Alcohol in the out back.do people stick to 1 slab per car ?

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 12:58
ThreadID: 101383 Views:4844 Replies:21 FollowUps:57
Hi all i hope your enjoying your Easter break.Before i ask i am not a heavy drinker or a drunken yobo.I have noticed reading the blogs that most 4x4 people sit around a camp fire at night and have a few beers and talk about there travels.If you are in remote places or staying for a period of time,1 slab wont go the distance. Do people obey this rule?Do the police check your van for beer?If you dont make it obvious and dont cause problems,do the police leave you alone?If found with more than 1 slab what happens?I have read the fines but do they really impose this?I assume if you are not selling or supplying the locals with grog they would leave you alone is this true?Thanks Stuart and Gunny

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:08

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:08
Not the normal drinkers here. For the Simpson three week drive I took a slab and came home with six cans. For a weekend I may take two cans. May not take any or maybe six. Why do we all have to drink. I take what I feel like. I didn't even any for the long trip to the Cape. We also do not take wine. I would rather a good cuppa. Tea not coffee. Not yanks.

I said not the norm.

AnswerID: 507859

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 15:59

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 15:59
Hi PJR,Read what Sandman wrote,reply no 6.When traveling should we be inconvenienced by minority groups that spoil things for the large majority who do the right thing?Food for thought i guess.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785155

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:05

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:05
Geez your'e bigoted Phil........... "Not Yanks"!!
I guess that you are not aware that coffee has been produced in Australia since 1832.

FollowupID: 785156

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:46

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:46

I was waiting for that. Hi

Bigoted! I just can't stand the way everyone follows them.

Stuart

I am sick of being ruled by or dictated to by minority groups. Man has survived for centuries by following the will of the majority. They say we are governed by the majority. Pigs. It's the minority who choose who the majority vote for. Thus it's eventuality the minorities choice who gets elected. All the way from the "in crowd" at party meetings to the top.

It's the minority who get drunk why should I be limited to just a dictated number chosen by some shiny bottomed beaurocrat. Not.

Where did all that come from???

FollowupID: 785162

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:54

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:54
Ahhh, Phil, There is a lot I don't like about America either......but I do like my coffee. However when camping, black tea is simpler for me. That way I can look forward to a good espresso coffee when I get home.

FollowupID: 785164

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:09

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:09
Depends on the locatin most places there is no limit – but I have been to aboriginal communities up The Cape where there is a complete ban – you risk $1000s in fines and confiscation of your motor vehicle if you flout these bans.
AnswerID: 507860

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:29

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:29
We didn't take any but I seem to recall that you can carry a few (???) up the Cape if a tourist or something. I could easily be wrong though.

FollowupID: 785146

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 14:14

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 14:14
For the most part you can carry the whole brewery if you stay on the 'through' roads. You cannot, however, go into any community carrying more than the allowed quantity. I understand there are moves afoot by the Newman LNP govt in QLD to repeal these laws but for the moment they remain in place. Always a good idea to check with the relevant department or HERE for the current rules and allowances.
FollowupID: 785151

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:10

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:10
What one slab rule are you talking about ????
AnswerID: 507861

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:11

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:11
H Aussi Traveler.In certain areas where the locals cause problems when drunk they have put limits on how much alcohol that travelers can take.Which inconveniences the majority of people who do the right thing because of a minority.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785157

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:37

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:37
I have never heard about a one carton rule?
There are different bans for different areas, not one rule for the "outback".......where is the outback?.........one persons outback is anothers backyard??????
You will need to explain where you are going to get any sort of resonable answers.

AnswerID: 507863

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:42

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:42
Hi Hairy.Cape York in July.Thanks mate
FollowupID: 785147

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:51

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 13:51
Have a look at this LINK....might help
FollowupID: 785148

Follow Up By: Happy Frank - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:42

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:42
When I was younger the one carton rule was one carton, per man, per day.
FollowupID: 785228

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:19

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:19
Still is Frank! LOL
FollowupID: 785231

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 17:01

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 17:01
No it's not, it's one carton per day per man plus one....all ways has been.

