Has van now need tow vehicle

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 10:31
ThreadID: 101724 Views:1601 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
A mate of mine has puchased a van ( 2006 Roadstar, 2100kg, ball 200kg) and is looking for a tow vehicle. He would like a used 4x4 AUTO DIESEL table top extra cab in the $20k-$25k range. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 10:44

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 10:44
For starters, is the the weight (2100Kg) the TARE or ATM?
Is the ball weight (200Kg) as shown on the VIN Plate, or the ball weight of the laden van?
Ozjohn.
AnswerID: 509118

Follow Up By: 410 - Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 10:50

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 10:50
I think that is loaded weight.
FollowupID: 786809

Reply By: Thinkin - Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 13:20

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 13:20
Try looking at holden Colorado or Isuzu Dmax. maybe even the last of holden Rodeo RA 2007 models.

They have 3000kg towing mass and Isuzu space cab advertise maximum 300kg towball download. Can't pin down Colorado towball download mass but I imagine it would be similar to handle that van.
good luck.
AnswerID: 509130

Reply By: mountainman - Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 16:54

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 16:54
i wonder how much 4wd he will be doing.

the falcon ute, the rtv, off road ute would be a pearler..
but its only in petrol, and i dont think extra cab, but im not real sure on that.

very comfy for long distance driving, and the 4ltr 6 has plenty of mumbo for towing.
and easily be in the price range!
be a great touring vehicle for sure..!!
AnswerID: 509141

Follow Up By: KevinE - Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 17:30

Tuesday, Apr 16, 2013 at 17:30
G'day MM,

I hear what your saying mate, that is my favorite ute, but they do have their issues, like all cars lol!

They do not like towing heavy loads up steep hills. The engine has the grunt, but the auto/clutch is the same one that's in a Falcon sedan & will crap itself really quickly if heavy loads are towed uphill regularly.

The rear suspension from the factory is useless for a 1 tonne ute! It's easily fixed with helper springs, but without them, it will almost drag its tow-bar on the ground with 400kg on board. Once the helper springs are fitted, it becomes a brilliant ute, but it will be very bouncy when running empty without towing.

Like I said, I love them! But I use them as a commercial vehicle & am prepared to spend money on them, because they make me money. We did take one bush once, I don't think I'd do it again though.

BTW, they are an "Extra Cab", there are small toolboxes behind the seats.

All the best,

Kevin :)
FollowupID: 786855