Forester Vs Escape

Hi guys, im fairly new to this.

I am looking for a second hand soft roader and wondering which would be best..

I would be using it for travelling to work and on the weekend maybe some beach work/light-medium off road use..

I do not want anything too big, too thirsty or anything like that..

My budget is 15k, The cars i have had a close look at include

2007 ZC Ford Escape
2007 (or around that year) Subaru Forester XS

I am open to any other suggestions but i will need something that is slightly capable off road..

Many thanks,
James
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Luke F1 - Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 15:53

Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 15:53
The Ford Escapes are very thirsty on fuel as it has a V6. The forester is a well built car and in the man trans, it has a low range setting. Its not as low ratio as some more serious 4x4s but better than nothing. The suby is a sturdy reliable soft roader. The nissan X-trail is also a good option.
AnswerID: 513055

Follow Up By: Member - Broodie H3 - Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 17:38

Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 17:38
James, go for the xtrail brilliant vehicle, and economical, that's my 2 bob's worth.
Broodie H3
Have car will travel

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

FollowupID: 791707

Reply By: mikehzz - Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 17:26

Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 17:26
A Forester any day of the week. If it has that symmetrical awd then better. Check out the traction tests on youtube, it beats all of them. Subaru build quality is high but the boxer engine can use oil.
AnswerID: 513063

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 18:38

Thursday, Jun 13, 2013 at 18:38
This link has a test that includes a Forester, an Escape and Nissan Rogue which is what a Dualis is called in the US. A Dualis has the same awd system as an XTrail but with a smaller motor.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRniF4JQN2U&feature=youtube_gdata_player
FollowupID: 791711