Noel K.
FollowupID: 785249

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 14:29

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 14:29
As a general rule, I take enough to see the Mrs. & myself through the first week or so of a trip, then top up as needed at whatever local bottle shop there is (helps the local economy).

When on The Cape York Peninsular I take two cartons to start with, then if I need more, grab another one at Archer River or the Bamaga Canteen, that was a few years ago & it may have changed by now but you could only buy one carton per car.

If you run out, the as Phil says, have a cuppa!

AnswerID: 507866

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:17

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:17
Hi Ozrover.I think you can only travel with 1 carton now.What do you think about what Sandman had to say.Reply no 6 .Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785159

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:21

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:21
How much do you slug for a carton now Jeff?
FollowupID: 785223

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:45

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:45
Hairy,
$65 for mid x 30, $75 for heavies x 30 & $77 for premiums x 24.

Stuart & Gunny,
There is a lot of discussion on here about the rights & wrongs of carrying alcohol while travelling, but the simple fact is while it's illegal to take alcohol to dry communities like Finke, the local police are realists & as long as you are passing through & not staying they don't mind.

What I don't understand is some peoples need to take ridiculous amounts of alcohol, be it beer, spirits of wine, with them from home.

Surely if you run out of your favorite tipple, then try something different from where ever it is that you are at that time, & if you can't for what ever reason, then do without!

FollowupID: 785229

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 15:39

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 15:39
Hi there Stuart and Gunny,

I don't give a bugger about any "rules" that may apply.
I too am not a heavy drinker but we take whatever supplies we determine we need for a trip, before requiring a stock up of one of the other of our supplies.

Depending on the trip we are taking, we have stocked up with a slab (cans) of beer, another of cider and a dozen or more of red and white wine, estimating what we need for the length of trip and availability of additional supplies, if required.

I don't care where I am heading and whose "property" I may be traversing.
The supplies are not "advertised" and there would be no need for anyone to search for what I may or may not have.

Stupid rules such as this, that may, or may not be applied in certain areas are meant to stop supply to those communities amongst us, that cannot control there intake of alcohol.

I do not carry additional supplies for anyone other than the immediate group of friends I am traveling with and I object most strongly to anyone (in authority or otherwise) telling me what I may carry at any one time.

I see no reason why a member of the various State, or Territory Police forces would want to search for how many containers I have on board and would object if challenged up to and including a court appearance.

Basically. what I am saying is, take whatever you need for your own personal needs for a given trip and don't concern yourself with any "local" rules that may apply for traveling through a ""forbidden" area, in case the locals "relieve" you of said supplies.

AnswerID: 507869

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:26

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:26
Hi Sandman.Your point of view i think most people will agree with but dont have the balls to say it.You view point is not arty farty and PC.It is a shame that a minority can spoil things for the majority who do the right thing.If they had heavy fines for those who sold or supplied grog to the locals i could understand that.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785161

Follow Up By: Member - neville G (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:52

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:52
Hi Bill,
Agree entirely. Some years back I travelled with three friends who were in the wine making business and we did around fifteen trips (one each year) of about six weeks duration and covered a great part of this wonderfull country. We passed thru and bought fuel from many comunities all over the country. We travelled in two vehicles, usually a Toyota ute and a Toyota wagon and the standard grog load was around 150 Ltrs. dry wine, both red and white, and several slabs of cans. We carried the wine in 25ltr. plastic drums and decantered it as required into the same bags that go into those boxes. We kept everything under cover and of course did not drink when either in of near a comunity. We were never challenged, I guess we may have been lucky.
I am too old to do these wonderfull trips now and one of the crew has passed away, they were great days and we caused no one any trouble.
Cheers, Bundy
FollowupID: 785163

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:59

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 16:59
S and G,
they have very heavy fines for supplying alcohol to those communities.

