200 series Deisel cruzer

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 10:45
ThreadID: 103392 Views:3656 Replies:16 FollowUps:22
Does any one have any issues to look out for when buying good or bad points well come thanks

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 11:16

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 11:16
If you have a look over on the LCOOL forum you will find plenty of information
AnswerID: 515301

Reply By: AlanTH - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 11:20

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 11:20
Probably depends on the age of vehicle your looking at, but what I can say about my sons 2009 (I think) model is that it was a pain in the butt for a long time. Firstly of course big dollars had to be spent fixing the suspension to make it able and legal to tow his about 3 tonne boat and carry plenty of scuba and fishing gear and 3 blokes.
Then there was the galloping oil consumption problems Toyota put down as "you've got to expect it with a high tech engine"!!!!
Personally I would have thought that would be one of the last things you'd expect but then I'm old fashioned.
A transmission that wouldn't drive after being unused for a week while away working, that too was "just the way things are"!
Eventually after getting consumer affairs involved they had it for over 3 months as (parts were not available apparently) while they fitted a new transmission and fixed the engine.
And loaned him a Pajero at an inter departmental cost of over 3 grand a month while they did it.
Goes good now though but should have been better from the start with a cost of over 90K.
AlanH.
PS. I was called a "troll" for posting this before as it obviously upset someone.

AnswerID: 515302

Follow Up By: DiscoTourer - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 12:08

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 12:08
The problems I had with my 200 were only oil consumption issues which I have documented on here before.. It was a 2011, and motor was pulled down twice to try and fix it. I gave up in the end and took a costly hit.

If the oil consumption no longer exists.....then hopefully you should be right.

Brett...
FollowupID: 794514

Reply By: peter r14 - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 11:58

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 11:58
Free world and I asked the question thanks mate
AnswerID: 515306

Reply By: cookie1 - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 13:56

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 13:56
I have a 2011 GX cruiser and couldn't be happier having come from a 2009 Patrol that the clutch clapped out at 29,000km.

AnswerID: 515315

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 15:27

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 15:27
Peter,
I'll assume you are talking used vehicles. My suggestion is to stick to the 2010+ models as most of the commonly publicised problems were sorted by then.
200series had its fair share of teething problems. I started doing the research on these, but got overwhelmed with the amount of reading. You can spend a few weeks going through the archives at LCOOL. But 200series owners commonly said it was the best vehicle they had ever owned (many having upgraded from 100series), so I went out and bought a new one last year. This one's like all my other Toyotas - goes like clockwork.

I bought new for a few reasons. The deal was good - most people get at least $10k off the RRP. The problems appear to have all been sorted. 2012 models come with standard sat nav, reversing camera, and 2013 models come with knee airbags, sway control etc and have 5 star ANCAP.
AnswerID: 515321

Reply By: Member - Sn00py2 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 16:17

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 16:17
Peter,

I've got a 200 series diesel, purchased new in September 2011. Its now done 47,000klms and the only issue I have had was a squeak in the drivers seat, fixed under warranty.

It does not use any oil and runs like a dream. I upgraded from a 105 series which, at the time of sale, had over 320,000klms on the clock and apart from the usual brake pads, filters and tyres needing replacement over the years had no mechanical issues either. It still had the original clutch in it when I traded it in.

I have had quite a number of Toyota's before this and they have all been bullet proof and problem free. Of course, buying a second hand car, of any sort, can have problems as you never know how it has been treated or serviced.

I also did a lot of reading about the oil burning issues with the early 200's but this seems to have been fixed in 2009/2010.

Sn00py2
AnswerID: 515323

Reply By: Kyle H - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 18:49

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 18:49
I have a 2010 model and have had problems other than a squeak in the drivers seat and fixed under warranty.
Initially a small amount of oil usage, about 1.5 litres per 10000k, only when towing my 3 tonne van but all but disappeared after 20000k.
Have now done 95000k and still very happy with it.
Traded up from a Disco 3 which spent more time in the workshop than on the road.
AnswerID: 515333

Follow Up By: Member - Justin O (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 21:36

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 21:36
You found a workshop prepared to work on LR's? Wow.
FollowupID: 794635

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 18:50

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 18:50
We also have a 2011 diesel VX and apart from the fuel consumption around town (it weight 3500Kg constant), overall I am pretty happy with it.

The things I don't like are the radio (bluetooth connection difficult and you have to hit a button to turn the screen off even on auto), the trans if a pain in the, it is gutless doing long climbs (POWER BECOMES DERATED) and the chimes.

The only warranty issue in 38,000k was a slight spingy noise behind the dash.

The ones with problems are few and far between BUT like all things on the world wide web; you could swear every Landcruiser had problems.

What I love is the power and it's ability to go almost anywhere with ease, it is scary how easy it does things..... highly capable vehicle.

