Little Desert - Labour Day Weekend

Submitted: Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 12:06
ThreadID: 10130 Views:2339 Replies:9 FollowUps:37
Just a reminder to everyone that a few of us are heading up to the Little Desert over the Labour Day Weekend (March 5,6,7,8).

Some are staying in the caravan park in Dimboola, some are camping at Horseshoe bend. It is going to be a great weekend of relaxation, driving and socialising.

Mrs Al has booked some sites at the Dimboola CP, so if you want to contact her to get a spot, you can do so via grierson@hotkey.net.au

So, in finishing..........look forward to seeing as many of you there as possible.Just Do It!

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 12:51

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 12:51
Hi Glenn
Mrs Al WTH new car now staying in the CP what comes next a Motel ?... LOL
Seriously can't you get the van to Horseshoe Bend ?

What Channel will you be on ?
Where on CH15 I think we may be at or near Horseshoe Bend on the Sunday PM

CheersPrado TD Auto
AnswerID: 44844

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 13:05

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 13:05
hey watch it Prado Man !.lol..Mrs. Al's not the only one in the CP...if any one wants to join me and my Glayva, sparkling red and whatever else I may bring along..it'll be fun...and before you ask..the car can go in the sand...providing Mr. Al lets it...ahahhahahaha....otherwise...Mrs. Al will jump in someone elses' car to go for a ride...

LynLife - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 306999

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 13:52

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 13:52
Hi Bernie,

Not sure what channel we will be on, but I will keep my ear out on channel 15.

CheersJust Do It!

FollowupID: 307000

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:01

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:01
Hi Mrs Al I'm sure you will enjoy the new "truck", will it have a swing out wheel carrier ?? ... LOL Eric was talking about his wife and the caravan is he going ? according to the map you can take vans to Horseshoe bend.
Looking forward to meeting you all

PS do any of your car friends supply cars for Weddings ?Prado TD Auto
FollowupID: 307001

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:06

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:06
Hi Bernie..I will enjoy my new "truck"..lol..not sure about the wheel carrier..geez I've got a reputation as a swinger haven't I..hahaha...Eric is in consultations with his wife about going at the moment..so I don't know...yes Vans can get into Horseshoe Bend, but we're opting for the CP this time....looking forward to meeting you too....

and re cars for weddings...yes we do....

email me if you want to talk about it....

Lyn grierson@hotkey.net.auLife - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307002

Follow Up By: Member - Eric- Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 18:23

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 18:23
Just to add my 10c worth , I also have wedding cars 2 convertible Caddilacs, if you wanted something faster hahahahaha.

PsI think I have the wife on good to go Venus Bay
FollowupID: 307022

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:28

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:28
Hi Glenn

Jen. is dead keen to go for the weekend and I reckon that she would be keen on the caravan park - but we are a bit tied up with our ten year old playing cricket on Sunday morning. Not sure it would be worth coming down on Sunday arvo just to leave on the Monday - might have to stay in a motel!! How long does it take to get there from Melbourne?

Will have to think it a bit. Are you a nice sort of bloke? I reckon there might be space for the five of us sleeping in the back of that orange thing with Willem - such a welcoming fella.

Andrew2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
AnswerID: 44850

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:41

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 14:41
From Rowville it is approx 4 to 5 hrs. I believe you are near Healsville, so it may take you longer.

What are they doing playing cricket on a long weekend? Have they no idea?

As for being a nice sort of bloke....you will find out at WandinJust Do It!

FollowupID: 307003

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 15:22

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 15:22
Healsville!!!!! Maaaa hasn't been taking her medication I think. Warrandyte is the place. I reckon she is thinking about her parents who came out with the first fleet and were pioneers in the Healesville area.
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowupID: 307005

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 15:39

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 15:39
Andrew,

Warrandyte - Ring Road - Western Highway - Ballarat - Dimboola - all up abou four hours I would imagine.

Hopefully we'll see you there!"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
FollowupID: 307006

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 15:44

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 15:44
Andrew...MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA hasn't been taking medication..I think perhaps when I mentioned to Glenn where you were from...he'd had a few sparkling reds...hahaha...and I may have too...so that could account for the confusion...it'll take you just over 4 hours I reckon...

and as for first fleeters...not quite...can't wait to shake your hand at Wandin...ahahahhahaha...

Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307007

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 16:10

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 16:10
Lyn, Are you wearing the flannelette shirt with the straw hat again so everyone will recognise you. And the mini skirt with the big boots LOLDare to Lead not to Follow
FollowupID: 307012

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 16:15

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 16:15
I might wear a mini...but then again No...as for the straw hat and shirt you never know your luck in a big city...or an outer eastern area

Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307013

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:16

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:16
I can't believe that they are playing cricket on the long weekend. Luke is in the under 12's cricket and I am told that they play Saturday and Sunday mornings for the Semi-finals. (And on Monday if it is raining). Jen said there is no way that she is going on Sunday after cricket so I think I am "stuffed."
Should have a Day trip sometime somewhere somehow. See you at Wandin anyway!! As long as Geoff and Jen; Geoff and Karen; Geoff and Willem are all there!
FollowupID: 307037

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:36

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:36
Sorry Andrew...my mistake...I don't know why I thought Healsville...Mrs Al did tell me Warrandyte, I just forgot.

It would be a shame to miss the weekend.....what are the chances of your son being dropped/cracking a rib/doing an ankle/taking banned substances?Just Do It!

FollowupID: 307038

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:45

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:45
She is pretty hard to understand sometimes when her false teeth fall down and she has that drooling problem that causes her to slur her words. You need to stand well back with the Dyte of Warrandyte as there is quite a spray.

It is a shame to miss a weekend away cos I dont get that many chances to get away and there always seems to be something on that stops us going to stuff. I am surprised that nothing has some up to stop our Birdsville trip at Easter (so far). You never know - there might be a chance of a something happening. Maybe bowlers ball or something!
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 307040

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:58

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:58
Don't speak too soon Andrew...what with the current weather conditions and all, and Ruth's info on the Rivers near BirdsvilleJust Do It!

FollowupID: 307042

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:45

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:45
I have been thinking about that..... have thought in the back of my mind (there is a lot of space back there) that we might end up going to the Ayre Peninsula or to somewhere like Bermagui if we can't get up north. We have two months but you never know. Might just end up going to Wonnanagatta for a couple of weeks - or Mansfield or Yea or Lilydale or Warrandyte for that matter.
Thanks for cheering me up!!!
2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 307048

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:52

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:52
So you have April/May off? Too bad it wasnt June/July...you could have joined me crossing the Simpson/Innamincka/Flinders Ranges.

Think positively and all will be OK : )Just Do It!

FollowupID: 307051

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:01

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:01
Did you hear my teeth grinding.... I have two weeks in April over school holidays for Birdsville etc, and three weeks in September when we are going to Innamincka and Flinders. We'll have to have a yarn about it after your trip. Going up to Mansfield in February for a weekend and WERE going to Little Desert in March. :o))
Live is pretty good really so hopefully most of it will come off!
FollowupID: 307054

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:08

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:08
Oh you will love Innamincka...great place to relax. I can't wait to get to Flinders Ranges as I have been meaning to get there for years. If you want a look at where I have been recently, go to

link text (fingers crossed this works)Just Do It!
www.4wdadventureoz.com

FollowupID: 307057

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:10

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:10
Bugger, it didn't work. Try again

link textJust Do It!
www.4wdadventureoz.com

FollowupID: 307058

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 09:26

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 09:26
Andrew!....false teeth!...drooling!...hahhaha...oh boy am I looking forward to meeting you....flattery will get you everywhere...

Lyn
Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307087

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 15:51

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 15:51
Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
It's a bit rough what that imposter has written about you. I would never write something like that stuff. Please be kind when you meet me coz I am a very sensitive person and easily hurt! I feel nervous already....

P.S. Is Mr Al cute and is he muscular?2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 307119

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 12:21

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 12:21
Andrew - why do you ask about Mr. Al? Are you after a Seachange?..hmmmm !...lol..Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307180

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 14:38

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 14:38
I like the strong silent type2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
FollowupID: 307189

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 14:43

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 14:43
Andrew..you might be in luck !Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307191

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:05

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:05
You can count me in for the 4 days of camping at Horseshoe bend. Should have the Kia and camping gear well and truly sorted by then.
AnswerID: 44883

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:14

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:14
Yep....I'll be there...probably bring an old mate with as my missus is involved with something else(no, not someone else!) and can't make it....Glenn, you had better put some sort of sign up at Horseshoe Bend so we may know where to join in the queue for a camp spot.

Willem

Googs Lake camp
AnswerID: 44902

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:17

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:17
Great Willem...looking forward to meeting you.