The cape is virtually under aboriginal title so it is their land.

If some had lived in and around aboriginal communities they would see what the damage those few do, and I don't mean just the odd fight.

It is devastating for the families that live there.

I don't know the answer but you can be assured the cops come down hard on sly groggers.
FollowupID: 785165

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:10

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:10
Hi Rockape.I dont intend selling grog to anyone,local or anyone else.Im just talking about personal consumption.If im looking around the cape and fishing i dont intend to come into town every week to buy a carton.Particularly if the fish are biting and im having fun.Two cartoons will last me 3 weeks unless i meet up with good company and have a few late night BBQ and story swapping.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785166

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:32

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:32
I am of like minds but in one respect I differ. If the law says 6 cans then that is the maximum I will carry. Being one who would prefer tea to coffee and wine anytime, it suits me go along with the regulations. Do I like being told I can only carry so much by a minority I am buggered if I am.

But then again I will also respect the wishes and rights of the locals. Note that I said locals!!! Not the wishes or likes of a polished tail twit at a desk somewhere so remote that he would have trouble spelling the local name. Maybe he doesn't even know where Oodnadatta is.

A bit here:
I have to depart the computer for the evening. I have a roast on with heaps steamed vegetables, gravy and waffles for sweets. The grand kids and parents are visiting for the evening. (or is it a baked dinner that they want). Hmmm. We have a new kitchen with two ovens. It's a ripper.

Note that I said vegetables not "veg". Grrrrrr

Catchya Suffer you lot. Just all for us.

Happy Easter to all

FollowupID: 785168

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:33

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:33
Stuart and the big fella,
I was just answering your reply about those who do sell. Quote"If they had heavy fines for those who sold or supplied grog to the locals"

I am sure you and all others on this site are not going to sly grog. Mate you are certainly not talking to a tee totaler here either. I have a beer i front of me right now. Millers genuine draft and it is about 2 degrees C.

They had to bring in laws to try and control the grog, which many times fails I am afraid. To see a mother trying to sell herself to white blokes for a can of beer in front of her kids or being bashed with a stick by the father still chills me to the bone. The rape of young girls is very common also. These are very common occurrence and not a one or two of, so the mould is set and history repeats itself.

FollowupID: 785169

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:52

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 17:52
Phil your tea sounded great until you said steamed veg.Why spoil a roast tea by not having roast vegetables.Enjoy yourself and have a good night.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785170

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 18:01

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 18:01
This is the boss. Real boss that is. He is baking the potatoes. All the other vegetables are steamed. Heaps better.

FollowupID: 785171

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 18:06

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 18:06
Rockape unfortunately you are correct it is very sad the way some kids and people live.There lives start well behind the eight ball the day they are born.The restrictions on grog does not appear to have accomplished much.I think all we can do is have a zero tolerance on all crime in these areas until they get them under control.Besides having to build more jails,make people accountable for there action,educating them to give them hope plus supporting them on a number of levels nothing will change.As a nation we have not learned throwing money at a problem does not fix it.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785172

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 18:36

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 18:36
When will the bigoted red necks get it that the minority do not make these rules, it is the government voted in by the majority that make these rules.

Just so as we understand each other I have lived in many aboriginal communities over the years and still do, I have seen more drunken violence in cities by white people than I have ever seen by aboriginal people anywhere.

By the way sandman, if you think the authorities can't or wont do anything if you get caught, think again, because I have seen the result of those who thought the same thing and it wasn't pretty.

FollowupID: 785175

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:21

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:21
There may be rules which deserve to be challenged but these aren't among them. If we all did what we think is best for ourselves we'd have a society in chaos. My observation is that people who thumb their noses at laws because they think they know better or because it suits them generally do the same thing regularly. Their logic? I'm not harming anyone. I'm careful. My small indiscretion won't have much impact. We all know the drill: don't collect wood - "but what's a few logs" ; don't dump oil - "but what's a few litres of oil going to do to the bush, it's a natural product"; don't use soaps and detergents near water sources - "but what difference will my few suds make". It's nice to have a beer around a campfire but if you're that desperate you can't live with the laws there are plenty of other areas to camp and visit.
FollowupID: 785180

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:33

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:33
Yeah, I've been waiting for some negative type to take the opposite approach.