And I would recommend KDSS, when fully loaded ((4100kg) yes I know, have you checked yours?) the KDSS helps heaps in stopping pitching and improves stability... great with a loaded roof rack.

AnswerID: 515334

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 19:31

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 19:31
G`day Peter r14,
It depends where you want to drive it, they perform tremendously well on the black top or on good gravel roads.
On badly corrugated roads the "Crumple Zone" at the front allows everything forward of that to vibrate to the extent that they fall to pieces. The only one that I have had some personal experience with had issues with, ... The welds on the bullbar gave way, the driving lights rattled loose and fell to pieces, the sand flag holder broke, the uhf antenna base broke.
The most serious problem was with the alternator failing because it got full of mud due to it being located lowdown at the front of the motor. (On the Simpson Desert)
THEREFORE .... no alternator = no Battery = no computer = NO GO.
A mechanic estimated 4 > 5 hours to remove enough of the engine parts to enable access to the alternator. And then a long wait to obtain a new one.
I don`t have one because they are full of electronics and extremely difficult to get fixed if something goes wrong anywhere away from a major city, expensive tilt tray lift from anywhere else as they are virtually unrepairable by anyone "out bush".

If you are going "off road"and want my opinion, get a 60 or 80 series = no electronics.

Going to stand well back now and watch for the Flak. LOL

( I`m not worried what the lcool mob say , they won`t talk to us 60 series owners) LOL

Scrubby.

AnswerID: 515337

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 22:47

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 22:47
What...... falling apart where did you hear that, and about the bull bar and stuff breaking; it's not a Landcruiser fault.

It's good to see those who don't own one still have to make up stories and justify why they would not want one.

And as for electronics...... YEAP..... same thing when computers came out and overtook the pen and paper....... all those who said I'll stick with my pen and paper, can't trust those boxes with all their wiz bang electronics.

What happens when you can't get parts for the dinosaure?
FollowupID: 794587

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 22:48

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 22:48
BTW I know you're only trolling! wink wink
FollowupID: 794588

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:16

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:16
olcoolone.............. Gotcha..............LOL,

"What...... falling apart where did you hear that, and about the bull bar and stuff breaking; it's not a Landcruiser fault."

I didn`t hear it from anyone, I saw it myself.
Every thing I said in my reply is true

Landcruiser made the "Crumple Zone" as a safety feature,but it allows excessive vibration to the front when driven on rough/corrugated roads.

Hey, you didn`t mention the problem with the location of the Alternator.
I suppose that isn`t a Landcruiser fault either.

I take it that you are a lcool member, can you please tell me why I am not allowed to look at their site, is it because I am a 60 series owner?

Friendly regards,

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 794622

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:54

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:54
Hi Scrubby.

I have the orig 2007/8 model and am very happy with it. However, you're spot on the money about the front end vibrations. Until I finally got a rigid UHF aerial, I was constantly trashing the whips on the ECB bullbar.

And last year the ECB bar broke at the mount welds. Had to come out from a remote area with the bar braced by ropes to the roof rack. The guys who supplied it couldn't believe it - they'd never heard of an ECB failing like that.

To be fair I do an awful lot of remote area driving on severely corrugated tracks; think CSR at W33, ABH, parts of the CSH etc. ECB came good tho, gave me a stronger winch capable bar as a replacement for free. Top stuff!

FollowupID: 794628

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 09:33

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 09:33
Crumple zones are in all vehicles and even so more now than ever before, crumple zones play a big part in vehicle star rating for crash testing required under law.

The fault with the alternators are common on a lot of vehicles, unfortunately what you here on the world wide web and what we see coming in to our workshop are two different things.

Mud is one of the biggest killers of electrically operated devices in vehicles especially alternators and starter motors.

Nobody warrants alternators or starter motors against mud and water.

Like all things one person's problem can be made to sound like 1000 people have the problem.

If you're a Lcool member you can look at any vehicle specific group on there site.

The good thing about specific vehicle forums is you can filter out all the junk and get to the truth.

FollowupID: 794652

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 19:20

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 19:20
"If you're a Lcool member you can look at any vehicle specific group on there site."

I would like to look at what info the lcool forum has to offer but for some unexplained reason I am not allowed to become a member which is a prerequisite.

All 60 series owners are prevented from becoming a member.

And no-one will tell me why.

