Child Restraint Question

Submitted: Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:05
ThreadID: 102304 Views:1888 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
I have a 105 series Toyota and a new grand child. I was wondering which type of capsule and restraint system I would need for an 8lb2 oz boy that was born yesterday. I dont think he will be camping with me for a while so am not worried about which type of overnight bag or self inflating mattress he will need .

Reply By: SDG - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:27

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:27
•Children younger than six months must be secured in a rearward facing restraint.
•Children aged six months to under four years must be secured in either a rear or forward facing restraint.
•Children aged four years to under seven years must be secured in forward facing child restraint or booster seat.
•Children younger than four years cannot travel in the front seat of a vehicle with two or more rows.
•Children aged four years to under seven years cannot travel in the front seat of a vehicle with two or more rows, unless all other back seats are occupied by children younger than seven years in a child restraint or booster seat.

source

http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/roadsafety/children/childrestraints/index.html
AnswerID: 511414

Reply By: Member - ACD 1 - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:33

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:33
Hi Muzbury

I installed a Convertable one from Safe and Sound - I think it was called a Platinum.

Faces the rear for when they're tiny and then turns around at around six months. These ones last from birth to about 4 or 5 years old depending on size.

We went with the Safe and Sound because it was like a cocoon. And the padding could be removed as my boys grew.

Anthony
AnswerID: 511416

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:35

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:35
Thanks fellas
Much appreciated

FollowupID: 789649

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:44

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 21:44
Forgot to say that was in my 105 and we did heaps of 4WDriving. Kids were Safe and Sound (sorry!!!?).

We have updated to a high back booster seat - looks like a Recaro racing seat - worked a treat on the Gunbarrell the little fella didn't move in the "H harness".

Anthony
FollowupID: 789652

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, May 20, 2013 at 21:42

Monday, May 20, 2013 at 21:42
Personally I reckon a smallish manger fixed to the seat with race tape should do the trick as I know he won't be allowed out of the driveway in the 105 till he's 27. I'd also recommend a Waeco for keeping the premix formula cold and the baby buggy should be shod with Coopers, the AT I reckon rather than the ST. Probably an external pressure monitoring system on the nappy. Will you need a winch and don't forget to lower the tyre pressures when heading over the bark garden and the driveway scoria in the pram.

;-)

and congratulations by the way...poppy. You may shout the bar at the geographical centre of Vic come June!

AnswerID: 511475

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, May 20, 2013 at 22:16

Monday, May 20, 2013 at 22:16
Gday Mick
No problems with the shout. My pleasure.

FollowupID: 789732