So what gives you the idea that I am a bigoted recd neck?

I just don't believe the rules were introduced to stop the majority of travellers from traversing from point A to point B and having to consume their excess beverages (or throw them away) because they may be crossing aboriginal land, whether they even know it or not.

As I and others have said, the authorities are not interested in what I, or my family may consume. They are concerned about stopping undesirables from flogging alcohol to these communities.

If any supplies are not openly displayed in a vehicle and not consumed whilst on tribal land, the authorities would have no cause to search for what may, or may not be on board.

I regard myself as a normally law abiding citizen who loves travelling our remote country areas.
In this case I just happen to object to a silly "regional" rule that tries to tell me what I can take on a trip with me.
It does nothing to resolve the problem with excess alcohol consumption by folk that otherwise have nothing else to do, regardless of how they do it.

I remember one trip I was on to the Top End.
I met a Police Sergeant in the pub of a small fishing town. I happened to mention to him that I observed on more than one occasion, aboriginals who walked out on to the roadway to flag down passing motorists, usually a few kilometres out of a township.
The Sergeant said "you didn't stop did you? if they get in your way run the buggers over."
This obviously happens quite a bit and perhaps some folk do stop to find a few more come out of the scrub.

Oh, by the way. The pub we were at was owned by the aboriginal community but managed by "other Australians".
On the fridge doors behind the bar was a list of individuals who had restrictions placed on them by their tribal elders as to how much alcohol (if any) they were allowed to purchase.

Most communities are managed to the best of their combined efforts to stop excess consumption and the resulting violence that follows.
They don't always have a resident police officer to take care of things so they are controlled by the tribal elders.

Where things go pear shaped is when a group of aboriginals have been ostracised by their communities and are not accepted by white folk either.
These are often the type that cause continual trouble and placing restrictions on everyone else, as to what they may take on holiday with them, does nothing to alleviate the problem.

That is all I have to say on this matter.

FollowupID: 785186

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:37

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:37
And exactly the reason we take packaged wood from home when we can. Note the three bags on the roof for our Simpson drive.

FollowupID: 785189

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:53

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:53
Hi Sand Man you should keep writing because you speak common sense and logic stuffs most people up.Plus you are articulate and explain your points well.Happy traveling. Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785192

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:27

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:27
I understand your comment Sandman but "law abiding" people can't pick and choose the laws they will abide by, irrespective of how they rationalise it. I remember being quite bemused at an unexpected fruit fly inspection post on the SA border a couple of years back when we were asked to hand over the "fresh food" which we had purchased that morning from a large Broken Hill supermarket. We were going bush to do some survey work and not travelling into a fruit fly area but nevertheless we had to comply with the regulations. As we were unloading, a supermarket semi was waved through without inspection - no doubt carrying exactly the same products from the same eastern regions as our Broken Hill purchases.The irony wasn't lost on us so we asked why they were allowed through. We knew the answer, we were simply making the obvious point that tonnes of the same product were being transported across the border and being sold round the state without inspection so what was the point in targeting individuals who had purchased similar products from the same company. It's quite silly when you examine it but it's the law and we abided by it, as you must.
FollowupID: 785224

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:32

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:32
Actually Bazooka, people CAN "pick and choose the laws they will abide by". However they have no rights to do so and can expect to suffer the consequences.

FollowupID: 785226

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:26

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:26
Gday Bazooka,
Just curious.......If your driving down the road and notice you've accidentily crept over the speed limit, do you call in at the local Police Staion and make a donation?
FollowupID: 785233

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:28

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:28
Allan.

