Best family caravan park ; Alice Springs

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 19:38
ThreadID: 101791 Views:2768 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Heading to Alice Springs this week, any advice on the best valued Caravan park for the family, children aged under 10. I have looked up a couple and the variation for a family can be from $54/n- $74/n.
Thankyou

Reply By: rumpig - Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 19:41

Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 19:41
For kid fun it's hard to go past the Big 4 van park in town there IMHO. It's not the cheapest place around, but your kids will love the place.
AnswerID: 509404

Follow Up By: 08crd - Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 22:26

Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 22:26
Yes when we went to Alice several times with the kids, we stayed at the McDonald Range caravan park, always found it good. Having said that we haven't been there for 5 years.
FollowupID: 787279

Follow Up By: anglepole - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 15:51

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 15:51
Yes I agree the best place to stay in Alice is the McDonald Range caravan park.
Safe and just the right distance from town.
If you join the Big 4 "club"you get a discount. The card discount soon pays the joining fee.

As others have written lock you car and keep valuables out of site particularly in town.

Have a great trip.
FollowupID: 787364

Reply By: Rangiephil - Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 20:36

Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 20:36
Especially the strawberry waffle man if he is there!
Regard sPhilip A
AnswerID: 509408

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 20:48

Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 20:48
If you want best value, Temple Bar Caravan Park, just south of the show grounds, 875 Ilparpa Rd. When we were there last year it was $20 a night, plus electricity, which was still cheap. But sorry, it does not have a play ground for the kids. It is just a caravan park. Kevin .

The following was our camp site.

AnswerID: 509409

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 21:09

Saturday, Apr 20, 2013 at 21:09
A wonderful spot - but not the best one for a holiday for the children.

FollowupID: 787270

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 07:22

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 07:22
We are currently at Illabo in their old showground. Not a lot here to entertain kids/grandkids but I can't believe how well they have kept themselves occupied. With other kids, pups, birds, truckloads of gravel/clay,trees,campfires,music and whatever we have hardly heard a peep from them except for loads of laughter. Bob
FollowupID: 787296

Follow Up By: 410 - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 08:23

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 08:23
Thank you to all for your replys. Any advice on the G'Day Mate caravan park.
FollowupID: 787300

Reply By: Ozrover - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 10:56

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 10:56

MacRange Big 4 is great for kids of all ages, jumping pillows, play grounds, games room, pancake brekkie on Sunday mornings, two large & one kids pool, but you will pay for the privilege, we worked there over two seasons a few years ago.

G'Day Mate is quiet & clean with great people running it, not much for the kids tho' except for the pool.

AnswerID: 509448

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 11:05

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 11:05
Whatever you decide on, keep everything locked all the time. Especially at night when your asleep. And dont go walking anywhere at night!

AnswerID: 509449

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 11:13

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 11:13
Yep! Just as you would in any town in the Territory or the rest of Australia!

FollowupID: 787324

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 11:17

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 11:17
No......it would pay to be a lot more vigillant in Alice Springs.
FollowupID: 787326

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 16:52

Sunday, Apr 21, 2013 at 16:52
Agree, when we were there last year things were not good. You sort of got that idea by first seeing more Police then any other town/city. They were everywhere and then the local business people told us that there has been a lot of trouble and they had to bring in extra Police. So just be that little bit extra aware. But we still loved the place! Kevin.
FollowupID: 787369

Reply By: cobber - Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 00:40

Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 00:40
I saw a bumper sticker on a parked car in Perth that read

'I miss Alice Springs'.

So I broke the windows, took the wireless and left half a dozen empty VB tinnies on the front seat with note that read,
'I hope this helps.'

AnswerID: 509505

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 19:33

Monday, Apr 22, 2013 at 19:33
There arent too many people leaving Alice these days who miss it!
Trust me....Im one of them.
FollowupID: 787443

Reply By: 410 - Tuesday, Apr 23, 2013 at 09:52

Tuesday, Apr 23, 2013 at 09:52
Thank you everyone for the advice.
AnswerID: 509592