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 794686

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 27, 2013 at 23:07

Saturday, Jul 27, 2013 at 23:07
might have missed something, but there was a recall to check all 200's fitted with factory bullbars due to cracking of the front chassis. Repair involved removing the entire body.
And yes Im a 200 owner
FollowupID: 794739

Follow Up By: Kyle H - Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 08:36

Sunday, Jul 28, 2013 at 08:36
The repair required removal of the Toyota bulbar and weld repair of cracks that developed where the Toyota bullbar mounting brackets were bolted to the chassis. Vehicles with popular brand non Toyota bullbars were not affected as they were mounted differently.
The problem has now been resolved in later model 200 series.
FollowupID: 794750

Reply By: peter r14 - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 19:47
yeh Scrubby we drive the 80 now and am worried about the up grade the 80 we have had 14 years never lets us down great car but time to up grade is it the right thing who knows haha
AnswerID: 515338

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 20:03

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 20:03
Well mate you have just got to keep the 80 for the tough stuff and get the 200 for around town I reckon. LOL

Scrubby.

FollowupID: 794563

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 22:52

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 22:52
Funny when the 80 came out it was touted as the 60 was the last of the good ones in the 4wd industry...... when the 100 came out it was said the same about the 80...... when the 200 came out they all said the 100 was the last of the good ones..... oh how things change.

In the end they all said the 60 was the best..... they all said the 80 was the best..... they all said the 100 was the best and it goes on....
FollowupID: 794589

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 05:39

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 05:39
Peter you will find that people that don't own them know of lots of issues, but those who own them are generally happy. I have no idea why this is.

Go to LCOOL to go real owners opinions.

Things like bullbars etc were early accessory issues fro Toyota. 6 YEARS ago.
There is a survey on LCOOL "would you buy a 200 again" I think 97% said yes.
AnswerID: 515353

Follow Up By: Member - Legendts - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 16:57

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 16:57
I concur with Boobook and Olcoolone. I own a 2010 update model (2009) just coming back from Qld towing an over 3t van with this being the fourth trip North. 67,000ks, no oil consumption or any other issues. As a tow vehicle, brilliant in a word. I have had a couple of issues but now know they were of my own doing. The only reason I would change would be if we go to a 5th wheeler and even then, maybe, just maybe, I would get it chopped. It is a Sahara after all. :-)
FollowupID: 794607

Reply By: RobMac (QLD_Member) - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 16:47

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 16:47
I have a 150's Prado, and after a couple of little issues with it, I'm currently happy with it..... except for all the chimes..... last year when we were in the outback, the chimes got to me.... then a 200's owner rocked up beside me and yep..... the same flamin chimes that drive me nuts is also in the 200's and I guess in most new cars these days too.... Would I upgrade to a 200's from a 150's..... not as this point in time but as the 3 kids grow bigger, we might have to reconsider a upgrade then but to what... I don't know at this stage..... What sort of fuel economy do these 200's get around town for normal driving & then when fully loaded on a touring trip (not towing)? We just came back from a 8k trip fully loaded & shaped like a brick and averaged 13.2ltrs/100kms
Cheers..... RobM
Defender PUMA 110 "New School Tourer"
Defender 110 Tdi300 "Old School Tourer for Solo Trips"
DiscoTDi for Work/Play

AnswerID: 515361

Follow Up By: Member - Legendts - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 17:02

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 17:02
TTD towing heavy (3.2t) 21l/100k average. Around town 13/14l/100k not worrying about fuel consumption. Also chipped and Beaudesert exhaust. Did slightly better without chip and exhaust, but towing, the chip/exhaust makes it so much better. No you don't need them but.....
FollowupID: 794608

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 17:30

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 17:30
Robmac, I guess the Prado would be similar to the 200 with the chimes. There is a fix to make the ding ding ding quieter or stop altogether.

Check out Lcool
FollowupID: 794609

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:45

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:45

What are the "chimes" related to?

FollowupID: 794626

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:55

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:55
The seatbelt warning chime is easily turned off. You can toggle it on or off
FollowupID: 794629

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 06:52

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 06:52
Greg the chimes go off for many alarm conditions which can be minor or major. Stuff light headlights on, door open, seat belt not on, then stuff like Anti skid kicking in etc. Most are useful but some are just dammed annoying.

You can get the dealer to turn off the seatbelt chime for one or both seats for free but nothing else to my knowledge. There is a fix to make it less obtrusive on LCOOL which is a great solution. It's still there but not too loud. You can make is as soft as you like inc off.
FollowupID: 794645

Reply By: Leanne M - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:19

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:19
Hi Peter, we recently purchased a used, low km (50,000) 2008 VX TTD and couldn't be happier. We had heard and read the stories about oil usage and we spoke to the previous owner (we bought through a car yard) who had no problems with oil whatsoever. We have had the vehicle now for 6 months and love it. We use it to tow our camper trailer and honestly you don't know it's there behind you. On a trip to the Flinders Ranges over Easter we averaged 12litres/100km towing plus doing a couple of rocky 4WD tracks on the station we stayed on. Around town it does around 14litres per 100km.

