Thanks - link to post "thanked".

Submitted: Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 14:17
ThreadID: 101889 Views:1759 Replies:2 FollowUps:20
I sent a suggestion to our illustrious exploroz guru (don't mention a name it may give someone a big head) earlier this week. And for the life of my I do know when. If they haven't had time to respond to me then I hope that I am not wasting anyone's time.

I suggested that it would be nice to know what actual post the thanks came from.

Why? I had a little "fun" on a thread with thanks arriving from all over the thread as it grew and got a little hot, as some do. There were side issues that needed to be discussed etc etc etc. When you get a "thanks" there is no way that you can know what that "Thanks" was for. I think knowing the user is just not enough and a link to the thread is needed. That would just complete the link. Anything in the email would be tops. I suggested just the post number. No need to have a list under the Thanks button to show everyone who liked or agreed the post.

Maybe the guru himself could add some comment. Is it possible Guru and if so is it a lot of work etc? (just having some fun at your expense mate. Nothing bad intended)

Anyone?

PS You can tell that I am in an excellent mood.

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 15:39

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 15:39
Phil,
See below. Doesn't this do it for you?
Or am I missing something?

AnswerID: 509841

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 15:56

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 15:56

But if there are more than one post by the same recipient which eaxct post is it for. Was it a thanks for the "good" sub topic. Ot for the bad subtopic. Or for the stupid subtopic. Especially for such a convoluted thread as the example.

If I remember correctly you clicked the thanks next to one of my posts in the thread but which one it was for beats me. If others have also clicked the thanks for other posts which is which. It does not show which was by whome.

In some cases it would be nice, in my way of thinking, to be able to return the compliment. Just as I did to the first one with a PM.

It would kind of "complete the good manners loop".

Hows that?

FollowupID: 787834

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 16:05

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 16:05
Phil,
I see your point, but there is an answer to that too.
If you go to the post and move your cursor over the 'Thanks' button it reveals who has thanked you on that particular post.
Next you'll be wanting a phone call from the Prime Minister to tell you!!! LOL

FollowupID: 787836

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 16:53

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 16:53
Nope. It didn't work. I tried that many times over the last day or so. Especially on our favourite thread. Didn't work then and not now.

Just has a wheel going around and around. I stayed there for a whole minute just then. Still went around and around.

Oh well. Lets see if David answers my message.

Thanks for trying.

FollowupID: 787840

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:00

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:00
Phil,
I can see Alan B thanked you. I will stick one on yours and see what happens.
FollowupID: 787841

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:06

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:06
Ah Phil, You must have a steam-driven computer.
Perhaps a carrier pigeon could be of some assistance?
As you say, over to David, the Prince of Enlightenment.

FollowupID: 787842

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:14

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:14
I'm not sure what browser you are using Phil, but if I put my cursor over the thanks button when I'm using Google chrome, all I get is a rotating circle. With Internet Explorer it shows who has given thanks. I assumed it was an issue with Chrome.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 787843

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:14

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:14
Don't hassle yourselves guys. I will PM David later after the footy.

Right now I have to get dinner ready for my wife who still works just to keep me in the style that I am accustomed tooooo. Goot a quote for a 3" mandrel bent exhaust today so I better get outahere! So that I can keep her happy until someone, preferably her, breaches the subject.

All cool and couldn't be anything else after 43 years.

Catchya

FollowupID: 787844

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:37

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:37
Phil, I can just imagine it............
"Oh Darling, that was such a delicious dinner. I was just thinking, wouldn't it be really nice if we were to get a lovely 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust?" "The Jones's over the road got one but I don't think it was mandrel-bent." Dream on Phil.

By the way, what is the option to "mandrel-bent"? I asked the exhaust bloke a few weeks ago and all he said was "They're all mandrel-bent. It's the machine we use." So I was none-the-wiser!

FollowupID: 787847

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:47

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:47
It works with IE guys. Wait until I catch up with David. He recommended Crome to me.

Thanks all

Phil (back to the kitchen)

FollowupID: 787849

Follow Up By: Pathycop - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:51

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:51
Hey Allan and Phil.
Do tell, what is your "favourite thread"?

Graeme

Ps I can see who thanksed on my ipad
FollowupID: 787850

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:59

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 17:59
That would probably be the "STUPID" thread.............or maybe it was Phil's melting wire one
FollowupID: 787852

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 18:50

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 18:50
Its the browser for sure.

To answer Pathycop; Sory Lyn. Way off the mark. My favourite is the Sunday History one.

Gotchyas

FollowupID: 787857

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 19:46

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 19:46
Hi PHil

I support your point. I had not thought about not knowing which post when I got notification - then again I don't get many thanks :O

With Chrome I get the rotating circle whether there has been thanks or not. I can see a comment with IE but IE made the forum too slow for me to use so I changed to Chrome.

Mh

FollowupID: 787859

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 20:44

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 20:44
Double Bugga,

My first reply from Member Neal was actually me! I was testing something reported by Neal and assumed his user id and then forgot to logoff and logon again after I had finished - Dooh.

But the good news is that I have fixed it - but wait I have to install a new build of the system and recompile to get the fix loaded and I do this after the peak period (which is now). So I will install the update that fixes your thanks issue tonight.

PS: I never got the feedback earlier this week - it was subjected as a forum issue so went to the ModSquad who forgot (slap their wrists - not really guys) to send it to me.

David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 509863

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 20:50

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 20:50
Hi David el Guru.

No worries stannding by. But I don't want to push the priorities. It isn't life and death.

Just wondering about others comments.

FollowupID: 787863

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 20:55

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 20:55
Twice I have done that now. I was using three different browsers when testing Neal's issue and forgot to logoff the other ones also - darn - must be tired get out of office.....

Yep no worries but I generally do a nightly update of the system so if I manage to come in later tonight it will happen. But it will certainly be loaded really soon anyway.

Thanks for letting me know however.

FollowupID: 787865

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 21:01

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 21:01
No worries

You will never know until someone tells you hey!!

Back to the footy.

Catcya

Hey MH Have a good weekend
FollowupID: 787866

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 21:03

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 21:03
I would swear that I ticked "Suggestion". Ah welle the old eyes.

FollowupID: 787867

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 21:14

Friday, Apr 26, 2013 at 21:14
David Check the PM. This has moved away from my original point.

FollowupID: 787869

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 11:17

Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 11:17
Phil,
I understand and have added the ID number in the email. I will also in a later release set the system so the Thread Online button will take you to the exact part of the thread that the reply/followup/thanks emails are referring to.

I am installing the initial updates now.

FollowupID: 787894

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 12:22

Saturday, Apr 27, 2013 at 12:22
Works a treat. Thanks David. And also for the browser related fix. We wont say who recommended it will we.

There is so much that you have to remember and do at once. I think that's why out of the programmers and analysts at work I always got the best results from the girls. And the blokes will kill me if could. Joking. They're cool.

Catchya mate and thanks again.

FollowupID: 787904