I will be staying in the CP, but will try and get to Dimboola by lunchtime Friday. I will go straight to Horshoe Bend to try and get some spots. Just look for the 80 Series with the EO wheel cover.

CheersJust Do It!
http://www.4wdadventureoz.com

FollowupID: 307059

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 01:19

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 01:19
I might try to get to Horseshoe bend on the Thursday afternoon/evening and "nail a few pegs in", so any idea of numbers would be appreciated.
FollowupID: 307072

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 00:24

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 00:24
you know i'll be there in the rough stuff though with the goanna's at horshoe bend.
although i know a cheap spot over he river.

bring on the sparkling red too mrs Al.
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
AnswerID: 44912

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 00:38

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 00:38
Hi Toonfish very nice spot in the Wail

cheersPrado TD Auto
FollowupID: 307070

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 09:21

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 09:21
Hiya Toonie...no worries about the Sparkling Red..shall be going to Cope Williams before I go.......Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307086

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 10:47

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 10:47
CONISTON (NV) “Splendid blended sparkling red” What began as a one off to use a number of small parcels of aging reds has become a most definitive proper sparkling wine with very wide acceptance both with and without food.

now we are talking!

grab 21999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
FollowupID: 307102

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 12:39

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 12:39
Toonie...The Milawa Merlot is yummy too...Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307185

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 00:34

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 00:34
Hi Glenn looks like it might be harder to get a spot at the CP than horseshoe bend....LOL
I noticed you have 2 awnings on your rig, I am looking at one for the rear on a roof bar any details appreciated
Check photo for email add.

Re your link page could not get it to work.

CheersPrado TD Auto
AnswerID: 44914

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 11:00

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 11:00
Hi Bernie, Mrs Al has booked some sites in the CP. Contact her if you would like to take up one of the sites.

As for the awnings:

one is from Kaymar and is canvas. I cannot remeber the exact dimensions, but it is approx 2 metres wide by 2.5 metres extension. $325? picked up.

the second is from Campout Products link text and this is vinyl and is approx 2.1 metres wide by 3 metres extension. $295 delivered

The one from Campout Products is better quality and has a great attachment for the roof rack - no drilling\required. The only problem it has is that it can get a bit warm underneath if there is no wind.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 307171

Reply By: John - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 01:38

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 01:38
I think that I might be there also, at the bend.
Glenn save another spot.

AnswerID: 44920

Reply By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 17:12

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 17:12
Sounds good. Hope to make it along for a couple of days at the least. Don't know where I'm camping but it wont be the caravan park or the bends which don't appear to be much better but I'll be solo and very mobile so could be anywhere.

So whats the plan, anything arranged, whose leading the trips and where exactly is the muster HQ BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
AnswerID: 44979

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 11:05

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 11:05
Hi Mad Dog,

Nothing much has been planned in the way of drives yet. I will assume that we will meet at Horseshoe Bend each morning (if able) and decide then.

I am sure there will be some (like me) who have traversed LD before and so know some the good and bad bits.

As this is not even close to an organised trip of any sort, nor a club trip, for insurance purposes, it will be each to their own I guess.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 307172

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 21:34

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 21:34
Glenn, you know I'll be there even though Willem has given me the flick and we're travelling seperately. I didn't realise my personal problems were so well known. LOLDare to Lead not to Follow
AnswerID: 45002

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 11:07

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 11:07
Hi Des,

Well I haven't spread any rumours, nor heard any about your personal problems so not sure what you are referring too. Looking forward to catching up in person Des.

CheersJust Do It!

FollowupID: 307173

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 12:43

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 12:43
Des...what sort of personal problems...and are they anything I should be worried about?..I'm nervous about Feb 21 now...lol..Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307186

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 22:30

Sunday, Feb 01, 2004 at 22:30
Mainly uncontrollable flatulence, loud belching, lack of potty training, wondering hands after a couple of dinks covers the worst of them.
Also been known to chat people up on the net. Won't mention the snoring.
JJ's still sound good?
MS (mildly smirking)
How did the honeymoon go Mrs Al.Dare to Lead not to Follow
FollowupID: 307228

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 06:57

Monday, Feb 02, 2004 at 06:57
Oh those problems...sounds ok to me...ahhahha...though...JJ"s is a classy place I think...so perhaps try and control the flatulence until at least after the meal...!!!

the honeymoon was fine....Life - Live it , Love it !

FollowupID: 307239