Tyres

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 20:08
ThreadID: 102623 Views:2240 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
I need to get new tyres for my Triton soon. Any suggestions? Looking at a combination on road/off road tyre. Currently have 265/70 16 desert duelers, but this time around I'm a bit strapped for cash. What lower cost alternatives are there?

Louie

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 20:16

Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 20:16
Gday Louie
Have a look at some Chinese or Korean tyres .

AnswerID: 512662

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 20:58

Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 20:58
I've had a good run out of Bridgestone's but I've Heard some good reviews about Maxxis as well.

AnswerID: 512667

Reply By: Dags - Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 21:51

Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 21:51
I bought some Kuhmo Road Venture's in 285/75r16 for when there isn't enough mud for my Federals, and I reckon they're a great tyre.
They were only $275 each and so far it's all been good.
AnswerID: 512672

Reply By: 08crd - Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 21:55

Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 21:55
I was in a similar situation and put on Hankook RF10 Dynapro AT's. I'm really happy with them and will be putting them on again.
AnswerID: 512674

Follow Up By: desray (WA - Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 22:15

Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 22:15
Round black ones
FollowupID: 791143

Follow Up By: 08crd - Friday, Jun 07, 2013 at 21:11

Friday, Jun 07, 2013 at 21:11
Great input, thanks.
FollowupID: 791260

Reply By: Member - " H " (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 22:31

Thursday, Jun 06, 2013 at 22:31
G,Day Louie.
I've always used Bridgestone Allterain on all my travels off road and the Black stuff and never had any trouble, we are about to travel up north again for 4 months , We did the Tanami last year from Halls Creek to Alice Spring without a problem never try and go for a cheaper brand, Life is more important than the almighty Dollar. That is my comment but it is up to you to decide
Good luck on your travels. Regards " H "

AnswerID: 512676

Reply By: Member - nellyjr - Friday, Jun 07, 2013 at 07:45

Friday, Jun 07, 2013 at 07:45
Hi Louie,

i have seen lots of suggestions about the Bridgestone tyres. I know one of the Bridgestone guys very well and when i asked him about putting these on my Landcruiser, he offered some different advice.
He suggested i go for the Firestone a/t instead. They supply to a very large quarry who have been using the bridgestone for years. They tried a set of these firestone's and now won't use anything else. Mine have been excellent on and off road, have not got a lot of road noise and are priced much better than their Bridgestone brothers.

Well worth a look for anyone,
AnswerID: 512694

Follow Up By: Member - nellyjr - Friday, Jun 07, 2013 at 07:47

Friday, Jun 07, 2013 at 07:47
sorry about the double up everyone, i have no idea how its happened but my computer thinks its the weekend already i reckon?
FollowupID: 791155

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 01:40

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 01:40
Are the ratings similar Nellyjr (important for loads, speeds and towing), and any idea how long they'll last?

Not for me I just put BS D697s on, but for others approaching replacement time.
FollowupID: 791278

Follow Up By: Member - nellyjr - Tuesday, Jun 11, 2013 at 08:54

Tuesday, Jun 11, 2013 at 08:54
I will get the details for everyone and post them but it might be a week or so as My landcruiser is in getting some prep work done for a Flinders trip.
I belevie these are very comparable with the higher priced Duellers etc, so far they seem to be lasting very well, and the Quarries swapped to thse for a better grip and wear apparently?

will provide rest of details once i get the old girl back,
FollowupID: 791503

Reply By: Albany Nomads - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 00:20

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 00:20
Hi Louie
I have a RA Rodeo Dual Cab and have been running 751 Maxxis Bravo's on mine
They have done 50K and I reckon I have approx 40K left in them.
They cost me $198.00 each fitted and they have done a great job.
Pretty economical motoring and not an single problem with them
AnswerID: 512765

Reply By: louie the fly - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:44

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:44
Thanks everyone for the replies. I see a couple of people mentioned Maxxix. I had Maxxis on my Adventra and they seemed fairly good value for money. A mate has put Nankang on his Triton (a newer model) and he's happy enough with them so far. I got quoted $187 each for them, and $210 for Silverstones. Have to make a few calls on Tuesday. I'll have a look at the Maxxis and a few others.

Damn, tyres for 3 cars all within a month of each other.

louie
AnswerID: 512802

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jun 12, 2013 at 16:36

Wednesday, Jun 12, 2013 at 16:36
I've had Maxxis tyres before, and these were quite good on and off road . . .
http://maxxistyres.com.au/tyredetails.php?id=39&cat=3
Good value.

Next set I want a little more aggressive AT for offroad, so am looking at . . .
http://www.procomp.com.au/Default.asp?MenuId=PC_TYRE_XAT
Haven't got prices through as yet.
AnswerID: 512999

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Jun 12, 2013 at 16:37

Wednesday, Jun 12, 2013 at 16:37
Whoops, I'm actually looking at the standart AT's from Pro Comp . . .
http://www.procomp.com.au/Default.asp?MenuId=PC_TYRE_AT
FollowupID: 791623