The best beer in cans.

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 17:13
ThreadID: 101072 Views:4231 Replies:14 FollowUps:23
One of lifes more important questions. I normally drink Redback stubbies but as we know on 2-3 week trips this means a lot more weight and disposal problems because they can't be crushed. I am not much of a spirit drinker although wine has been known to pass my lips on occassions.Including non Australian beers what do you think is the best canned beer that I can do some serious research and tasting on.

thanks Sludgie.

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 17:58

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 17:58
Coopers Light, but is hard to get in cans here in WA unless you contact Coopers and ask who has stock of it here in Perth.
AnswerID: 506715

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:11

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:11
Terry mate you know that any beer somebody else gives you is the best beer.

Carlton Mid is ok. Hate VB Green but VB Gold isn't bad. Don't go much on that liquid Qld condom brand either.

Hahn Light if I'm driving.

FollowupID: 783765

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:31

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:31
Coopers Lager for me.
It disappeared from cans for a while, but is now back in production.
Yea!
Normally drink beer out of glass stubbies, but while away camping I take and drink from cans.

Coopers Dr Tims is also OK. It is supposed to be the same recipe as Pale Ale but as it tastes a bit different out of the can Coopers named it after the Brewer.

FollowupID: 783767

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:43

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:43
Sludgie,
beer is a personal taste so best go to Dan Murphys, you can buy one can of every beer that comes in a can. Go home with all the different beers and have your own beer tasting. Then go back and do the same again, as you won't remember which beers you liked the first time.

I bought a stubbie of Millers beer(USA) the other day and didn't mind it at all.

AnswerID: 506720

Follow Up By: Sludgie W.A - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:54

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 18:54
Thanks Rockape, more to the point it is about a beer that still has a refreshing taste even if you are on your 9th or 10th beer as Redback does for me. I used to drink Carlton midstrength however find it tasteless after a few. At Dan Murphys there are too many choices and I probably wouldn't finish before my next trip in May.

Sludgie
FollowupID: 783770

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:10

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:10
There is only one beer, and that's the beer thats right for you, Cascade Bitter, made from fresh Tassie grown hops.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 783772

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:20

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:20
The only good canned beer is a COLD one !! But lately i like XXXX GOLD!! Queenslanders call it XXXX because they can't spell Beer!! Michael :)

FollowupID: 783773

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:42

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:42
Michael,
I can spell xxxx but gold is a bit of a problem. It just takes me a while but I get there in the end.

I think NSW and Qld hold the record for the worst Australian beers.

The Qld one was Macs from Rocky and the NSW one was Millers.

Millers were coal ship owners and I am sure they would unload coal one way and load beer the other sloshing around in the hold.

Here you go Australias current worst beers. This should start world war 3.

Victoria Bitter 571 48.10%
Hahn Ice 56 4.72%
Southwark Pale Ale 14 1.18%
Beez Neez(Honey Beer 36 3.03%
Carlton Draught 19 1.60%
Tooheys Red 161 13.56%
Fosters Lager 132 11.12%
Empire 29 2.44%
Sterling 22 1.85%
Other... 147 12.38%.
FollowupID: 783776

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 20:17

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 20:17
RA! You may be right about the status of crap beers! I used to like VB till a few years ago, started to give me headaches if i went to bed with only a small amount in my system. I started to drink Tooheys RED and then stumbled across XXXX! XXXX is only one standard drink with a full flavour!! Tooheys Gold is not bad also. I bought a bottle of DA a while back, it bought back some memories!! Im not a big drinker so any beer in small doses is OK for me.! regards Michael.

FollowupID: 783778

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 20:22

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 20:22
Well Rockape, the absolute worst beer ever must surely have been Springfield. A small brewery in South Australia, long since gone.

It was said...... "What beer is like making love in a canoe?"

Answer..... "Springfield, because it is f*****g near water"! LOL

FollowupID: 783779

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 18:26

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 18:26
I have to say a schooner of really cold XXXX gold on tap is hard to beat on a hot day. I spend a bit of time in Dubbo and a huge amount of people drink XXXX gold cans and when they hit the local pub or club, XXXX Gold draught is the go! Michael

FollowupID: 783887

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 18:48

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 18:48
Micheal,
when I was a tad younger we were able to buy a 2 gallon timber keg of xxxx. They were really good as long as you didn't hit your thumb when you spiked them. We even had our own tap.

That beer always tasted the best.

Can tell some good stories about truck drivers and forkies that worked at breweries. God looks after drunks and Brewery workers I can tell you.
FollowupID: 783888

Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:17

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:17
As canned beer goes, XXXX Gold or Carlton Mid for a quick thirst quench, Carlton Draught Or Dr Tims for a night time session.

Better yet, Bundy Select Vat cans! Or carry a bottle & some cans of coke & mix your own!!!

AnswerID: 506724

Follow Up By: Member - OnYaBike - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 20:48

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 20:48
And you can get a 30 pack for a reasonable price in the bigger centres. I'll buy whichever is the cheapest at the time. Once as a Queenslander I was a diehard XXXX drinker but now like most Australians I don't mind a flavour change once in a while.
And the worst? PNG's SP. "Be specific - drink South Pacific." I once flew down from Bamaga on a DC3 which had just done a PNG trip and the only beer they had was SP. Or so they said, they were probably trying to get rid of it and knew we'd drink it rather than go without.
FollowupID: 783782

Follow Up By: sweetnam - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 09:06

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 09:06
Beer is for foreplay

Bundy Red Bottle - Coke Zero cans, mixed to your preference

Can often end up a bit messy but thats half the fun
FollowupID: 783830

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 13:25

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 13:25
go the xxxx and follow up with Bundy and dry just to give the night a final farewell, and I am a west Aussie. I have been told I have no taste in drink preferences, or foot ball teams.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

FollowupID: 783861

Reply By: didjabringabeer - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:38

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:38
Hi Sludgie. Like you I drink stubbies at home Corona or Boag. When away it's
VB full strength for me. Brian
AnswerID: 506725

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:59

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 19:59
Well IMHO Tooheys New is a good thirst quencher .