Yes people can pick and choose the laws to abide by. Some ignore the speed limits, some rob banks and some drive illegally modified cars. Such is free will. But if they choose to NOT abide by any single one then they can not be "law abiding".

And isn't it frustrating when you are going to turn north at Yunta and have to dump it all. But thems the rules.

Most responsible and sociably mindfull people try to be law abiding but I wonder how many out of date and antiquated laws we break. As far as I know the law that a man with a red flag must proceed an automobile has not yet been repealled. I wonder if that is true. Interesting hey!!!

I just finished rewiring all the accessories circuits in the car. Running all the accessory circuits through a new fuse box and new relays. Ensuring that the fog lights only able to be on when we have at least the parkers on. The fog lights can be switched off by a separate switch on the center console. I believe the car is now "law abiding".

FollowupID: 785234

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:30

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 13:30
Hairy!!!

Of course we all do that. Don't you???

FollowupID: 785235

Follow Up By: Denis H - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 07:26

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 07:26
Phil, All a bit deep for me this beer, fire wood, Old Soldier :-)

PS Kids, and Grankids here also so busy feeding the mod :-)
FollowupID: 785272

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 08:39

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 08:39
Hi DEnis

Happy Easter mate. Just went a bit OT with the wood issue. I choose to not pick up wood when they say not to. That's why the wood thing.

PS: Still kicking and getting around. Not into carrying slabs so it's is a bit out of my league this topic.

They all left yesterday so it's a quiet house again. Bent the car. No pinstriping down the left. All scratched off. Front and rear bars to be replaced also.

Hi to Colleen and dogs.

FollowupID: 785276

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 08:55

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 08:55
PS: The wood is for the still. Shhhhhh

FollowupID: 785279

Reply By: Burnt Damper - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:15

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:15
1 x Carton each or per vehicle north of the Jardine River if I can remember correctly
last year.
$27,000 fine wether you like it or not, and it is policed.
Last year a fella in a van following 7 motorbikes with parts,camping gear etc was pulled up, checked over and had 8 carton of beer. 1 for himself 1 for each of the riders, was given a choice pour 7 cartons onto the ground pay the $27,000 fine or each rider had to carry a carton each. Needless to say each bike rider put their packs etc in the car and carried the beer.
That my friends is a true story.
Whether you like the rules or not they are there and are expected to be followed. Can't see you people who reckon it doesn't apply to you go out and rob a bank and expect to get away with it. I only stole a $100,000 your honour that's all I needed.
Think about it!
You would probably find the regulations on the net if you entered alcohol regulations for Bamaga.
Beautiful part of the world the Cape and Lakefeild National Park, spent 5months there last year. Cheers
AnswerID: 507879

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:37

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 20:37
Hi Burnt Damper thanks for your in put.I come from Victoria and down here the police can not search anyone unless they have reasonable suspicion or a search warrant.I take it that this does not apply in QLD.If not i understand in restricted alcohol areas they can.In saying that if people are in there residence,i see that as different to a bag search at the football.But i see there point.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785188

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 14:17

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 14:17
Stuart and Gunny

Down here in Victoria they cannot search anyone etc, so they just shoot you.

In outback WA, QLD, NT they can do whatever they like (including killing people, knowing full well they'll get away with it).

BTW how do you tell the difference between illegal grog runners and a traveller loaded to the gunwales with grog for their personal consumption?
FollowupID: 785238

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 10:46

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 10:46
Cantsearch anybody unless they have reasonable suspicion........

OH dear.......every copper has had the concept of what constitutes "reasonable cause".....and it don't take much.

If challenged in court all they have to do is recount situations where "similar suspicions" have proven correct.

They don't need proof of anything, just a "well founded suspicion".

Before random breath testing was specifically legeslated, they would pull you up for a "Licence check" then find "reasonable cause" to breath test you.

Look around almost any vehicle and any self respecting copper should be able to find "reasonable cause" for just about anything they may want to search for.

