Exhaust upgrade

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 10:26
ThreadID: 101609 Views:3763 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Hi All Would Like Some Help On An Exhaust Up Grade On My 2012 Toyota V8 Cab Chassis.Stainless Steal Or Steal Any Help Would Be Appreciated Thankyou.

Reply By: phasar - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 11:33

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 11:33
G'day

Steal is very cheap, but don't get caught.
If you wanna get to heaven first you must raise a little hell
OMD

AnswerID: 508643

Follow Up By: mean4b - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 11:42

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 11:42
Hi Phasar Have Been Priced $1800 For Stainless Steel Exhaust But Been Told Thay Crack Very Easy.Also Been Priced On Steel $1200
FollowupID: 786186

Reply By: Member - J&R - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 12:06

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 12:06
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Trolling Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 508646

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 12:48

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 12:48
Hi Mean4b,

There are a range of different exhaust kits, both in s/s and straight steel. I was advised that the steel exhaust will last just as long as the stainless version with a diesel, and that there is little (or no) difference in performance. But apparently the stainless one sounds a little different, up to the individual if the sound justifies the extra expense.

Make sure you get an exhaust with a high flow cat, otherwise it is illegal. Up to you regarding a muffler, my personal preference would be to run without one.

I have a 2012 Landcruiser 79 cab chassis, and have installed a 3" Redback aftermarket exhaust with high flow cat and no muffler. Sounds great, no droning in the cabin and would recommend a similar kit. No connections to Redback, just a satisfied customer. Price for the kit is about $800.

Cheers, Geoff
AnswerID: 508650

Follow Up By: JimDi - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 17:33

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 17:33
Hi Geoff,
Have the same vehicle and currently pricing a similar muffler system.

When you mention sounds great without the muffler do you mean loud and throaty?
I am just thinking of my neighbours, I am too old to be called a hoon.
Also it sounds that the cabin may be a lot quieter which will be a help. I may be able to hear the voice on my HEMA now.
Jim
FollowupID: 786221

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 07:39

Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 07:39
Hi Jim,

I don't consider it too loud but I suppose it is an individual thing. Similar to the other posts - I reckon it sounds great!

I had the opportunity to drive a similar Landcruiser prior to getting my exhaust so I knew what I was in for. Maybe I am turning into a petrol-head, now in the bush I turn off the radio so I can listen to the big V8!

Cheers, Geoff
FollowupID: 786275

Follow Up By: JimDi - Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 10:13

Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 10:13
Thanks Geoff,
Reading yours and other posts I was getting the same impression that it was not "loud" so to speak. I will bite the bullet over the next few months just waiting for the bank manager to get his feet off the desk so I can access my funds.

Currently getting a quote for muffler upgrade along with chip and fuel filter. Unsure at this time about steel/stainless so will give it more thought.
Jim
FollowupID: 786294

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 10:48

Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 10:48
Hi Jim,

In my opinion the additional fuel filter is a 'must have' and would do this first. There are several good kits available from different manufacturers that include everything needed including the brackets.

I thought long and hard about a chip, but have decided not to go down this way at present. As you are probably aware, there are a range of chips on the market with a corresponding price tag and range. I personally don't like the cheaper chips that purely raise the common rail pressure and put more stress on the injectors, but that is just my opinion. As others have also stated, don't waste your money on a stainless steel exhaust.

Good luck accessing your funds, and enjoy your Landcruiser!

Cheers, Geoff
FollowupID: 786296

Reply By: Flighty ( WA ) - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 13:00

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 13:00
4b
I fitted a Manta 3" system c/w 3" dump pipe for $900.00 bout 2 1/2 years ago.
Just out of steel and had zero issues at all.
Can't really justify stainless system price to do the same job.

AnswerID: 508651

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 20:25

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 20:25
I have the same Manta exhaust that Flighty has and fitted about 3 years ago for the same price. No muffler and not that loud but sounds awesome - like a real V8.

When you have a turbo you don't get a lot of exhaust noise. Look on Youtube there are some vids of the VDJ exhaust on there.

Serendipity

FollowupID: 786235

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 13:30

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 13:30
If you are going to keep the car for a while go for steel and consider high performance coatings especially on the dump pipe. reduces heat and insulates the exhaust from wear or corrosion. If you are really keen coat the whole pipe.

High Performance Coatings
AnswerID: 508658

Reply By: Justawandering - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 17:56

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 17:56
Hi Mean4b

We have a 2008 Landcruiser GXL wagon and had a 3.5 inch steel Beaudesert Exhaust installed late last year. We are extremely happy with it and the service that we received was fantastic and would recommend them to all. Many happy km's travelling.

Les and Rhonda
Justawandering
AnswerID: 508679

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 19:36

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2013 at 19:36
been looking, thinking and talking to mates that have them fitted..........

Yesterday I made the decision to do it....next Monday I am having a mild steel 3" Manta with the dump pipe, cat converter and hotdog fitted...$1550

will post about noise etc after.......from what I have observed on mates rigs...will sound beautiful ... but not hoony
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 508685

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 07:41

Thursday, Apr 11, 2013 at 07:41
You won't regret fitting the new exhaust - one of the best modifications I did.

Cheers, Geoff
FollowupID: 786276