Lightning Ridge

Taking kids to theme parks in September school hols, then up to Fraser Island for a week. Want to return to Sydney via inland roads, especially want to visit Lightning Ridge. Can anyone advise speocific route.

Nicole

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 07:08

Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 07:08
Brisbane - Warwick - Goondiwindi- Moree- Walgett - Lightning Ridge

Brisbane - Toowoomba - Dalby - St George - Dirranbandi - Hebel - Lightning Ridge

Brisbane - Toowoomba - Cecil Plains - Moonie - St George - etc - Lightning ridge

Just a few different ways to get there :)

AnswerID: 513571

Follow Up By: raincloud - Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 08:24

Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 08:24
look at a map!!
FollowupID: 792286

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 09:34

Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 09:34
I agree with raincloud. Look at Whereis or Google Maps. You can put in different destinations and drag the route around. The roads out that way a mostly sealed 2 lane.
FollowupID: 792294

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 22:15

Saturday, Jun 22, 2013 at 22:15
I would go with option two that Kev & darkie suggested, we went that way last year, it's a good trip.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 792345

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 07:53

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 07:53
Lots of roadworks currently between Toowoomba and Dalby

FollowupID: 792352

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 08:14

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 08:14
I think Nicole was after suggestions about what route might be more scenic/interesting or whatever. Looking at a map doesn't give you much in that regard.
FollowupID: 792355

Reply By: Nicole G - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:18

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:18
Thanks Baz, Pud and Mike for your responses. Mike you are right, I was after the most scenic route, etc. What is this mystical map you speak of Raincloud, I must get myself one!!!! Nicole
AnswerID: 513621

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:38

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:38
No worries Nicole. Sorry I can't help with info on the towns, I've only been up there once and it was a bit of a blur. I reckon Sir Kev might have a good opinion on what there is to see on some of the routes he put up. Cheers.
FollowupID: 792364

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:54

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:54
Hi Nicole. There was a story on Sunrise this morning on how the local Lighning Ridge residents banded together and built a large, covered, heated, diving pool complex. It showed just how much was out there in a small town and looked definately worth a visit. Cheers,Bob.
FollowupID: 792368

Follow Up By: Nicole G - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:01

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:01
Hi Bob, my parents took us out to Lightning Ridge back in the 70's. I remember just sitting in the dirt digging for opals and had to be careful not to fall down any holes. It was a great trip then!! Nicole
FollowupID: 792369

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:15

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:15
Yep,
The Sunrise segment was pretty impressive with their diving team.

Kudos to them,
FollowupID: 792372

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 19:33

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 19:33
Ha Ha Nicole. Part of the story was the children are taught to walk around when out of town with their eyes looking down. Partly so that they don't fall down an abandoned mineshaft but also some have been known to find an opal occassionally.
FollowupID: 792408

Reply By: Nicole G - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:55

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 09:55
Thanks Sir Kev for your reply. Which route do you suggest to be the most scenic? Nicole
AnswerID: 513629

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:06

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:06
The 3rd route is probably the best :)

Although the Toowoomba - Moonie is windy and narrow in places, dips in some spots and a short stretch of gravel. nothing that a slower speed and some care shouldn't deter you with though.

You can travel from St George to Dirranbandi via the Whynbah Rd route instead of the main highway, it is partially sealed with the remainder gravel.

FollowupID: 792370

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:00

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:00
Nicole,

If you take the Moonie Hwy, the servo/pub/caravan park at Moonie is good for an overnighter.

just in case you get to St George and find that, for whatever reason, you can't get to Lightning Ridge, if you take the Barwon Hwy to Nindigully, the pub there has a great campsite.

From there over the border to a small town called Boomi (pronounced Boom-eye). The small community caravan park there is just a large parking area really but that's OK because it's right next to a swimming pool complex fed by a hot water artesian bore. It's just sublime to slip into that hot water on a cold day.

On the map the road from Talwood to Boomi may be marked as unsealed. It's not. It's a good bitumen road all the way.

From there it's south to Moree and Narrabri.

If you bush camp be aware that some camps have been closed in the St George, Dirranbandi areas. In Camps 7, the numbers are 707, 745, 751 & 755.

Have a great trip.

AnswerID: 513630

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:09

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:09
The free camp at Westmar (across the road from the shop/pub) is better than Moonie IMHO

If going via Westmar be sure to drop a Courier Mail (newspaper) off to Ross at the shop as he only gets one if someone drops it off to him ;)

FollowupID: 792371

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:20

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:20
That's good to know Kev.

We are hitching up shortly and this trip we will go from Walgett to Lightning Ridge, Hebel, Dirranbandi, St George, Surat, Glenmorgan, Meandarra, Tara to Dalby.

Then via Cooyar, Kilcoy to the coast.

Enroute to warmer temperatures.

FollowupID: 792373

Follow Up By: Nicole G - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:25

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 10:25
Hi Sir Kev and Gone Bush, thank you very much will look into all this. Sir Kev I found your blog on Lightning Ridge too!! Nicole
FollowupID: 792375

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 12:05

Sunday, Jun 23, 2013 at 12:05
GB,

Around here is a great place to explore :)

A different way to get to Westmar from Moonie is to head north on the Leichhardt highway then turn left onto the Old Moonie rd, it follows the Moonie river (partially sealed) through to the Meandarra- Talwood rd) where you turn left and head south down to Westmar.

Another way From St George to Glenmorgan is the turn left off the Moonie highway just before the Moonie river (Claude Bowhay Bridge) and follow the dirt/gravel roads through to Glenmorgan. You will need a map for this section as there is roads going everywhere and it is poorly signposted.

Nicole,
There is lots to see and do out here so please take the time to check as many places out as possible.

FollowupID: 792378