FollowupID: 785285

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 21:18

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 21:18
Hi Stuart,

I dont take cartons I take a coupla bottles of Bundy. I have a few Strong sippers at night. I dont see why you cant take a few cartons per vehicle as some else issue with the demon grog shouldn't effect someone who has no issues.

Weve really become the nanny state in the nanny country.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 507885

Follow Up By: Member - Stuart and Gunny - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 21:24

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 21:24
Hi Wilko i dont wish to be the bearer of bad news but i dont think you can go into a restricted area with spirits.In saying that enjoy your travels.Bye Stuart and Gunny
FollowupID: 785200

Reply By: kevmac....(WA) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 22:32

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 22:32
All I do know , is that in some northwest WA towns there are strong restrictions on takeaway alcohol sales for allegedly obvious reasons. also have been restricted alcohol sales in NT at a lot of wayside inns since I had been up there in the 1970's too.Many areas I had to visit whilst working there it was a criminal offence to take any alcohol in.
AnswerID: 507891

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 22:37

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 22:37
Stuart @ Gunny!! This minority controlling the majority thing has been around for centuries! Some examples:
We build jails and courts and pay people to run them for the minority
We have security tags on clothes and goods in stores to stop the minority stealing
We check tickets on trains to stop the minority having a free ride
We have alcohol level checks for a small number who want to drink and drive.. the list goes on. Sadly its part of life and if it keep alcohol out of dry communities, its a small price to pay. You can always buy more further up the road. Michael

AnswerID: 507892

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 22:52

Saturday, Mar 30, 2013 at 22:52
Here Here .
FollowupID: 785205

Follow Up By: Burnt Damper - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 10:36

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 10:36
My feelings exactly. Imagine what might happen if we returned boats with all people on board back to where they left!
FollowupID: 785215

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 00:06

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 00:06
Hi Stuart and Gunny

I can only speak about the Northern Territory. When transiting, the law provides a defence for transporting liquor across a prescribed area, as long as you can prove that your final destination is outside the prescribed area. Under this defence the liquor must be in your control and must not be consumed while travelling in the prescribed area. For this reason any containers must be unopened. The quantity carried must be reasonable for one’s own consumption only. If you need to know more about areas in NT and the variations please contact me by MM.

AnswerID: 507899

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 09:54

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 09:54
Information regarding the transport and consumption of alcohol in Aboriginal Lands is readily available by Google search and narrowed by defining the area of interest.

After obtaining the information you are at liberty to:
a) Obey the law
b) Ignore the law, or
c) Bend the law a little to your choosing
d) And maybe bear the consequences

There is no real need to publicly declare outrage and 'Civil Unrest'.
These laws have been created to protect some people from the problems of alcohol which is very serious within aboriginal communities.
If the regulations cause you some inconvenience then so be it. You cannot expect a law to be tailored to suit your individual mode of living. That is the price of living within a society and enjoying all the other benefits of society.
After all, is it really so difficult to forgo your alcoholic drink for a day or two occasionally?

AnswerID: 507907

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:31

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:31
Precisely, Allan.
FollowupID: 785225

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 12:24

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 12:24
So what would your cry be when the powers that be determine that drinking tea any where but in an approved area becomes law , will your attitude still be the same that ' can just forgo for a day or two' ,,,
FollowupID: 785297

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 18:12

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 18:12
Lol. Yes those b tea drinkers can be so belligerent when they get a couple of cups under their belts. Especially the ones who add a little moo to their beverage. It's a little known fact that tea's a threat to the very basis of society as we know it. It's surprising no-one has bothered to calculate the cost of tea addiction and related diseases to the health budget.
FollowupID: 785329

