Creek Crossing along the Savannah Way

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 13:32
ThreadID: 101850 Views:6521 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
May be a stupid question but I need to ask anyway!

We are travelling along the Savannah Way mid year and I was wondering about walking the river/creek crossing first. How do you know if there is any croc's? A bit worried as I'll be doing the walking!

Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 13:38

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 13:38
I think you will find that there aren't any creek crossings, we travelled the Savannah Way few years back and I can't remember crossing any creeks.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 509667

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 14:34

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 14:34
It must have been a dry year baz and pud.

Mh

FollowupID: 787622

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 15:33

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 15:33
Yep, it was dry, but also have to say sorry, have looked at map and we only did the eastern end.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 787631

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 16:12

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 16:12
The Savannah Way actually goes from Cairns to Broome. :)

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 787638

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 15:03

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 15:03

Calvert River, early in the season.
Not deep enough to bother walking through.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 509670

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 22:22

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 22:22
The calvert river is the main problem on the Savannah way but in June, July , Aug, should be no worries although one year I had to pull out two drowned vehicles that did not take the right track --one side is a bit deeper crossing so have a look before barging in
FollowupID: 787684

Reply By: Rangiephil - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 17:23

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 17:23
The safest answer is to throw a stick across the creek and tell the dog to "Fetch".
That way you will tell the depth and danger in one action.
Dog swims, then maybe too deep.
Croc gets dog , too dangerous.
Dog walks and fetches _Fine to go.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 509674

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 17:43

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 17:43
Safe way is to send the dog in for a swim first or half a stick of powergell gives them a headache. Works every time.

Sorry about the answer but there are never any guarantees in this world and no one can assure you there are no crocs. Chances of one being there are low though.

This year there hasn't been much rain at all so you may be able to first ascertain if the creeks are over and how deep is the water. You may be concerned about something that won't be there.

This answer is coming from a retard who 40 years ago at 2 in the morning, walked Stones crossing north of Weipa to find the drop off on the left hand side so we could cross.
AnswerID: 509677

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, May 05, 2013 at 22:30

Sunday, May 05, 2013 at 22:30
This answer is coming from a retard who 40 years ago at 2 in the morning""

Yep, back then you we unlikely to get taken by a croc, most were either shot out or scarred of us, VERY different these days.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 788498

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, May 06, 2013 at 05:58

Monday, May 06, 2013 at 05:58
Lyndon,
Back then and not far from there Peter Reimers was taken taken by a 15 foot croc with much of it's tail missing. Their numbers were depleted but they were still around.

FollowupID: 788500

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 18:41

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 18:41
If you don't have a dog or hero with you camp on the creek bank and wait for someone else to come along. This serves two functions, it lets your vehicle diffs and gearbox cool down, let's some other glory hunter walk the crossing, oh yer maybe three functions, saves on dogs. (;-))
AnswerID: 509685

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 18:43

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 18:43
There may or maybe not an overgrown lizard there but it only takes one to spoil your day hehehe
FollowupID: 787647

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 19:32

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 19:32
As some have said it is a long road you are talking about some advice for the section from Boorloola to Normanton,
ALL crossing that will have water in them at that time of the year have crocs and SALTIES not just freshies .....
The Calvert has had sightings this year, as have all between Calvert and Doomadgee... The Nicholson, the one just near Doomadgee now has a large resident saltie in it, yes the one right on the edge of Doomadgee and traps are set to catch it but no luck so far, the rangers from Burktown have confirmed sighting 2 seperate salties near the causway ...............
The Gregory, the crossing near Tirrana has had sightings of salties but so far none up as far as the "Gregory Hotel" ....
The next would be the Leichardt and it has salties in it......
BUT ... the good news, well so far anyway ..... there has been very little rain this year so you will probally choke on the dust if you walk them ...
My advice given the amout of traffic already you just park up and have a bite to eat and probally wait for an hour MAX and someone will come along and charge through, watch them and follow on after.... dont be silly as the roadhouses need you money, not the ambulances service people hahaha
Good luck and have fun..
J&M&Kids
AnswerID: 509690

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 19:33

Wednesday, Apr 24, 2013 at 19:33
oh and it is NOT a stupid question, always ask eh, it will save a life one day
FollowupID: 787650

Follow Up By: Vagrant - Sunday, May 12, 2013 at 13:05

Sunday, May 12, 2013 at 13:05
Hi Joe and Mel. Plenty of wry humour surrounding the fairly serious question of being eaten...very Australian.
I'm planning a motorcycle trip from Normanton to Booroloola..so far, solo. Know anyone who's done it???....would like to do it? Departure looks around the end of May.
Noel
FollowupID: 788991

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Friday, May 17, 2013 at 00:01

Friday, May 17, 2013 at 00:01
Hi Noel, we get heaps of bikes come through, solo will be fine as there are heaps of vehicles coming through, Grant Denya did it on a bike with sunrise and a few tours come through, it is a good road, not just a track so you will be fine... many a 2wd car travels along it in the dry ...
Joe
FollowupID: 789367

Follow Up By: Vagrant - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 11:53

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 11:53
Thanks Joe..Very reassuring. I'll now be heding nth (from WAY down south) about mid June so it seems I've picked the right time for a change. I know the Beemer can do it..I hope I don't let the old girl down.
Noel
FollowupID: 791291

Reply By: Batt's - Thursday, Apr 25, 2013 at 21:25

Thursday, Apr 25, 2013 at 21:25
Just take the mother in law if you have room problem solved happy to help bye
AnswerID: 509787

Reply By: Johng - Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 09:51

Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 09:51
This discussion raise a question that hadn't occurred to me.

We are planning a trip along the Savannah Way in September, probably starting at Normanton and heading west.
We are planning on leaving the caravan at Normanton and tenting it accross to maybe Mataranka.

Is tenting it an issue in croc country?
AnswerID: 509881

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 11:02

Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 11:02
Johng,
Here is the way a croc looks at the world. If you park your tent in front of his breakfast table he will normally check you out for a while and then once he has prepared you for dining, he will go ahead and dine.

In all seriousness. Just don't place you tent near the water and don't go and sit on the bank. Crocs are either opportunistic or will sit and sweat on something that comes to the waters edge in the same place.

Animal crossings and where animals water are big No. No's.

FollowupID: 787892

Follow Up By: Johng - Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 15:48

Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 15:48
Thanks Rockape. Makes sense.
FollowupID: 787910

Reply By: 4X4Treker - Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 22:06

Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 22:06
Thinking about doing Normaton to Materanka on the Savannah Way late in June with the off road caravan has anyone done this with a caravan before.
AnswerID: 509919

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, May 05, 2013 at 22:34

Sunday, May 05, 2013 at 22:34
Hundreds, kedrons, bushtrackers etc
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 788499