We have also been to the Simpson Desert in it, and across the Desert (French, Rig, WAA combination) we averaged 19litres per 100. So needless to say we are rapt with the fuel economy. It handles very well in the sand, you just have to turn off all the electronic traction controls, vehicle stability control, etc and put the centre diff locks on and away you go.

A couple of things to look for: the earlier 200's which came with 8 seats only have a 93 litre fuel tank. We fitted an LRA 65 litre sub tank which allows us to keep the spare in place underneath, it lowers it by a couple centimetres but didn't affect our clearance at all. If you can get one with KDSS fitted that is a bonus. It is amazing how much more stable the vehicle is cornering, and also doing low range 4WD over rocks etc. Some of the earlier ones also had a recall on the factory fitted Toyota bull bars, but most of these have been rectified. If you get a VX or Sahara, it is very difficult to removed the second row of seats because of the curtain airbags and airbags in the seats - do some research on the LCOOL forum. The third row of seats have to be unbolted, they don't just unclip like the 100 series. As someone else has mentioned, the chimes in the doors or seatbelt are very annoying!!

We have owned a Pajero, an 80 Series petrol, a 100 Series Sahara petrol/gas and now the 200 VX TTD and it is by far the best 4WD we have owned in our opinion.

Good Luck, Leanne
AnswerID: 515373

Follow Up By: Leanne M - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:24

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 20:24
Please note we didn't tow our camper across the Simpson (just in case you get that impression, as I did when I re-read what I posted). We swagged it and loved every minute !!

Leanne
FollowupID: 794624

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 21:31

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 21:31
Lets just clear this up a bit Peter, those of us that actually own one love them, I have thrashed mine on corrugated roads several deep creek crossings etc and can,t break it not that I want to, yes I spent $1700 up grading the suspention but I did that on the 80 series and the 2 x 100 series I owned.

Then there are those on this thread that don't own one but would probably love to if they could afford it trying to bashes them. I am about to trade my near new Colorado in on another 200 so as the wife and I don't argue as to who gets what car in the morning, at the moment it is who goes out the door first grabs the keys to the 200, the only thing to be careful of is, that once you go to the V8 you can't go back to the 3lt lol.

AnswerID: 515377

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 22:24

Thursday, Jul 25, 2013 at 22:24
G`day Phil,
" if they could afford it trying to bashes them." huh ?
Ok I will take the bait, Yep you`re spot on, being a pensioner I definitely can`t afford to buy a 200 series let alone two.
My 60 series is 28 yrs 5 mths old, done 340000 klm and is fitted out the way I want it and still goes very well, so at my age with probably a maximum of 5 years traveling left why would I change anyway?

I am sorry if you think I was bashing the 200`s but Peter asked for any info good or bad, as I said my only experience with one was as I stated and it was all true.

Kind regards,

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 794636

Follow Up By: Skulldug - Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 09:51

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 09:51
Phil,

I guess it's logical that folk who have forked out $100k or more on their vehicle would feel a little protective about them, particularly when they cop a bit of criticism. Obviously they do have some problems, many mentioned here and others can be found on the lcool site or the oh what a lemon site.

For me, the main problem with the 200 (we use them extensively for work in the outback) and Prado 150 (my personal vehicle) is the poor response you get from Toyota when you do have a problem. If you are one of the unfortunate ones whose car develops a serious fault, you have to be very strong willed to break through the dealer's denials and side stepping.

Just my experience.

Skull
FollowupID: 794653

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Jul 27, 2013 at 12:52

Saturday, Jul 27, 2013 at 12:52
I think most of these problems stem from the customers attitude to the dealer, a dealer has to follow protocol and they have no say in the outcome or how it is handled.

It depends on the problem, if it's problem that is known about thing happen quickly, if it's new unheard of problem then the manufacturer has to find a fix.

What problems have you had with the 200's and Prado's.

I don't think it's the case of protecting one's decision on spending $100K, if one can afford it why not spend it...... maybe it's the otherway around..... those who can't afford $100k have to defend and justify their position in not wanting one!

It's good reading all the excuses...LOL
FollowupID: 794715

Reply By: peter r14 - Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 11:00

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 at 11:00
Thanks to all of you for your comments and phil you should make a ad for Toyota I loved it still laughing
Heap of good and bad and what I thought there would be but still good to find out stuff this is a great site
AnswerID: 515402

Reply By: 02.murray - Saturday, Jul 27, 2013 at 18:13

Saturday, Jul 27, 2013 at 18:13
Have a 2008 200 series turbo diesel - hands down the best Landcruiser I have ever owned - stock standard, it was much much more capable than my fully optioned/worked 100 series - no oil usage, great mileage - LOVE IT - did 40,000 around Oz - 20,000 very hard off-roading and no issues at all.
AnswerID: 515443