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 09:46

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 09:46
Actually tea was a threat to society in the early days of its use , was so exclusive and expensive that you could be hanged for the theft of less than the making of a cup , the taxation of tea was a partial cause of the American revolution , was the cause of subjugation of the the peoples of India and Ceylon by the British ,and you may laugh as much as you like but medically TEA has caused countless deaths by the English insistence of 'have a cup of tea and a little lay down' to gut shot British troops ,, ergo tea has caused many problems in society and as such should be prohibited to a partial section of the population ,,,, prohibition especially partial prohibition does not solve the problem at hand.
FollowupID: 785374

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 10:56

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 10:56
You left out the bit about the embargo on tea being one of the major causes for North Korea's current sabre rattling and Adolf's partiality to an occasional brew.
FollowupID: 785376

Reply By: evaredy - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 11:20

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 11:20
It's a sad state of affairs when people can't go without booze.

AnswerID: 507911

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:42

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 12:42
Hey Sandman, re: "and would object if challenged up to and including a court appearance."
Yeah, yeah, sure. I look forward to reading about your innovative defence!
You could try the "It's the Vibes" strategy. LOL LOL

AnswerID: 507912

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 15:48

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 15:48
I will make one final analogy of this topic.

Burnt Damper posted the example where 8 people were pulled over by "Mr Plod".

The redistribution of the 8 cartons of grog amongst the 1 vehicle and 7 bikes overcome the stupid rule that had been put in place to stop large quantities of liquor from being transported.

So, what did this little exercise teach us?
There are ways around the law even though the solutions be be wholly transparent to all.
Those seven bike riders may have been all teetotallers and the one bloke in the van was actually transporting the excess amount of cartons for sale to remote communities,
But they got around around the law because they had sufficient separate modes of transport. What an absolute joke.

Some of you folk need to get off your high horses and leave us normal folk to travel this great country with the beverages we enjoy. I cannot always obtain my favorite brands of beer and wine from the local rubberdy dub in whoopsville!

Stuart and Gunny.
Sorry this post of yours blew out of proportion. A minority of doomsdayers and dogooders are the type that have these silly rules enacted in the first place rather than attack the problem by a more intelligent means.

I think you get the gist of what many of us have said in roundabout ways.
Take a reasonable supply of your favourite drop on holiday with you and if you happen to transgress onto those parts of the country where us travellers are discouraged from entering while toting "excessive booze, then hide it, don't advertise it and get away from that unsavory area as fast as you can.

Cheers to all.

AnswerID: 507918

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 16:06

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 16:06
The trouble is, it is fools like you that give the law makers the ammunition to make more rules for the rest of us.

If people just did what they were asked and did the right thing, there would be less rule for dipsticks to brake.

So good luck with that and reap what you deserve.

FollowupID: 785246

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:44

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:44
Hi Aussi

Its fools like yourself that are making these rules.

The view by most is something had to be done, but knee jerk reaction with out looking at the whole picture does nobody any good.

Just look at the live cattle trade fiasco.

Tourism and income for some communities has been greatly affected by these simple minded rules.

Fools in power.

Col.
FollowupID: 785292

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 13:08

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 13:08
I am not sure what you read when you read my post, but you missed the point completely.

My point is, if you do as you are asked as opposed to breaking the rules/law, you wont need fools making more rules/laws to make it harder for everyone.

While you have people out there thinking they are above the law, you will have law makers making more rule and regulations to try and stop them, unfortunately these people stuff it up for everyone else, they even have the gawl to blame the very people the laws are trying to protect.

By the way I am still confused as to were you think I am one of these fools that make these rules.

FollowupID: 785303

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 19:31

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 19:31
The only rule im aware of is the rule of thumb regarding alcohol
- 1 carton per person per day
- if you get home with less than a carton you were under prepared and need to bring extra next time
AnswerID: 507931

Reply By: bibtracker - Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 20:19

Sunday, Mar 31, 2013 at 20:19
And don't forget this:

24 cans in a slab, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence?

I don't think so.
AnswerID: 507933

Reply By: The Bantam - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:23

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:23
Lets have a bit of a reality check here.

