Best campsites in Carol Bay, Carnarvon and Eucla?

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 07:50
ThreadID: 101935 Views:2661 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
G'day,

i'm heading up with a few mates to these lovely little places early July. Anyone have suggestions for the best places to camp (be it caravan parks, little spots on the beach or some gem most East Coasters like me don't know about)?

Thanks in advance :)

Reply By: landseka - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 10:45

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 10:45
Never heard of Carol Bay, if you mean Coral Bay then I reckon the best camp is as far away as you can get in a day! In season, and July will be, it is like trying to find a camp spot on Bondi Beach. Not for me.

Carnarvon has some reasonable van parks on the main drag into town. All a similar price. A few kms north is Quobba. There is a station there with camp sites & basic amenities for a price or just down the road past the blowholes, there is free (basic fee) camp sites, much nicer.

In Eucla there is one van park, very basic for $20 per night + coin slot shower. (get any fuel required there too, not at Border Village rip-off. All across the Nullarbor there are many excellent rest stops which are well marked.

Cheers, enjoy the trip.
Neil
AnswerID: 510033

Follow Up By: Philby - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 11:49

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 11:49
Whooops! I meant CORAL bay! Last time I type out a post while drinking my wake up coffee! Sorry and thanks for the tips :)
FollowupID: 788073

Follow Up By: toffytrailertrash - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 12:51

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 12:51
That time of the year Coral Bay is a nightmare and usually booked solid.
I have read some rave reviews of a site just south called Warroora Station which has a listing in Camps 6 book of number 475. The could be a better option for you.

Enjoy your trip.

Merv
FollowupID: 788078

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 13:32

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 13:32
Totally agree with the above post.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 788081

Follow Up By: Member - Arsenal Phill - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 21:46

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 21:46
We have stayed at Bayview on each of our previous trips to Coral Bay. Nice enough, and very well equipped. Great spot with a short cross over the road into the bay. However it is very busy place and you must be prepared to put up with being squeezed in. We are considering staying at Wooroona Station ourselves next time up. It is about 16kms out of town, and hence you don't have instant access to the shops and pubs, but it is an attractive bush/beach camping experience.
FollowupID: 788123

Follow Up By: Jason – Perth - Monday, May 06, 2013 at 23:25

Monday, May 06, 2013 at 23:25
G'Day Philby,
Coral bay is booked out 18 months in advance in July (school hols).
We booked 12 months in advance for this July and were number 38 on the wait list for a powered site!
Have a look at Wikicamps app which lists some camp sites further north of Coral Bay and will also help with your other destinations.

Jason
FollowupID: 788566

Reply By: bgreeni - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 17:01

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 17:01
Just back from the Carnarvon / Exmouth area.

Camped at Peoples park in Coral bay - good site.

Also spent a few days at 3 Mile camp. Basic facilities but a very nice location. Need to take own water as the bore water is very hard.

Would think all would be crowded in July.
AnswerID: 510052

Reply By: new boy - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:40

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:40
140 ks south of Carnarvon is Gladstone right on the beach beware A. if it spits rain get out (if your on a schedule) as the road is clay and become slippery Oh and $1000 for the farmer to pull you out B. do not go past a road closed sign the ranger there will say nothing but your number will go to the shire and a $200 to $300 fine will be waiting at home.
About 45ks sth of Carnavan are Bush Bay and New beach again both on the beach only thing to watch there are king tides and storm surge the camp area can flood all other times fine.
Quabba as already state nrth of Carnavon.

AnswerID: 510104

Reply By: Philby - Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 13:51

Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 13:51
Thanks for the tips. I reckon we'll stay at Warroora Station
AnswerID: 510194