MAZDA BT50

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 13:42
ThreadID: 102659 Views:4237 Replies:14 FollowUps:23

Have been researching for a new vehicle to replace our 100s LC and specs, extras and price not one is coming close to the Mazda bt50 at this stage.

I have read the Archived forum posts, but looking for some current feedback please.

Hope to tow an off road van, have been told it will b 2,500km laden.

Thanks.

Russ.
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

Reply By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 13:55

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 13:55
hi russ
your quote
hope to tow an off rd van I am told it will b 2,500km
do you mean km or kg
is your journey 2.500km's or does the off rd van weigh 2500kg????????
have you had a look at the lastest 2013 model vw amarok d/cab ute 132kw diesel 8sp auto its had some very good reviews
AnswerID: 512779

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 14:09

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 14:09
:), I should have a been a bit more careful. Yes should have been kg.

No, sticking to Maz, Ford, Nissan and Toyota with my research. Have had feedback on Collorado, Jeep and VW, but they will not be on my list.

Thanks.
Russ

FollowupID: 791300

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:12

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:12
Maz,
VW have been replacing lot of the auto transmissions on the Amarok. I wouldn't be buying one yet.
FollowupID: 791347

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 11:52

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 11:52
hi phil
all due respects but
Id like to read the imfo that backs up your statement ??

VW have been replacing a lot of auto transmissions in the amaroks

I read a lot of auto mags and articles on several internet sites and haven't come across any of the above that you have stated
I know a service manager in a perth dealership and will ask him next time I see him
I know the touregs had auto trans trouble on one model back in 09/10 but they fixed that
yes i'm aware you have owned some vw vehicles
FollowupID: 791357

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 12:58

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 12:58
Yeah, no problems Maz.

It starts with the spanner warning light and gear selctor flashing like this:
Youtube link
And then some owners get the torque converter slipping. VW have been replacing the transmissions (some have waited 10 weeks for this to arrive) but more recently it appears they have just been replacing the torque converters.
Read through the 6 pages of the thread below and count up the number of different owners who've had it:
Ausamarok link
The following thread is one owners story, but some interesting comments from a well respected source (Norm) that 8 transmissions were on backorder at that time.
Overlander link
I've come across other single reports dotted around the place.

As you mention, I like and respect the VW products (hence we own a Tiguan) but I personally would hold off buying an auto Amarok until it's been sorted. Same with any other 4wd for that matter - the 200series has had a heap of teething problems, so I've bought mine 6 years after its release hoping these have been solved.

FollowupID: 791360

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:27

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:27
The other auto problem is trying to reverse in sand or back up a slope:
LINK HERE
FollowupID: 791361

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 20:33

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 20:33
hi phil
thanks very much for the connections to the relevant imfo
very interesting indeed
I think most problems with new vehicle models these days is they rely to much on poorly programmed on board computer systems that are far from fool-proof LC 200 and jeep to name a couple that spring to mind
if you cast your mind back a few years autos didn't give much trouble as long as you serviced them -- changed oil and filter
they didn't have computors in them
my 1979 jeep cherokee with the 5.9 ltr rambler 360cu in V8 had a 4sp GM turbo 400 auto in it and gave no trouble what so ever
and I did the big lap towing an 18ft tandem van during some very hot weather for 8 mths 1980/1981 sept to april the jeep weighed 2tonne and the van weight wasn't much less by the time we kept crambing more and more things in along the way
i like your hesitate before you commit policy
as opposed to jeeps
dont hold back
but there will always be problems with new models
no matter what the badge is
i enjoy your threads
FollowupID: 791396

Reply By: Ross M - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 14:30

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 14:30
G'day Prickle/Russ

The new Mazda is a good vehicle and it will tow the world around backwards as they all do/claim.
The 5cyl 3.2 is very suited to what you require, but off road is what exactly.

The old favourite Oodnadatta track is "on road" just rougher and gravel in most places.

Have a look at 4wdaction Ford/Mazda - new BT50 and read post/things there which are more focussed on the overall picture.
Be aware that if you buy one with a GPS it will have old maps (complete with walking stick) and not new maps to suit the vehicle and the current roads/freeways. Freeways, what freeways?

If you have 2 1/2 Kilopascals on the back the springs and also most definitely the shock absorber will have to be considerably uprated to cater for the mass they have to control in a rough road situation ie Pitching action.