Without doubt alcahol is the most dangerous and damaging drug in the western world, it is strongly adictive and effects the thaught processes even when used regularly even in relativly small quantities.

More than half the Australian population are alcahol dependent to some degree, in that if deprived of alcahol for a significant period would either show strong cravings or real signs of withdrawl.

Even the threat of being deprived of this drug will cause the dependent person to become defensive, argumentative, even aggressive and prepared to break the law to maintain supply.

There are large quantities of injuries major and minor caused by alcohol every day....I ran into a mate this week who is recovering from a broken leg....he just fell over in the back yard after having a few....another mate has twice broken bones dancing while intoxicated.
Then the matter excilates into large scale alcohol related violence and road deaths.

The police, ambulance and hospitals are being confronted by more and far more serious results of alcohol related violence....Nationwide

So it is easy to understand why this whole alcohol issue is taken very serioulsy where there are other factors that contribute to the problem.
Problems that lead police and other government workers to genuinely fear for their lives.

Give the choice as a copper, would you rather come down heavy on alcohol, or look at women & children every day with signs of violence on the faces...or.. know you may need to use ya gun, a batton & a riot shield to with the alcohol fueled violence.

seriously...think about it.

AnswerID: 507954

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:35

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:35
Second reality check.

Its a fact of life that so many touring 4wds are running very close to their maximum load carrying capacity AND short of space.

witness the frequent need to upgrade suspension and the enquiries about GVM upgrades and so forth.

We must all be looking for places to save weight & space.

A slab of beer weighs a little over 9Kg

Its regular that people claim that they need to upgrade their front suspension because they have fitted a winch weighing around 25Kg

I've seen people with 50 liter fridges full of beer and a second fridge 30 or 40 liter fridge for the food.

So by the time you consider the cost of the fridge, the mountinmg and the battery requied to supply it, equiping this vehicle for beer probably cost about $3grand.....pluss the extra space & carrying capacity required
Anybody see the problem here

Realy.......if you need to carry more than 24 serves of alcohol.....you've got a problem.

FollowupID: 785289

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:41

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 11:41
Third reality check.

When you think about the extent "certain people" will go to to get grog into these dry communities, you will undertsand that the coppers are very active on this matter.

In some places the sly grogger can make $100 per carton.

People have been known to walk it in 30 pluss Km by night

So that second carton may be a very significant matter

FollowupID: 785291

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 12:41

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 12:41
The truth of the matter is that the restrictions in place do very little to solve the problem ,the DRY/ RESTRICTED community members who want to drink to excess still do so , just wait till dole day or 'royalty day' and watch the exit of vehicles to places that they can drink until the $$ run out ,,,,,, mounds of empties just outside most 'Dry' communities says it all ,
AnswerID: 507958

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 12:53

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 12:53
Yep....dead right there.......grog money is what needs to be restricted.
FollowupID: 785301

Reply By: evaredy - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 19:38

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 19:38
As has been mentioned, the problem is that everyone on these "dry communities" only has to drive into town, there they can have their fill.

I have always said that in these situations payments of money in a lump sum, is not the way to go, none transferable coupons or vouchers should be issued along with a very small amount of money, several small payments over a period of time.

AnswerID: 507975

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 21:39

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 21:39
Too right. Include the dole, the pension and the baby bonus. While we're at it, payments to the military, police and fire brigade, disaster assistance, drought assistance, pharmaceutical benefits, in fact anything which comes out of the public purse. We should make sure our money is spent in the way we want it to be.

FollowupID: 785345

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 23:07

Monday, Apr 01, 2013 at 23:07
Mark,
"in the way WE want it to be"?
Do you perhaps mean "In the way YOU want it to be"? LOL

FollowupID: 785348

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 18:21

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 18:21
Allan, of course I meant "WE"! Surely everyone agrees with me?!

Cheers,,

FollowupID: 785430

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 10:16

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2013 at 10:16
It may be worth a read of Joe's post 101421 here

AnswerID: 508008