The wanker pole is on again

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 18:58
ThreadID: 102796 Views:2887 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Well - one more sleep and we are off for a month! Adelaide to Agnes Water and Fraser Island and lots more in between. The little ceremony I have just before the start of each trip is to put the UHF antenna on the car. My wife calls it the wanker pole. Fair enough I guess but the even dog gets excited when it goes on.

Skull

Reply By: Skulldug - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 19:00

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 19:00
That should read "even the dog gets excited"
AnswerID: 513211

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 23:51

Sunday, Jun 16, 2013 at 23:51
I was gunna say, we have uneven dogs here.
You should explain to your wife about the essential communication, safety, etc, etc, etc.
I bet the dog will listen.

Ross M
AnswerID: 513235

Reply By: Batt's - Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 02:40

Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 02:40
I bet she'll change the name of it the day it gets you out of trouble and if you don't have it it'll be the first thing she says where's the uhf aerial. Just one of priceless pieces of equipment that has saved lots of people in so many different ways. Mine's right in front of her so she never forgets how important it is.
AnswerID: 513238

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 07:43

Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 07:43
Anything that draws the attention away from you is a good thing ;)
Enjoy your trip
AnswerID: 513243

Reply By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 14:10

Monday, Jun 17, 2013 at 14:10
Put two up...then you've got instant footy goals.
AnswerID: 513265

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 00:30

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 00:30
Its only a wanker pole if its attached to the ute and not hooked up to the radio. Back when I was doing the BnS's id see it all the time, Never understood it then again I dont care about looking the part I care about doing the part ; )

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 513301

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 04:57

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 04:57
It's also a wanker pole if it's on the bull bar and not on the roof.
FollowupID: 791986

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 05:43

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 05:43
On the roof it is called a "retard" pole as tree branches retard your progress.

You can lay the retard down but he is dysfunctional like that. At that point he becomes a useless "wanker" pole.

FollowupID: 791988

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 07:24

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 07:24

Give me the retard pole that can be fixed in a few minutes over a wanker pole that's doomed forever any day.

Also you can get floppy, mini retard 'polettes' to address that issue ( and car parks). Still more effective than any wanker pole that isn't long enough to have the same tree issue.

FollowupID: 791989

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 09:31

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 09:31
And when we look at Boobook's picture we see that he must be very special as he has 5 wanker poles , none of which are on the roof !!
FollowupID: 791996

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 09:51

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 09:51
You also see by the date on the photo that it is about a year old, before I moved the UHF to the roof and found out how much of an improvement it was.

It's pretty hard to move the HF but of course it is already above the roofline and the other is a sandflag. I have since removed the other bullbar phone antenna as it was completely useless there. ( I now have a magnetic one I put up on the roof when I need to make a call and it works well in places that never worked before).

It wasn't till I moved the antenna that I realised how bad they are on the bull bar.
FollowupID: 791999

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 17:20

Tuesday, Jun 18, 2013 at 17:20
Alloy c/t. Take note! Boobook has moved from being a "wanker" years ago to the status of a "retard". You should pay homage.

I being a retard had them mounted on the loading board of my ute. I used to wipe off one of the rubber duckies every month or so. I then became a "wanker", and didn't have to worry about the retard. This caused a major problem in the Aussie economy as "Dickie" also known as Dicky's Smith profits receded to the point of bankruptcy. I then reverted to the retard. This then caused me no end of problems with Bupa as I kept falling off the roof when I put the retard down.

In the end I settled for a "wanker" that caused me no problems at all. What it did do was help me listen, to all the close traffic and not the distant "wankers".

I just said something about this to my darling wife. Her retort was, aren't you happy you married a "wanker".

I then realised I am a "wanker" and not a "retard" I then spoke to the doctor and he explained that he could help me as I am only a "wanker". He then said there was no hope for a "retard"

FollowupID: 792019

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 07:45

Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 07:45
Rockape , recon that Boobook being a "wanker" with 5 poles to look after and service may have turned him into a 'retard' ? Would have thought he would go blind as well !
FollowupID: 792063

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 08:24

Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 08:24
I may be a wanker Alloy c/t but I'n not a rude prick.
FollowupID: 792064

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 08:39

Wednesday, Jun 19, 2013 at 08:39
Yep,
let's keep it to light hearted banter.
FollowupID: 792065