4WD FAIL

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:30
ThreadID: 101558 Views:3696 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Words fail me.
Not sure what broke on the hilux at 5 minutes in, looks like the steering linkage?
Note the rego numbers and 4wd models, and steer clear if these come up for sale.

Rob.

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:44

Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:44
I see the black Jeep is being towed backward by his tow ball! Michael

AnswerID: 508439

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:47

Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:47
Looks to be the same Jeep snatching other vehicles out of the mud also!! Michael

FollowupID: 785970

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:59

Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 20:59
Did you see the bit with the snatch strap at 45deg around the tree snatching the jeep lol.

FollowupID: 785971

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 21:10

Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 21:10
What's the thing with mud and water, spending the next week and following weekend drying out wet carpet, wrecking starter motors and alternators! fixing broken bits at great expense! Sorry but I just don't get it! Just looking at that Video clip, it's amazing that there are not many more injuries and fatalities around these areas! Michael

FollowupID: 785973

Follow Up By: Member - willawa - Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 22:24

Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 22:24
WOFTAM! Hard to believe how some people spend their leisure time.
No wonder some tracks are being stuffed and ultimately closed due to this type behaviour.
FollowupID: 785983

Follow Up By: fisherPete - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 21:18

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 21:18
I must be getting old, as wrecking your vehicle holds very little appeal.A lot of these problems turn up 6 months later. Clean water is not so bad.
FollowupID: 786058

Reply By: RobMac (QLD_Member) - Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 23:42

Sunday, Apr 07, 2013 at 23:42
Where was this taken and what happened to the mighty 200's Cruiser that it had to be towed out??
Cheers..... RobM
Defender PUMA 110 "New School Tourer"
Defender 110 Tdi300 "Old School Tourer for Solo Trips"
DiscoTDi for Work/Play

AnswerID: 508453

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:30

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:30
Hi Rob m

At a guess it was in the Wattagans ,out the back of the central coast NSW

Poor old 200 series probably broken a cv,
A work college broke a cv in his 200 series over Christmas on some very easy tracks around Coffs harbour

Rob

FollowupID: 786038

Follow Up By: RobMac (QLD_Member) - Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 07:31

Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 07:31
Cheers for that....

Not knowing much about the 200's, I had always thought that the 200's had strong CV's.... don't tell me that's going to be another weak point in them? What other "issues" do these 200's have as I had considered that one day down the track that I might upgrade to one of them...... maybe not now ??
Cheers..... RobM
Defender PUMA 110 "New School Tourer"
Defender 110 Tdi300 "Old School Tourer for Solo Trips"
DiscoTDi for Work/Play

FollowupID: 786070

Follow Up By: briann532 - Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 15:05

Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 15:05
I reckon its the powerline boghole at Clarence behind the zig zag.

Rescued many a stuck 4b in there.
Definately not off the towball though...................

FollowupID: 786119

Follow Up By: briann532 - Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 15:09

Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 15:09
Also the tracks as mentioned in the watagans.
The rock faces toward the end are challenging and fun to watch people wreck their cars on.

Personally I drive round..............

Good to watch and laugh though. Just get out of the way for their rescue techniques.............
FollowupID: 786120

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 08:26

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 08:26
Not my idea of fun either. What's with the guy on the 4 door tray back while they are snatching also. Bob
AnswerID: 508457

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 09:59

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 09:59
A good example of not what to do. Every safety rule for winching and snatching appeared to go out the door.

AnswerID: 508462

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 10:30

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 10:30
Yeah - thought that - especially the bloke standing next to the winch rope under stress ..... all my experience says get the hell out of there...
FollowupID: 786013

Follow Up By: Member - mechpete - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 13:35

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 13:35
is there little wonder why 4wds get a bad name ,
what a bunch of dickheads
mechpete
FollowupID: 786023

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:36

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:36
Hi Scott
Looking at one of the other videos on his you tube channel.
there winching with the cable at head height around the tree,and a guy standing right beside it, scary stuff awfull messy if the cable lets go!!!

Mecpete, Couldn't agree more.

Rob

FollowupID: 786040

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 10:55

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 10:55
Hey Rob what area where you driving in looks pretty good..Just a couple of tips I'm not having a go at you I enjoyed the vid try using the winches more and snatch strap less in hard areas try not to snatch backwards if possible your drive line is weaker in reverse because of the cut of the teeth in your diffs, gearbox and we all like wide tyres but hiluxes don't for the terrain your in narrow mud tyres for independent susp you will break less parts and sometimes go further in the rough have fun.
AnswerID: 508466

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:23

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:23
Hi Batts

LOL The green 80 series looks like mine but i can assure you it's not me, and or associated with the guys in the video.

I'm certainly well a were not to snatch in reverse expecialy in an 80 series ie fragile front diff.
I guess the guys in the video will find out the hard way.

Not sure were it is exactly, a mate thinks it could be in the Wattagans?

FollowupID: 786037

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 19:55

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 19:55
Ahh sorry I mistook it for your video
FollowupID: 786051

Reply By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 11:02

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 11:02
That is amongst the worst driving and recovery I've ever seen. How there weren't fatalities I'll never know. Did any of those vehicles even have reduced tyre pressure??? Pretty sure they hadn't.

A whole series of `what not to do's'. Dangerous tools in the hands of tools????
AnswerID: 508467

Follow Up By: petengail - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:34

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 17:34
50-60,000$ or more to play in the mud, rocks and sand? I think most of us gave this sort of behaviour up in the sand pit at pre school....
FollowupID: 786039

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 21:09

Monday, Apr 08, 2013 at 21:09
I thought a 4x4 was to get you out of trouble, not in it. I don't think there could be a more incompetent pack of dicks! Michael!

AnswerID: 508502

Reply By: Ken - Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 17:37

Tuesday, Apr 09, 2013 at 17:37
Well, well, I hope these fools stay up there in NSW. Judging by their efforts here they are probably likely to do serious damage to themselves pretty soon, this time it only seemed to be the vehicles. Hopefully some expensive repair bills will teach them something about looking after their vehicles and the tracks. Pity anyone else trying to get through the holes left by the idiots wheel spinning in the bogs. A good example of dumb things to do in a 4WD recovery effort and more ammo for the anti-4WD people to go on with.
Ken
AnswerID: 508584