Personally because of the small size of the VW, "I Am a Rock" engine and the subsequent need for the two turbo compound setup I wouldn't ever begin to entertain the idea of a VW for your purpose. It's size is ok but it's engine although purposely built is the size of a Golf engine and smaller than some of their car engines. Normal use ok but for large towing loads and especially repairs and warranty somewhere else off road/outback, no thanks.

I never ever read reviewers write ups as they always seem to have their own agenda to fulfill in life and although connected with the scene don't have a basic understanding of many things.
Ask at a 4wd service centre what they would recommend and see what their responses are. Very different, to "motoring writers" who seem to only comment on new vehicles and are often journalists who can sometimes recognize a spanner or turbo at 5 paces.

Ross M
AnswerID: 512782

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 15:45

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 15:45
Thanks Ross.

Sounds good. Spoke to someone at ARB the other day and he was impressed with them, as are others in different places.

So, pretty comfortable with it at this stage.

Russ

FollowupID: 791303

Reply By: tdv - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 16:06

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 16:06
I have the Ranger XLT 3.2 6 speed auto. I have done 40,000km now mostly towing about 1.25 tonne without issue.

It is almost the twin of the Mazda but for a few extras that are different and suspension tune I believe.

I think you won't have any issues with your intended use.

AnswerID: 512789

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 16:36

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 16:36
Thanks tdv, appreciate your input.
Russ

FollowupID: 791304

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:01

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:01
Just priced a Cab/Chassis myself In the Nice Blue Colour from Cairns

With

Steel Bull bar
9500lb winch
Spot lights
Tow Bar
Bonnet Protector
Electric Rust Prevention
H/Duty Alloy Tray
Alloy Wheels
Snorkle
Fit & Comply Passenger Bucket Seat
Rear Diff Lock (Now Standard?)

Came in at $46K On Road!

Ford Ranger came in @ 51K

Holden Colorado Came in at 48.5K (No Diff Lock)

Regards Tony
AnswerID: 512790

Follow Up By: allein m - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:42

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:42
what no diff lock that is criminal lol
FollowupID: 791311

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:23

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:23
allein m - Not sure what you are on about, but it was to show the price comparisons.

Add a diff Lock to the Colorado and you would add at least 2600 to the cost of the car - Thus comparing apples with apples!

The Ranger and Colorado would both come in @51k

That makes the BT50 Look real good!

Regards Tony
FollowupID: 791314

Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:36

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:36
Hi Tony,

What brand of nice blue cab chassis did you buy?

Cheers, Jerry
FollowupID: 791316

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 06:16

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 06:16
Jerry - I was going to buy the BT50 - Circumstances has made me put that off until the end of the year now. (Going away for 6 weeks and did not sell my car)

It was interesting they do not offer the Cab/Chassis with a passenger side bucket seat when the Ford Ranger does???

It added $2400 to the price for the bucket & compliance, but was still $5k cheaper then the rivals?

Regards Tony
FollowupID: 791338

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:37

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:37
Thanks for all your feedback.
Russ

FollowupID: 791364

Reply By: Pelikan - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:49

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:49
Bear in mind that as far as utes go the only ones that have a centre differential are the Amarok and the top of the range Triton. i.e. on the bitumen all the others are 2WDs. This is not what you're used to if you had a Cruiser or Pajero before.

Cheers, Peter H
AnswerID: 512794

Reply By: allein m - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:51

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 17:51
Does the Mazda BT50 have caped price servicing included cannot find anything on line ?
AnswerID: 512795

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:38

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:38
No but will raise this with them.
Russ

FollowupID: 791365

Reply By: Sinkas - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 18:03

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 18:03
Just picked up new XTR dual cab utility yesterday - very happy. After test driving all the contenders the BT50 seemed the best value. Mazda currently has a free bull bar and tow bar. The 2013 update has 3500kg towing and strengthened chassis along with altered suspension - see here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBYlzc6rAzE. I could not find anything else about the suspension change other than what is in the video, however the ride does seem better than the demo we test drove.
AnswerID: 512796

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:29

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 19:29
There was a posting here about a week ago about one of the new utes, the back end of the chassis was breaking off where the towbar was mounted. Obviously heavy towing was the cause but it shouldn't happen. I just can't remember which vehicle it was. Maybe worth checking out. Michael.

