Which 4WD??

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 13, 2013 at 09:32
ThreadID: 101668 Views:1515 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
G'Day all, you may remember my thread recently regarding which 4wd to buy, 80 series or 100 series LC TD.My situation has changed(bought a block of land). Now I want buy a dual fuel 4wd, not sure whether to buy a nissan 4.5, 4.8 or LC 4.5 or 4.7 V8. Any comments on reliability on any of these would be greatly appreciated.

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Apr 13, 2013 at 13:48

Saturday, Apr 13, 2013 at 13:48
4.7 v8 are quite good on fuel if youve got alot of highway kms to do.
mate gets 12 on the highway and 16 towing, nothing massively heavy but the 4.5 are heaps worse.
just be sensible on the loud pedal, and quite cheap second hand.. compared to same in the 100 TD, another 20k for same year, and km's driven..

the patrols are alot HEAVIER ON FUEL..
both engines as well.
strong drivetrain.
comfort inside cab, the 100series wins, as well as economy.
patrols got stronger drivetrain..
100 has standard 3500kg towing across the board
patrol are all over the show in towing weights..
AnswerID: 508929

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 13, 2013 at 18:07

Saturday, Apr 13, 2013 at 18:07
Hi Banger

If your looking at Landcrusiers that have been running on duel fuel for a while check the service history .
The exhaust valves and seats are made off cheese and go out of adjustment very quick,or don't last long at all.(VSR, valve seat recession)even when using flash lube or similar products used to prevent VSR.
Lpg doesn't have the lubricating property's of Ulp,

The valves /exhaust valves need adjusting every 40,000 klm
And not a cheap process if your not real good on the spanners? just something to factor in on running cost.

I have had my 80 series on lpg for the last 8 years but only travelled 100 000 klm mainly on trips not used as a daily driver, has 5 kw power more on lpg, compared to 91 ulp
as i it Uni chipped with duel mapping, on the tuning,

Personally i would never fit lpg again, PIA

Rob

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 508941

Follow Up By: G_Banger - Saturday, May 04, 2013 at 09:12

Saturday, May 04, 2013 at 09:12
Does anyone have an 80 series 7 seater with a pre efi v8 for sale? Willing to pay good money for a quality vehicle.
FollowupID: 788375