French Line

Just about to do the French Line from East to West, anyone been along there of late?

Cheers, Matt. :-)

Reply By: troopmaster96 - Friday, Jun 14, 2013 at 21:35

Friday, Jun 14, 2013 at 21:35
Sorry, that should read, "from West to East"
AnswerID: 513132

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 08:36

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 08:36
Matt

I think it would be helpful if you could give something a little more specific. What do you need to know?

We drove through the Simpson on the WAA and QAA tracks last year. I cannot help for the current conditions though mate. They were easy. Bit cut up but a slow and easy drive. Didn't see one other car the first two days as well. And that's how we likes it. On our own with the desert.

AnswerID: 513145

Follow Up By: troopmaster96 - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 09:04

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 09:04
Howdy Phill,
Just wondering if anyone has been across in the past couple of weeks, myself and a few friends are heading off via William Creek on Sat of next week, then heading to Birdsville via Mt Dare, Dalhousie etc.
Cheers!
FollowupID: 791813

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 09:10

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 09:10
I haven't seen anything on the forums that I visit so I would say that it's "business as usual". No real issues other than the usual Simpson and desert in general preparedness.

Enjoy it.

Phil (one 'l'. I am not french).
FollowupID: 791815

Follow Up By: troopmaster96 - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 09:27

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 09:27
HAHA!!
Apols Phil with one "l" ;-)
FollowupID: 791816

Follow Up By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 11:55

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 11:55
Mount Dare to Dalhousie is cut up really bad. Lower the tyre pressures right down, keep the speed down and stop occasionally to let the shokers cool down.
Other than that....plain sailing all the way.

Fab.
FollowupID: 791824

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 16:17

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 16:17
Hey Phil, you're one 'l' of a guy....hold it, you're one 'i'ed as well...groan :-)
FollowupID: 791828

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 16:30

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 16:30
What's wrong with getting someone's name correct. I do it and expect others to also. It is called being polite.

FollowupID: 791829

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 16:50

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 16:50
It was a joke Phil...
FollowupID: 791830

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 17:04

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 17:04
No worries Mike.

You had you big mush in front of the camera and I couldn't see you laughing.

Catchya

FollowupID: 791831

Reply By: Frank D - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 15:57

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 15:57
Hi Matt
I just got back to Melbourne on Wednesday from the Simpson via French Line West to East via Hamilton station,pretty corrigated up to around Puni Bore or just before but just pick the speed that suits you and lower tyre pressure I found around 60 was ok?? fairly comfotable and safe,then in the soft sand around 18 psi was good in 2nd or 3rd low range made the going quite easy,just keep the momentum up till you crest the dune.
Big Red looks scary from the bottom but should'nt be a problem with 18 psi, i went up and down a few times,you'll love it ,have a great time.
Frank
P.S Its pretty dry out on the Simpson other than South of Birdsville about 150 km from Maree where it rained and roads out of Maree were closed for a couple of days.
Please check current conditions.
AnswerID: 513165

Follow Up By: troopmaster96 - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 23:17

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 23:17
Thanks Frank, much appreciated!
FollowupID: 791847

Reply By: Cruisevessel - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 19:22

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 19:22
Hi Matt. Might see you out there. We are leaving the Sunshine Coast on Saturday and heading to Coober Pedy, Ayers Rock and will be at Mt Dare by 28 June making our way along the French Line to Birdsville in a white 120 Prado
AnswerID: 513176

Follow Up By: troopmaster96 - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 23:16

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 23:16
Will keep an eye ope for ya, infact, we will probhably pass eachother on the Line as we will be leaving Mt Dare for Birdsville on approx 26th June. :-)

Im in a HZJ75 Troopie, there will be a 80, a 100 Series with me, and a Kia Sorrento.

Mite just bump into you out there somewhere! ;-)
FollowupID: 791846

Follow Up By: troopmaster96 - Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 23:21

Saturday, Jun 15, 2013 at 23:21
I need to start paying attantion to what Im reading!
Just realised you are heading the same way as us, we will be approx 2 Days infront of you.
We have allowed 5 dqays to dawdle along the French Line to Birdsville, so we may see you along the way, or at the Birdsville Pub of course! ;-)
FollowupID: 791848

Reply By: Robert H2 - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 23:11

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 23:11
Matt,

We left Mt Dare on 6th June and travelled for 4 days taking the French line and then QAA into Birdsville.

Upon local advice we took the Bloods Creek track from Mt Dare to Dalhousie Springs instead of the track via Christmas Well which we were advised is pretty rough and cut up.

The trip across the desert is pretty spectacular and camping in the desert is rather special. Some of the sand dunes are steep with loose sand and in some places pretty rough mostly due to people not reducing tyre pressure enough. I pulled one guy out who had 36psi in his tyres because he was carrying a heavy load!!!!! I had a heavy load and had 18psi.

We did encounter a lot of traveller's going in both directions.

You're required to communicate via Ch 10, which as far as I could tell all traveller's did courteously and with a high standard of accuracy as to their location on the track. On one occasion an approaching party who we had been talking with advised that they would not climb the next sand dune as we must be very close, I informed him I would stop the car and my wife would climb to the top of the dune with a hand held. Sure enough I was advised that they could see the lady on the dune and that we should proceed as they had pulled off the track.

We enjoyed this trip enormously and trust you do too.

Rob
AnswerID: 513229

Follow Up By: troopmaster96 - Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 09:35

Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 09:35
Great, thanks Rob!!

Very eager to get up there, last trip was a month in Tassie, camping by Lakes and Streams.

Living in Adelaide Ive "scurried' around in the North of SA from time to time, but Im really pumped about this trip.

Thanks for your input!

FollowupID: 791937