AnswerID: 512799

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 20:02

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 20:02
Michael,
you may want to look at the chassis on a ford ranger or bt50 where the bar is attached. They are pretty big and 5mm thick. Don't know what ute you are talking about but it isn't a new model one of these.

Answer to the OP is they tow easily. As for how long they last I haven't a clue.

Where I worked they are using the rangers with no problems, except the charging system for the battery. I haven't had a problem with my ranger but I don't use it like they do. BT50's may use a different setting for the charging of the battery. Short running of the rangers is the main problem as the charging system lets the battery run right down before it gives the battery bulk charge.

I don't know if they will go the distance but time will tell. The 3.2 is an awesome engine and the auto works really well.

I also like the d-max's. Great history with them.
FollowupID: 791321

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:20

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:20
Gday Michael,
I think that was the Navara D40 with the towbar pulling the chassis apart! Link D40 recall
FollowupID: 791349

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 20:37

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 20:37
I found it! Navara D40 between July 2005 and jan 2012. They must have fixed the problem since jan 2012. Chassis rails cracking around the towbar area. Michael

AnswerID: 512805

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 20:52

Saturday, Jun 08, 2013 at 20:52
Nissan had a RECALL on the towbar problem with the D40. There was a number of towbar assemblies that caused a problem with some cars. Thankfully my D40 had the model towbar that wasn't problematic. Interestingly both towbars were manufactured by Reece.
FollowupID: 791327

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 12:11

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 12:11
hi
the 2010 ranger also had a recall for a towbar problem related to were the towbar tongue assembley was welded into the box section of the bar
ford replaced it because of cracks appearing in some ranger towbars but on inspection we couldn't see any cracks in my neighbours t/bar despite the fact that he had done 140,000ks towing a heavy tandem work trailer every day since buying it new
but they still replaced it with a re-inforced towbar
my neighbour received a recall letter just before last xmas
FollowupID: 791359

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 16:00

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 16:00
That should read Hayman Reese in my previous post re the D40 towbars.
FollowupID: 791376

Reply By: Member - Joel and Michelle (WA - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 01:19

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 01:19
Sorry Prickle, but I still can't get past the fact you are getting rid of the 100s. Damn, like a loss in the family. I'll shed a tear for you.
Joel
AnswerID: 512821

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:42

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:42
Don't worry, we are not happy, it was written off in an accident. This is the only reason we have to look for something else and within our budget. Nothing will replace what we had.
Russ

FollowupID: 791367

Reply By: Member - kjd - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:06

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:06
Hi Russ,
If you decide to go with the bt50 be aware of the noise coming from Snorkel. Go for a test drive with one with and one without Snorkel. I have found the noise level excessive on my new bt50 and regret going with the snorkel. I am happy with the vehicle so far although I have only traveled 5000 km towing 2ton. regards Kevin
AnswerID: 512827

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 15:54

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 15:54
That bloody induction noise through the snorkel is annoying in my D40 too kjd......irritates the hell out of me and I'm almost deaf.
FollowupID: 791375

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:27

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 09:27
Russ,
Go for it! Also I've heard from a couple of people that Paradise Motors are more negotiable on price than most of the others.
AnswerID: 512828

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:44

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:44
Thanks Phil, that is where we have been going. They have been up front from the start and the price is considerably cheaper than other vehicles with less on them.
Russ

FollowupID: 791369

Reply By: Member - Coldee - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:21

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 13:21
May as well throw the Izuzu into the ring. Great engine, good value, 5year unlimited warranty with nationwide roadside assist thrown in, and good write ups for the 2013 model. I am really happy with the one I bought.

Did a lot of research before I bought and the value for money was a top selling point, but the Izuzu diesel engine is the clincher.
AnswerID: 512842

Reply By: allein m - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 14:06

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 14:06
Tonyfish#58 sorry I was jokeing the car sales is a funny market offering all sorts of goodies so you will buy a car
AnswerID: 512844

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 16:21

Sunday, Jun 09, 2013 at 16:21
No worries mate! :-) Diff lock is a great accessory! Put two of them in and you would sell me. That is if one buys a 4 x 4 to actually go 4 x 4ing :-)

Regards Tony
FollowupID: 791379