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 506729

Reply By: Member - J&R - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:02

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:02
There is no good beer that comes from a can.
AnswerID: 506733

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:40

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:40
Yep, I'd go along with that. Any GOOD beer comes in glass and I will put up with the extra weight to have a good drop.

Boags, Millers Draught, Carlton Cold.

VB? Is that actually classed as beer?? lol

Only one worse is Emu Export, tastes like battery acid mixed with drain cleaner.

FollowupID: 783784

Follow Up By: Tim - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 22:03

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 22:03
Yeah I have to agree.
FollowupID: 783789

Follow Up By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 23:02

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 23:02
As said good beer comes in stubbies West End Draught, Carlton Cold, if you have space to cart it in you have space to cart the empties out.
I've seen more cans rub through than I've seen stubbies busted.

Graham
FollowupID: 783799

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 08:28

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 08:28
I,too,prefer beer from a stubbie, & certainly dont compromise my
preferences by drinking cans on the road..no matter what the
perceived advantages.
I'm not that fussy, but gravitate to Melbourne Bitter or Coopers
Pale Ale.
cheers....hic....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 783825

Reply By: slime - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:33

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:33
Took a few cartons of Heineken 500ml cans from Dan Murphys to Gnaraloo last year. Went down like water. Only downside after drinking from 500ml can or glass is the usual 330-375ml is too small. Good Luck.
AnswerID: 506735

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 22:16

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 22:16
Hi Slime,
At $54.00 per slab at Dan Murphys it is one of the best value as the cans are full strength and 500ml.

FollowupID: 783791

Reply By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:35

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:35
When you are in the outback you don't always get much choice, but you can ALWAYS get VB green and now that it is back to 4.9% to me its a no brainer.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 506736

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Mar 15, 2013 at 23:34

Friday, Mar 15, 2013 at 23:34
After much, self funded, study I changed my beer of choice to VB green, in cans.

The reasons are - I can drink it if it's not cold, cans won't break where we go, I can crush the cans to bring back and when we're away the most common choice of beers for sale are VB super or XXXX Gold.
I can't drink the Gold without getting a headache, so it's VB.

The new VB is great. 6 cans at night and I feel great in the morning (currently in full training for a few rounds in Brophy's tent at Birdsville in September, so it's 6 VB a night whether I want them, or not).

Hoo roo,
FollowupID: 783997

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:48

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:48
Best canned beer is one that doesn't fizzle and leak on corrugated roads.
I like the Coopers Light and Dr Tims because they are packed properly in carboard 6 packs and seem to survive the corrugations.
AnswerID: 506740

Follow Up By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:53

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:53
Good point. I wouldn't have thought of the packaging.
FollowupID: 783786

Reply By: Bill BD - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:52

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 21:52
Swan Draught.

Can, glass, or PET plastic - I can't taste the difference. I suspect in a blind tasting few could pick can from bottled beer.
AnswerID: 506741

Reply By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 23:42

Wednesday, Mar 13, 2013 at 23:42
With cans its simple, a whole heep of stubbie holders and put the cans in the holders before going in the fridge. If its really rough put the cans in the carton also in stubbie holders. Personally I do not have this problem because the cans do not travel far enough to wear through. A crushed can does not take up much room in the rubbish bag much easier to carry out.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 506753

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 06:55

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 06:55
When in Australia drink Australian Beer. So that rules out any XXXX, Tooheys, Carlton, (VB, Fosters, Mid Strengh, Boags, Cascade, Tooths, Powers)etc.
XXXX = JAPANESE OWNED
CARLTON = SOUTH AFRICAN OWNED
Looks like you have to drink Coopers or a boutique beer.
BUT I hate to suggest it, Woolworths (& probably Coles) now own their own Australian Breweries and their house brand beers are Australian.
Me as an ex Castlemaine Tooheys and CUB employee will now drink only two types of beer: That which is offered free by a fellow camper and one of the Woolworths beers, when on special.
Stay well & stay safe
PeterM
FollowupID: 783817

Reply By: Ol' Bunky - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 10:02

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 10:02
Mate, if you drink Redback, you'll drink anything........
AnswerID: 506764

Follow Up By: Sludgie W.A - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 13:21

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 13:21
Ouch, now that hurts Ol' Bunky. It is the only way to keep my scrounging mates from drinking my beer. I suppose your a XXXX or South Australian drinker then and haven't enjoyed the taste of a refreshing wheat beer :)
Sludgie

FollowupID: 783860

Reply By: Smouch - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 12:37

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 12:37
Hieneken and Becks are easy to find in cans. Available in 500ml cans to.

Personal choice of course but the Hieneken probably being the better out of the two.
AnswerID: 506774

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 00:10

Saturday, Mar 16, 2013 at 00:10
I like the Hieneken 5 litre can LOL

Anthony
FollowupID: 783998

Reply By: dindy - Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 14:24

Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 14:24
There is no such thing as a bad beer, some are just better than others.

Particularly when you have run out on a screaming hot day and your mate has an esky full of cold chinese mid strength!
AnswerID: 506780