Snorkel Install Cairns area

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 12:28
ThreadID: 101939 Views:3182 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
G'day team,

I was wondering if anyone has any hot tips with regards to getting a snorkel installed on my 1999 SR5 Hilux diesel?

I live in the Cairns area and am looking to buy a snorkel from Tigerz11 but don't know where to get it installed.

Cheers!
Fitch

Reply By: Hi-ryder - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 16:47

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013 at 16:47
Hi Anthony i got mine two weeks ago . Had quotes in brisbane around 300 mark . Ended up doing it myself . A bit nervous cutting into a 2 year old car but all was good . Cost me $100 for a hole saw from bunnings . That means $200 bucks i can spend on other mods :)) Did your come with a template ??? if so give it a go yourself. There are a couple vids on you tube and on newtrition.net . Worst thing can happen you be up for a new gaurd . lol Cheers
AnswerID: 510050

Follow Up By: Anthony F1 - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 08:34

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 08:34
G'day Hi-ryder. So far it looks like I'm doing the install myself. I can't say I'm very experienced with stuff like this so it should be good fun to have a go.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 788133

Follow Up By: Hi-ryder - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 16:34

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 16:34
Hi Anthony i hadn't ethier untill this one . But glad i did in the end . If you got a template have your work is done already . Just make sure you paint any exposed areas that you have drilled . From memeory the hole saw size was 95mm or 98 mm cant quite remember but double cheak your piping for size . Siliken to make sure its all watertight . lots of tape before you drill . Good luck
FollowupID: 788186

Follow Up By: Hi-ryder - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 16:37

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 16:37
like Phil said try panel beaters if your not keen on giving it a go . Atleast if they scracth it they can fix it
FollowupID: 788187

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:10

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:10
I just did a google search using this exact text "panel beater cairns 4WD" and came up with Trinity Smash Repairs. Their site mentions 4WD conversion specialist.

Check them out: Trinity Smash Repairs

This is neither a recommendation nor am I saying not to do it yourself. Just and idea.

AnswerID: 510098

Follow Up By: Anthony F1 - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:23

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:23
Cheers PJR. I'll definitely give them a call. I went through the yellow pages and called about 10 different places. None of them wanted a bar of it. They all suggested TJM/ARB so I called them and they refused to install anything but their own gear. At $700 for a TJM/ARB snorkel that's a bit out of the budget range.

FollowupID: 788138

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:39

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 09:39
This was a few years ago but we paid $577 for the Safari 100 series snorkle including fitting at ARB.

Did the ARB price of $700 include fitting?

FollowupID: 788140

Follow Up By: Anthony F1 - Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 10:08

Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 10:08
Hi PJR. ARB and TJM wanted $690 which included full fitting.
FollowupID: 788246

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 14:07

Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 14:07
That's fair enough to me. Considering that we would be covered for bad workmanship and even some future rust etc damages. And if it rusts and you can show that no protection was done against rust then you have a good case against them down the track. Our budget was different so we got ARB to do it.

However that's okay for me we may have a different budget and financial priority. No mobile phones and just a $100 phone bill every three months including line and phone rental. Life is much easier when the kids leave home.

I totally understand your choice whatever it is.

Catchyaonthetracks

FollowupID: 788262

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 20:59

Wednesday, May 01, 2013 at 20:59
mate as said above, do it yourself.
Its not hard and you dont actually need a big holesaw, a couple of holes to get either a nibbler or tinsnips works suprisingly well.
You can pay big bucks to someone to do it but believe me, NOONE will ever take as much care as you in sealing up the paint etc.
Theres a good chance your $300 would go towards paying a first year apprentice to practice on your pride and joy.
AnswerID: 510161

Follow Up By: Anthony F1 - Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 10:11

Thursday, May 02, 2013 at 10:11
G'day Fisho. I reckon you're right about the apprentice getting some practice. I've watched a few videos on youtube and read a few DIYs on how to do it, so I think I might have a crack and do it myself.

Cheers!
FollowupID: 788247