the E coast but they reckon they're one of the biggest in Oz and ship a lot of stuff about. You should get a 2nd spare for $60/70 and the shipping should be no more than $50 at most. Worth a call or email, anyway.
FollowupID: 783712

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:17

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:17
Not sure where you are but have a look in this site's classifieds.
AnswerID: 506672

Reply By: RobAck - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:19

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 20:19
If it's an alloy rim Speedy make a direct copy you cannot tell the difference

Rob
AnswerID: 506673

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 22:14

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 22:14
Gday Rob,
Hope you've been well!
I'd expect the Speedy take the steel wheel nuts while the factory alloys take the long shank nuts???
FollowupID: 783720

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 23:18

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 23:18
I don't think so, the Speedy is an alloy that looks identical to the factory one, so probably takes the alloy style nuts. The steelies take the 'std' bevel shanked nuts.
FollowupID: 783724

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 09:29

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 09:29
I just did a search and found the following from Nick on Pradopoint:

"There are some minor differences between the Speedy Grande and genuine 120 Prado alloy. The centre caps are not exchangable. Well, that is not entirely true but I wouldn't guarentee that the genuine Toyota centre cap would still be sitting in the Speedy rim after a spin. I've tried a few of mine in the Speedy and they are loose. As Andrew indicate the wheel nuts are tapered. I recall looking into this and apparently they changed this after the first twelve months. Not sure why. The finish on mine is slightly different. it's like the Speedy has a plastic coating or varnish to add additional protection but I can't notice it now (have the spare roatetd as part of a six tyre rotation and they all look the same except for the (centre cap). From memory the balance weights are approximatley the same on the Grande as the genuine but there is no science behind that. Will vary from wheel to wheel. "
FollowupID: 783738

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 23:55

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 23:55
Interesting! Not quite sure from that if it means they are now tapered or where. Probably enough ambiguity to warrant investigation if you were intending to buy one of these, carrying an extra set of nuts to suit is not desired. I've never seen tapered nuts for alloys but I'm just basing that of my own cars (6) that have had alloys and ones of friends I've seen.
FollowupID: 783811

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:15

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 21:15
From what I've seen, the wheel nuts on the current Speedys are tapered (same as steel wheels and different to Toyota 120series alloys). This is what Nick was saying. My vague recollection some years ago was that Speedy got into trouble for copying the factory Toyota rim so had to come up with some differences - so changed the wheel nuts back to standard tapered.
FollowupID: 784045

Reply By: desray (WA - Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 22:32

Tuesday, Mar 12, 2013 at 22:32
Toyota were selling the 17x7.5 steel rims for $110 not long ago ..Prado GX
AnswerID: 506680

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 08:17

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 08:17
Are you looking for steel or alloy & what do you call a reasonable cost?

AnswerID: 506683

Follow Up By: ksav - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 12:00

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 12:00
Chasing alloys for GXL. Not sure on price as I haven't seen too many around and most of those I have seen include tyres which I already have but I thought under $200 would be reasonable.
FollowupID: 783751